We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #15 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location for exploring Christchurch, Our room was well appointed, Very clean and surprisingly quiet, The staff were very friendly and always helpful, We had a very enjoyable time here and would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

731 - 737 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for three week with work. Arrival was good, staff were friendly. Room was good, right size for a hotel room. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was good. I had a room with a balcony that over looked the grounds which was nice. Rooms a very quiet so easy getting a good nights sleep. Room service is good but if your here for a few nights I would recommend going for dinner at the Running Bull which is a 2 minute walk away. Great food and much cheaper than the Chateau. Breakfast options are good with a buffet style available. Overall I enjoyed my stay here. Only negative is the place is pretty dated. Still good though, but dated. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveBevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great location, walking distance from the city centre through Hagley Park, but far enough out to avoid construction sites and the worst of the traffic diversions. We were able to go for a morning run around the park, which was beautiful. The hotel and restaurant were good value, but as other reviewers have said, the decor is a bit 90s!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Lovely friendly staff (except maybe the night lady :-/!!) Anyway - that absolutely did not take away from the fantastic experience. The staff are wonderful, the decor is lovely, all clean and comfy, and the garden in the middle of the whole hotel makes for a wonderful atmosphere. The breakfast experience was wonderful. The medieval theme is neat - makes it unique, and not just another boring hotel. Loved staying here Thank you!! :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee20202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was a bit concerned about the place when i booked online, But it was all gone as we checked in. A lovely place peacefully located in the City, just in front of the Park ( Hagley).
The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed having breakfast outdoors in the garden.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenverM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Enjoyed the stay. Good sized rooms (above average size) with a decent desk for business. Service and food at the restaurant was very good and bar service was friendly. I would overall recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank DougieNZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was a little dubious about this hotel but it had very friendly staff, was clean and the bedroom was large with a really comfortable bed. Great location. Would definately stay here again next time in christchurch. Price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceyb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,060 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
702 reviews
0.9 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
3.4 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 189 Deans Avenue, Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Chateau on the Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £74 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is designed to provide a tranquil, resort-like stay. The 5-acre property - boasting a moat, a vineyard and a beautiful rose garden - makes our Christchurch, New Zealand hotel feel secluded, but it is only 2.9km from the city. From this hotel, you'll be able to walk to Christchurch Botanic Gardens, Hagley Golf Club and the western business district. Riccarton Westfield and the University of Canterbury also are nearby. Ask our friendly staff about the hotel’s Baronial architecture and complimentary shuttle to the CBD as they welcome you with a signature, warm chocolate chip cookie. This charming escape from ordinary life offers smart amenities including seven dedicated meeting spaces and a business kiosk. Enjoy the heated outdoor pool and modern fitness room. Select a refurbished guest room, also available with accessible amenities, a garden view room or a suite with a jetted tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chateau On The Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing