We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recomended!!!”
Review of Diplomat Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diplomat Motel
Ranked #106 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recomended!!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here as my young son had an operation just down the road, they could not have been more accommodating and understanding, the rooms where warm, comfy, well decorated and child friendly. The beds are extremely comfy and the rooms are immaculate. Nothing was to much trouble for them, including providing a cot and bedding on short notice.

I could not have asked for better :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qsgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    39
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
34
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greymouth
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Our stay was very good,warm motel,cosy and comfortable bed,and the upgrade since we last stayed here is well done.We will come and stay again as the discount for hospital patient treatment was much appreciated.This motel is in walking distance to both St George's and Southern Cross Hospitals,which took transport worries from us as the weather was kind and we were able to do the walks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here for a week and found the unit to be attractively furnished and redecorated, clean and comfortable. The weather was unseasonably warm for mid-July, and the unit was sunny. Intrigued by the old stove (Farenheit temperature control for oven) but these are being progressively replaced as the motel refurbishment continues. Handy to medical consulting rooms in Papanui Road, plus boutique shops, restaurants and the Merivale Mall. Would stay here again, recommend it to travelling couples. Friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I have been staying at the Diplomat for 3 months while having earthquake repairs to my home.The motel is in a great location only a 5 minute walk to the mall and several restaurants. The unit is very spacious and warm and has recently been upgraded. Having a full kitchen has been essential as I have had a long stay. The owners Brian and Bridget and thier staff have been friendly and helpful making my stay enjoyable. I would definately recommend this motel.

Kevin Tucker

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Brian and Bridget were perfect hosts who were very helpful with restaurant information and sights to see in the area Room spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Great quiet sitting area out the back of each unit. when we booked the told us we would have to move rooms after 1 night. this was done without any problems. The first room had not been redecorated but still was in very good condition. the second room was brand new and both were excellent. A great place to stay to see Christchurch. When we arrived the car park was due to have been resurfaced but the builders had not turned up. Minor problem that will have been put right by now. would be very happy to stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cranmorebelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The room was partly renovated,but the overall look was poor.One or two of the fittings had been replaced,but the stove was old and shabby,as were some switches,old and unclean.Toilet kept running.Windows poorly fitting and catches old and worn.For what it was it was very much overpriced .Will certainly not go there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ziggy176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diplomat127, Owner at Diplomat Motel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Very sorry to read that you were less than satisfied with your stay at the Diplomat. I would also like to apologise for taking so long to reply,the reason being we have been totally immersed in getting the Diplomat back to its former grand self due to earthquake damage etc. We are 90% there now and at present we now have new bedding,side tables,lamps,paint and plaster,drapes,lounge suites,flat screen tv's,new phone system,new lighting,new vanities in the bathroom with new vinyl. The repainted pool and surrounding coloured concrete is now in place and the spa area is back in great order. We are just waiting on the heat pump for the pool to arrive in October. We are repairing the roofs of 7 units at the moment with colour steel and hope to have this completed in a few weeks. The rest of the roofs will be done next year.
When we took over 18 months ago we knew we had a project on our hands and that is all coming together slowly but surely.
Please give us another try as I think you will like the progress we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I suggest that prospective guests check the current status of the guest carpark before booking. It's currently (February 2013) being completely renovated with diggers, scrapers, trucks and dust (we totally understand the need for this work to be done) with no access to the site and guests vehicles having to be left about 300m away around the corner in a Church yard. In light of the inconvenience to guests, it would have been nice for the hosts to offer to assist with bags on check-in and departure but no assistance was forthcoming which, in the hospitality business, is a little disappointing.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank petal-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diplomat127, Owner at Diplomat Motel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
I would like to apologise for your average stay at the Diplomat Motel.
It has taken too long for the response and I am sorry for that also.
We started here 18 months ago and have been doing the fix up post quake ever since. It is now starting to look really good. The carpark was a terrible dusty mess at the time but the landlord got the go ahead from Fletchers and then a few days later they were here and ripping everything up.
It all looks fantastic now .
Hope we can be of help in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#38 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton Mill
Hotel Carlton Mill
#87 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#62 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Milano Motor Lodge
Milano Motor Lodge
#50 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merivale Court Motel
Merivale Court Motel
#127 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tudor Court Motel
Tudor Court Motel
#64 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Motel

Property: Diplomat Motel
Address: 127 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#33 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Diplomat Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Motel consists of 4 x 56m2 x 2 bedroom family units and 12 x 32m2 large studios. Each unit is fully self contained with full oven,microwave,pots,pans,cutlery,crockery,toaster,tea,coffee etc. There is a shower and vanity in the bathroom and separate W.C. In the main studio room there is a 2 seater couch,queen/king bed and a single bed. There are tables and chairs and a writing desk with phone and free wireless internet. These units have all been refurbished in Jan/Feb 2013.There is a free swimming pool,spa pool and childrens playground.Just 5 minutes walk to Merivale Mall which has many restaurants,cafes,boutiques and a supermarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Diplomat Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Christchurch
Christchurch Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing