We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderately priced hotel convenient for Christchurch centre and airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #16 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2010

This hotel was very well placed for the holiday start (1 night) and end (2 nights) of our time in the south island as it is an easy 10 minute drive Christchurch Airport. You can walk into the city centre (about 30 mins), but the hotel runs a free shuttle until about 7.45 pm.

Our rooms looked inwards, so there was no traffic noise – they were comfortable, but it was worth paying for an upgrade for our last nights as the standard room (first night) we had got little daylight and was more cramped. Room service was somewhat haphazard though – the porter was doubling as shuttle driver.

The grounds are attractive and there is a reasonable sized outdoor pool (several using it, though we didn’t). The main restaurant is good for breakfast (good buffet selection and service) but lacks atmosphere for dining in the evening. The bar, where we ate on our last night as there was heavy rain, had more atmosphere and good value meals – either from the bar or restaurant menu.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizaC-Medlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

891 - 897 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at the Chateau on the Park. I found the staff quite helpful and the building was very nice. The furnishings in our room were a bit dated, but the beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom was great. Large tub with jets and a huge walk in shower. Another nice thing about our room, it opened up to the hotel garden, which was lovely. In addition to our stay at the Chateau we were also married there on New Year's Eve. The staff was fantastic and went out of their way to make the day feel special. The morning breakfast is a must, and although the hotel is not located in the city center, they do offer a free shuttle to the city and the times we did take a cab it was not expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W0rldFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We just returned from two nights at the Chateau on the Park hotel. We stayed here at the end of two weeks traveling the South Island. This was the biggest disappointment of the trip! We stayed in rooms 170 and 172, located in the Hagley wing. (I think that was the name of the wing.)

The rooms are very, very old, tired, and out dated. The carpets in the hallways, lobby and our rooms were dirty and in need of a vacuum. There was a rip in the sheer curtain of our room (#172). The beds need new mattresses. The bathrooms are outdated and did not have a hairdryer. There is a small sign on the bathroom mirror stating you are not given a bath mat unless you request one. Unreal. The towels are thread bare. The tvs are really old and the furnishings too. The whole place needs a major remodel of soft goods. We also never saw the elusive "cat".

The hotel is a pretty long walk to cathedral square...20 -30 minutes. The internet isn't free and is slow.

On the upside, the staff was friendly and the place has potential. The gardens and grounds are really pretty. I have no idea why the manager/owners would let this place get so run down.

We will never stay here again and would NOT recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vickiandboystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Arriving on an intercontinental flight this was the perfect hotel for us - the room was fine, the garden setting of the hotel just wonderful. We enjoyed the hotel, got a good rest and went for a short walk via Hagley park into town. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and the staff very friendly.

If you don't mind a ten-minute-walk into the centre, this is a great hotel for a great price.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MunichMoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Now don't get me wrong, reckon if you can get "special" price then this place would be ok
But for the $190 they charged me, i was disappointed
My stay was organised by my company for a 3 day course, so i was not paying, but still if i was paying that amount, i would be disppointed
The room was OK size wise although the floor had not seen a vacuum cleaner for a while.
no wireless internet although the was a RJ45 outlet but the cost they where going to charge just wasn't acceptable when most places offer it free. 3 sky channels was also a bit sad for a hotel of this type, they also have what looks like first generation LCD TV's which seem to have a awful issue with fast moving pictures, made some movies almost unwatchable. also the rooms lack any soundproofing and you can hear all the commotion in the rooms next door and the hallway.
Room servicing left a lot to be desired. 1 day all the complimentary s are replenished and the next day they are not . your rubbish may or may not be emptied
The restaurant was fine but a little pricey , breakfast good too and the Bar was awesome, Big ups to Kelly the bar tender I had for my stay she was awesome.

I think if the housekeeping spent a little more time in the attention to detail and re looked at some of there pricing structure perhaps my and many other post i have read might be a little more favorable.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 85arcadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

A nice hotel in very pleasant surroundings - the grounds are pretty and well kept. Comfortable rooms and helpful staff. The hotel is across the park from the city centre - a nice walk through the botanic gardens if you have the time and energy but a pain if you are tired/running late. Breakfasts were good - didn't try the restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Recently spent two night at the Chateau and was less than impressed. We arrived in our room and was missing the top cover on the bed. The bed was lousy and the bathroom while functional was hospital like. Room service was OK. We also seemed to be the only room that didn't receive a daily paper. The only reason to recommend is its location, next to Hagley Park and its nice on-site gardens except your near the botanical gardens anyway. This was the only Hotel that did not include GST in the price and a $135 night room ended up being a $151 night room. Glad I checked in right before a busload of 30 tourists arrived. There must be better hotels next to the park.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talktoandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,949 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
666 reviews
0.9 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
649 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 189 Deans Avenue, Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Chateau on the Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £90 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is designed to provide a tranquil, resort-like stay. The 5-acre property - boasting a moat, a vineyard and a beautiful rose garden - makes our Christchurch, New Zealand hotel feel secluded, but it is only 2.9km from the city. From this hotel, you'll be able to walk to Christchurch Botanic Gardens, Hagley Golf Club and the western business district. Riccarton Westfield and the University of Canterbury also are nearby. Ask our friendly staff about the hotel’s Baronial architecture and complimentary shuttle to the CBD as they welcome you with a signature, warm chocolate chip cookie. This charming escape from ordinary life offers smart amenities including seven dedicated meeting spaces and a business kiosk. Enjoy the heated outdoor pool and modern fitness room. Select a refurbished guest room, also available with accessible amenities, a garden view room or a suite with a jetted tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chateau On The Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing