We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Diplomat Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diplomat Motel
Ranked #101 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Older style one level unit so they are spacious !.......excellent for a long stay !
We found the units comfortable and warm . Separate kitchen, great if you like to cook. Laundry facility available.
Location can't get much better, Merivale Mall just a stroll (with supermarket,) a cafe literally next door, bus stop at the door , restaurants a great choice all with in walking , Hagley Park for your morning walk and to top it off the Hosts are terrific, ever so obliging !

Room Tip: Units2-7 get the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    39
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
34
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Re painted large rooms with double and single bed. Separate kitchen, bathrooms and toilet which means plenty of space for a long stay. Units are quiet and very little road noise heard. A better than basic typical NZ motel which suited us just fine. Friendly and helpful management.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runaway53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We agree with other reviews - very handy position only a few minutes walk from Merivale centre, helpful service, comfy bed and at a reasonable tarrif. Although well maintained, the motel is due for total renovation to bring it into this century.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldieWhangarei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
556 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Have stayed here 3 times over the past 3 months - friendly owners (just as good as the previous owners who left in Feb) - large room - good facilities.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi-traveller-PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukraine
Level Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My wife, my daughter and I really liked this hotel. I have lived in more than 10 New Zealand hotels. I tried to spend the same money to live in different places and this hotel gave us much more ... When we were driving through the city, all hotels have signs, "There are available rooms," and here, "no availability". There is a good supermarket on the left side of the hotel. There is a nice pool and jacuzzi, lots of flowers and children's swings in the garden. The hotel staff was very helpful and kind, they always helped me. I sure would like to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

we had a one nighter stop - it was clean and Paul gave us excellent travel advise
(single storey rooms)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twister_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Great location close to bars, restaurants, supermarket and mall. Spacious clean rooms with sky TV and wifi and kitchen. The pool and spa were an added bonus and a BBQ was available to use. The hosts were very friendly and helpful with a wealth of local knowledge. Would recommend and go back myself.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#38 of 144 in Christchurch
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton Mill
Hotel Carlton Mill
#89 of 144 in Christchurch
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#61 of 144 in Christchurch
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Milano Motor Lodge
Milano Motor Lodge
#50 of 144 in Christchurch
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merivale Court Motel
Merivale Court Motel
#127 of 144 in Christchurch
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tudor Court Motel
Tudor Court Motel
#70 of 144 in Christchurch
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Motel

Property: Diplomat Motel
Address: 127 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#33 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Diplomat Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Motel consists of 4 x 56m2 x 2 bedroom family units and 12 x 32m2 large studios. Each unit is fully self contained with full oven,microwave,pots,pans,cutlery,crockery,toaster,tea,coffee etc. There is a shower and vanity in the bathroom and separate W.C. In the main studio room there is a 2 seater couch,queen/king bed and a single bed. There are tables and chairs and a writing desk with phone and free wireless internet. These units have all been refurbished in Jan/Feb 2013.There is a free swimming pool,spa pool and childrens playground.Just 5 minutes walk to Merivale Mall which has many restaurants,cafes,boutiques and a supermarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diplomat Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Christchurch
Christchurch Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing