We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reception area could be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #20 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
georgia
2 reviews
“The reception area could be improved”
Reviewed 22 March 2010

It would help English speakers if the reception desk employees spoke a more clearly enunciated English. We had to ask several employees to repeat themselves over and over.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GAtravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    388
    234
    63
    25
See reviews for
144
480
52
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

My husband and I stayed at Chateau on the Park on the first night of our month long tour of NZ. We took a taxi from the airport to the hotel which was in a good location for us. Situated on the far side of the city park, it meant we could walk into the city (about 10 mins) and not have to negotiate the town traffic when moving onto Kaikoura the next day. The hotel was unexpectedly quite large but quiet and set in lovely gardens. The room service that night was very reasonable and meant we didn't have to go out after our long day. Our room had a king bed, airconditioned and very comfortable. Good value and a good start to our holiday

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cruizin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

This hotel was right across the street from Hagley Park and the Botanical Gardens. It was a lovely hotel with very nice, large rooms with balconies or private balconies looking out onto beautiful gardens and pool. The garden area was exceptional

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioTravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

A lovely relaxing room

Serve was excellent, room was lovely, no complaints

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teh_Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Easy to get to from Christchurch airport. Quiet location with impressive gardens. Fairly standard hotel but the décor in our room was tired and dated. Very comfortable bed though. We made the wrong decision to have the continental breakfast – it was expensive and there wasn’t much choice. Highlight of the visit was meeting Gary the resident cat who uses the lift to get around.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKJaneW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

This is an older hotel but it is an interesting building, set in beautiful gardens. Many of the rooms open onto the gardens. My son and husband enjoyed the pool and spa and I went for a walk in the park opposite the hotel.
Breakfast was included in our package and was another highlight.
The hotel had little extras like bikes for a low rental.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenPatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland and New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Central to Hagley Park and easy access to the airport. Nice grounds although some friends found the fountain which the building is built around rather depressing on a rainy day. Breakfast OK. The same lumps of flaked paintwork were on the corridor and stair carpet after 3 days, they were just ground up more and more each day as folk walked over them.
Room jaded and in need of TLC. Filthy windows and curtains and view was to guttering on another part of the building which was full of leaves from the autumn, 8 months earlier. Only one seat in bedroom and standards varied from room to rrom that I saw. However, great bed linen and "freebies" in the bathroom. Internet was charged for.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alhcookboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
1,779 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,315 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 189 Deans Avenue, Christchurch 8440, New Zealand (Formerly Chateau on the Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is designed to provide a tranquil, resort-like stay. The 5-acre property - boasting a moat, a vineyard and a beautiful rose garden - makes our Christchurch, New Zealand hotel feel secluded, but it is only 2.9km from the city. From this hotel, you'll be able to walk to Christchurch Botanic Gardens, Hagley Golf Club and the western business district. Riccarton Westfield and the University of Canterbury also are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chateau On The Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing