We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A month long stay.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econolodge Canterbury Court
Ranked #85 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A month long stay.....”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I moved to Christchurch for a job, my company put me up in the motel for a whole month!, first thing I think of when I think of hotels is dingy rooms! But this hotel was surprisingly nice! Very clean and very friendly!!! I stayed in the two bedroom bungalow motel and was very happy (once I figured out there was electric blankets in the beds!!) fresh towels everyday and cleaned everyday!
The owners were very friendly and helpful!
a 5/10minute drive to Riccarton Mall & close to the Hazeldean business park! A great location!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClairHB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    27
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
20
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed two nights here and were impressed by the peace and quiet. Being self contained really helps with not having to hear neighours talking through the walls. The rooms were clean and the service friendly. However, we did feel that some new towels and bed linen wouldn't go amiss as the towels were thin and really worn out and the sheets didn't feel nice and fresh - a bit like a backpackers I stayed in in Wellington actually. If it's peace and quiet and value for money you're after, in a convenient location, then this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nz
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The location was good for us as we came from the train station. The room was a decent size, had a nice tv and was self contained. The decor is plain, the bathroom was not modern and the kitchen a bit on the small side. In saying that it was worth the money for a self contained unit/motel room. The place was pretty clean. If you want somewhere that is self-contained, is close to the train station and is clean then stay here. If you are looking for something upmarket then look elsewhere but expect to pay more too. I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lazy2rist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
237 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Firstly, this is now Econo Lodge Canterbury Court. Same location, same red sign albeit with the slightly changed name.

Stayed here because it was within walking distance of the railway station - maybe up to 1.5km (about 0.9 miles), and because it was the cheapest option when redeeming points from a loyalty system in New Zealand called Fly Buys.

As it was the cheapest option and because "Econo" in the title I was expecting it to be quite small and basic. But what we got was a normal motel room, little kitchen area, reasonably sized bathroom (with everything stocked incl. shampoo, flannel), good selection of TV channels incl. 2 sports and 1 movies, even magazines to read. Overall much bigger, better condition, and more little things included than I ever expected.

Location was good for us. It's not the closest to the centre of town, but promixity to city centre isn't important in Christchurch now since the earthquakes. It's fairly close to CBS Canterbury Arena and the Addington horseracing track. Most rooms are well back from the road so it's very quiet.

A small supermarket is only about 100 meters away, with a McDonalds no more than a further 100m beyond that. Two service stations within easy walking distance. A bit further away but still walkable is an area with a couple of pubs/restaurants, and a couple of takeaway places e.g. pizza hut.

All in all this was a winner for us - much better than I imagined and even though we had no car we could still get to and from the nearby shops and the railway station easily enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opotiki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Have stayed at Canterbury Court Motel twice now when Christchurch on business. Lovely motel, all the rooms are separate so you don't have to suffer the noise of the neighbours coming and going. It is really QUIET. The owners are great and will go out of their way to help out with anything you need. It is a short bus ride into the city if you need to go that way and close to the Christchurch Showgrounds. Only drawback is the internet access is quite expensive. I will be staying here in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hispetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.6 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#33 of 144 in Christchurch
263 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#39 of 144 in Christchurch
128 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Garden Hotel
The Garden Hotel
#98 of 144 in Christchurch
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
2 on Whiteleigh Motel
2 on Whiteleigh Motel
#91 of 144 in Christchurch
8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Addington Court Motel
Addington Court Motel
#49 of 144 in Christchurch
95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tui Lodge Motel
Tui Lodge Motel
#117 of 144 in Christchurch
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econolodge Canterbury Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econolodge Canterbury Court

Property: Econolodge Canterbury Court
Address: 140 Lincoln Road, Christchurch 8024, New Zealand (Formerly Country Comfort Canterbury Court)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Econolodge Canterbury Court 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corporate / Leisure / Family / Tours & Groups Perfect For Any Event! Econolodge Canterbury Court is conveniently located in Addington... the events district of Christchurch. Walking distance to Horncastle Arena, AMI Stadium and Addington Raceway, only 10 Minutes drive from the Central City and Train Station and 20 minutes from Christchurch International Airport. Econolodge Canterbury, 140 Lincoln Road boasts 20 ground floor individual units spread across a large holiday park size (3500m2) section. All rooms are set back off the main road with space for car, trailer, truck, bus or even boat! Ideal for Corporate Travel and family holidays, as well as space for large Sports groups and/or tours, perfectly positioned for events in Christchurch with Horncastle Arena, AMI Station and Addington Raceway only minutes walk away. All rooms have kitchens with cooking facilities, serviced daily with cleaning standards second to none. We provide complimentary wireless internet to all guests with no restrictions. 25+ Digital/SKY Channels available throughout our Queen / Twin Studio Rooms, One Bedroom or Two Bedroom options with multiple bedding configurations up to 5 guests per room. Very comfortable accommodation with ongoing improvements, guest laundry onsite with rotary clothes lines and BBQ's available for those beautiful Christchurch afternoons/evenings. Breakfast options are available with either Continental or Cooked, local knowledge or recommendations for nearby restaurants or entertainment. Great option when travelling to the Garden City Christchurch, so much to offer and a great location close to all amenities, events, bars & restaurants and on Orange Bus/Metro Line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econolodge Canterbury Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing