We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONLY ONE WORD "DISGUSTING"”
Review of Cherry Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cherry Tree Lodge
Ranked #136 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Is wasnt my choice to stay at this motel, and never will again. The inclusions state - room rate includes Internet acces (not availablity), but hey you still have to pay for usage. Very misleading and need to state in a more clear fashion.

Overall this motel is dated beyond the pre Dinosaurs years and is very much in need of urgent refurbishment or ultimately need to be close down. In plain english it is very dusty and dirty. had yo use the plug behind the couch, when I moveed the couch I found a very dirty and smelly womens blue bra. I wonder how long that had been there?

Mould growing in the back of the cupboard, chairs stained, carpet stained. bed cover stained.....you get the picture!

Ordered the continental breakfast.................ticked the weetbix box, but got Light and tasty which had expired by 3 months. (A work collegue who stayed here last year got an expire cereal of 8 months). Milk and juice in a cheap poly cups..........not very food safe.

With the events of recent in Chch I do feel for this business, but they have not be disrupted to do business and does not give them cause to downgrade their standards to this level. There are other options all along riccarton road with far better value and standards.

Unless these owners are not proactive in fix and raising their standards I cant recommend anyone staying here..................even if they are cheap!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tradewithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

Old, VERY noisy, and overpriced. Would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed two nights and paid $200, we got milk in a couple of polystyrene cups,ewww how do we know its fresh? The man in charge couldn't find our booking and didn"t seem to know what was happening or going on, the room we got was with a interconnecting door with the next room and we could hear EVERYTHING they said, the next night the tv next door was blaring and we couldn't sleep,the internet that the fellow told us was working WASN'T.They came and cleaned the room but left the dirty towels in the shower.The outside light was left on all night,resulting in the entire room being lit up all night. This place was recommended to us but I surely wouldn't recommend it to anyone, it was a hell hole.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yogismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights.
The staff were not very friendly.
The room was tidy but had mould on the shower head.
Milk was given to us in a foam cup.
We received fresh towels each day but they never made the bed.
At 10 am on check out day we got a call to tell us to check out.
An hour after leaving we realised we left a full brand new bottle of wine in the fridge.
We went back to get it and were told that they didn't know what we were talking about, they found the bottle of beer but that was it. We believe someone took it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nemo2329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Location is fantastic, but room is tired, dirty and dusty. Had to flush toilet before using, coffee cup marks on bed side table, noisey water pipes, long strands of hair on couch. Reception gave me polystyrene cup with milk in it for tea/coffee - milk was not refrigerated and I declined it

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilG81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed here for our last 2 nights in NZ. The room was neat and tidy but, being on a major road, was a little noisy and light at night. The staff were pleasant and the room was well appointed. It was close to the park and within walking distance of the city centre. A good choice of place to stay while in transit but I probably would not stay here if it were my first trip to Christchurch.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TassieTraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Older style not too fancy.Convenient location to shops etc. value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jplsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
2,087 reviews
0.1 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
269 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
689 reviews
1.2 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#134 of 146 in Christchurch
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Lodge

Address: 12 Riccarton Road, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £48 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cherry Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing