We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and not so cheery”
Review of Cherry Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cherry Tree Lodge
Ranked #136 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Our stay started badly. We had booked via wotif and prepaid for the room but the owner insisted we hadn't. Fortunately we had the receipt and were able to prove we had already paid.

This motel was noisy - lots of noise from the busy road even though we were set back from the road. The bathroom contained dead insects and the hairdryer didn't work. The room was very basic.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kowhaikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

This place used to be good, but now just so run down. Carpet is threadbare, planning and organization slack (booked for three people and got one double bed) eventually got a new room after an argument. Room was dirty, stained, wall are was a piece of A4 paper in a frame made poorly by the owner, prob the worst I have ever had in Christchurch. Service was poor, attitude worse, bad experience all round. AVOID at any cost.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AkFmDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on our way through Chch. Was particularly average; first impressions not very good as the place looked a bit grotty from the outside but the room was clean enough not spick and span but hygienic at least. We were given an upstairs apartment which since I was with my 84 year old grandmother, wasn't overly ideal but I wasn't aware there were upstairs and downstairs apartments when I booked it so therefore didn't request anything. Was fairly central a few eating places within easy walking distance and botanic gardens and city centre a short drive away.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I caught the bus from Christchurch Airport to the city, via Riccarton. The bus stop where I got off on Riccarton Road was about 10 meters from the Cheery Tree Lodge.
The room was okay, nothing flash but reasonably clean & comfortable. There are many shops and restaurants within a 10 minute walk of the motel.
There is also a very friendly cat that will try and get into your room &/or car...
Riccarton Road is busy and you'll get some traffic noise in your room, but it is not too bad.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank undeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed for two nights, the man at reception was helpful and friendly!
The people in the room next to ours were drunk and noisy until about 2am (maybe longer but that's when we became to fed up and complained) Woke the poor man at reception up, he rang the people in the room and he moved us to another room far from them! The second night was fine, no noise. We were given a late check out when we asked.
The cat in the car park "poppy" was very cute and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We booked this motel as we had stayed here several years ago and had enjoyed our stay then.

The motel has deteriorated sadly since we were last there.

The room was tired and grimy.The bathroom floor was filthy, the bed cover faded and I suspect was also grimy - it was very patterned which did not show the marks. I actually checked for bed bugs which is something I have never ever done in New Zealand. There were none. However the sheets were very crisp and clean. We were given fresh clean towels each day.

There was no milk in the unit but the manager cheerfully produced some UHT containers of milk for us when requested. No breakfast service was offered.

About the only redeeming fact is that it is in a good location.

I would definitely not recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Is wasnt my choice to stay at this motel, and never will again. The inclusions state - room rate includes Internet acces (not availablity), but hey you still have to pay for usage. Very misleading and need to state in a more clear fashion.

Overall this motel is dated beyond the pre Dinosaurs years and is very much in need of urgent refurbishment or ultimately need to be close down. In plain english it is very dusty and dirty. had yo use the plug behind the couch, when I moveed the couch I found a very dirty and smelly womens blue bra. I wonder how long that had been there?

Mould growing in the back of the cupboard, chairs stained, carpet stained. bed cover stained.....you get the picture!

Ordered the continental breakfast.................ticked the weetbix box, but got Light and tasty which had expired by 3 months. (A work collegue who stayed here last year got an expire cereal of 8 months). Milk and juice in a cheap poly cups..........not very food safe.

With the events of recent in Chch I do feel for this business, but they have not be disrupted to do business and does not give them cause to downgrade their standards to this level. There are other options all along riccarton road with far better value and standards.

Unless these owners are not proactive in fix and raising their standards I cant recommend anyone staying here..................even if they are cheap!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tradewithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Christchurch City Park Motel
Christchurch City Park Motel
#103 of 146 in Christchurch
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#58 of 146 in Christchurch
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aalton Motel
Aalton Motel
#54 of 146 in Christchurch
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hagley Park Motel
Hagley Park Motel
#117 of 146 in Christchurch
58 reviews
1.5 mi away
Econolodge Canterbury Court
Econolodge Canterbury Court
#88 of 146 in Christchurch
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annabelle Court Motel
Annabelle Court Motel
#81 of 146 in Christchurch
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Lodge

Address: 12 Riccarton Road, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £57 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cherry Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing