We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Businesslike and cosy: a rarecombination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #15 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel just for one night inearly July 2014. However, will remember this hotel for the friendliness of the staff as also te qualityof the food. The overall ambience is very peaceful and best of all, the beds are nice!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are fine if not stayingvery long
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lene-Bappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is classically beautiful, although a little dated. Room was quiet, comfortable and spacious. Staff were very helpful. All in all the hotel was great value for money and I would certainly consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VeronaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

we stayed in a deluxe room which had 2x double beds. Large room which had mini fridge, desk and 2 chairs. Bed comfy, pillows a bit hard. Dated bathroom but large and included shower over bath. Could do with a good scrub around the edges.
Tv needs to be upgraded, was old style and quite small
Room service dinner was good
would definitely stay again at $94 per night online through their website.
Free wifi - but very slow

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1vs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Perfectly nice and comfy for one night stay, with our young 9 year old. Room was spotlessly clean and breakfast was tasty. Would have no hesitation in spending another night there if we are in Christchurch again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hann9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Room booked a month in advance for 2 adults 1child. Room was set up for 2 only. Had to ask for extras and receptions attitude very off hand. Housekeeping was very apologetic next morning but 9 year old's bubble of staying in a "posh" hotel had been burst. Food fantastic. Ross and Maybelline went the extra mile!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFD20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The room was showing signs of age and for a premium room there were a few strange omissions (only one bathrobe but two pairs of slippers, no minibar, poor selection of in-room teas, the most basic selection of TV channels I've ever encountered and charges for local phone calls) but overall it was very comfortable with french doors opening into a garden courtyard. The gardens and moat like pond are a feature of the hotel and once inside it's very easy to forget you are in a busy city. All the staff were friendly and efficient and Gary the hotel cat popped by and made himself at home. The restaurant is worth trying with good evening meals and lovely views of the garden during daylight hours. Location is handy as well with the Riccarton shops 15 minutes walk in one direction and the what's left of the central city 25 minutes the other way. There's free wifi too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdm8161, Director of Sales at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff including Gary our lovely hotel cat.

I have passed on your comments regarding our premier rooms to our management team and we will discuss possible improvements or changes that can be made at our next management meeting.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

warm regards
Dorothy Pickering

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I cannot fault this hotel!! I stayed here for 1 night in June and I would of loved to of stayed for longer. It's 20 minutes away from the Airport which was around $44 each way. The rooms are huge and beautiful, 2 double beds in the room, everything is so clean and I was so happy with the service of the staff in the hotel and in the restaurant too. The hotel has the most amazing restaurant I had the lamb shank- perfect!The hotel also has a nice pool, I would of liked to have gone for a swim but I just didn't have the time. I am a UK Travel Consultant and will 100% be recommending this hotel to my passengers when they are visiting Christchurch.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdm8161, Director of Sales at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed our facilities. I have passed on your comments to our Executive Chef and our restaurant team.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future and next time perhaps you can enjoy our pool.

warm regards
Dorothy Pickering

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,118 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
712 reviews
0.9 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
711 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 189 Deans Avenue, Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Chateau on the Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £84 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is designed to provide a tranquil, resort-like stay. The 5-acre property - boasting a moat, a vineyard and a beautiful rose garden - makes our Christchurch, New Zealand hotel feel secluded, but it is only 2.9km from the city. From this hotel, you'll be able to walk to Christchurch Botanic Gardens, Hagley Golf Club and the western business district. Riccarton Westfield and the University of Canterbury also are nearby. Ask our friendly staff about the hotel’s Baronial architecture and complimentary shuttle to the CBD as they welcome you with a signature, warm chocolate chip cookie. This charming escape from ordinary life offers smart amenities including seven dedicated meeting spaces and a business kiosk. Enjoy the heated outdoor pool and modern fitness room. Select a refurbished guest room, also available with accessible amenities, a garden view room or a suite with a jetted tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chateau On The Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing