We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Enjoyed Our Stay”
Review of Argyle on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Argyle on the Park
Ranked #22 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2012

A great motel with plenty of room. My mother and I stayed a night and appreciated the separate bedroom. Close to Hagley Park with lovely walks. Very friendly hosts who provided good suggestions for sightseeing. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viv P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Argyle on the Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

Located a short way from downtown Christchurch, which isn't a bad thing considering most of this area is currently off limits. The decor in the rooms does feel slightly dated, but everything is clean and they contain all the amenities you'd need for a short stay. The staff are very friendly and were on hand to offer advice on where to eat and buy food and supplies for our trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xsimx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Christchurch is suffering from a decline in tourism because of the earthquakes, but it is certainly worth a stopover and good as a base of operations. The Argyle is run by a family who really go out of their way to be helpful. They can arrange transportation, have good recommendations for dinners and the rooms are comfortable and well furnished. The motel is in Riccarton which has not been affected by the shake rattle and roll. It overlooks Hagley Park, worth a visit. The motel does not provide breakfast but there is a grocery store around the corner. The room is fully furnished so there is china and cutlery to use for breakfast, as well as coffee.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanxlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Our room was spotlessly clean and very spacious - a benefit of an older building. Delightful managers who couldn't do enough to help us. It's just across the road from Hagely park and there are great restaurant just around the corner. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This hotel has everything you need - the rooms are like apartments with separate bedrooms and kitchen and living area- there is heating if u get cold and over 50 tv channels to keep u entertained if you decide to stay in! (it was cold when we went) They have an enclosed spa and barbecue facilities. The hotel is very close to the city centre - under 10 mins walk and Riccarton centre is just around the corner. Also the proprietor Bruce is awesome - happy to help u with any questions u may have. Loved our stay in Jan 2012. Thanks Bruce!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greendayfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

After more than 30 hours of traveling this was a lovely place to really arrive in New Zealand. The welcome was super friendly, the room was spacious with everything we needed (little kitchen area with coffee/tea making facilities, very comfy bed, Sky TV...) and it is very conveniently located: the bus from the airport stops close by, Hagley Park is across the street and restaurants and shops are basically around the corner.
On our next trip to NZ we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schiepchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Brilliant friendly motel. The perfect motel after 27 hours flying from London. Very good location for the airport and next to the beautiful Hagley Park, also very close to shops, restaurants, cafes and bars. Very nice patrons that will advise and help with any of your travel needs. Highly recommended.. Booking also recommended as they are popular.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.2 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
634 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,896 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
626 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyle on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyle on the Park

Address: 145 Deans Avenue | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#32 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#38 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £65 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyle on the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Argyle on the Park motel. With its unique location right across Hagley Park in the middle of the City, it makes it ideal for travelers wanting to explore Christchurch. For those who wish to catch TranzAlpine or Coastal Pacific trains we provide Free Transfer to and from Christchurch Railway Station. The motel has twelve fully self-contained units. Each unit has full Kitchens, Heat Pumps, Double glazing, Sky TV and Free WiFi. Riccarton Westfield Shopping Mall, many restaurants and cafes are within walking distance. It is also just few minutes' drive from Christchurch famous HornCastle Arena and Addington Raceway & Events Centre. If you are looking for stay in Christchurch then look no further! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Argyle on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyle On The Park Hotel Christchurch
Argyle On The Park Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing