We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way would not stay any where else”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Argyle on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Argyle on the Park
Ranked #25 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Syndey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way would not stay any where else”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2009

My husband and I recently spent 4 weeks touring New Zealand. On two occasions we stayed at Argyle on the Park. Maggi and Bruce, the owners, were without a doubt two of the nicest people we encountered during our trip. The accommodation was comfortable, spotlessly clean and had everything one could want when on a holiday. Both Maggi and Bruce are extremely pleasant and friendly and went out of their way to ensure that everything we needed was provided. They organised transport, free of charge, to transport us from the motel to the train station to catch the
Trans Alpine train. They also were able to charge us in AU$ which we thought great as there were no further bank charges. We plan to return to Christchurch in the not too distant future and would not consider staying anywhere else but Argyle on the Park. Well done Maggi and Bruce 10/10

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulSydney9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    89
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
65
112
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2009

Fantastic place to stay in Christchurch, beautiful city (wish we could have stayed longer), Brilliant personal service by Maggie and Bruce (thank-you both)..... would definately recommend Argyle on the Park if your looking for a good, clean hotel close to the city centre with fantastic friendly service.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blaykes_aunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crickhowell, Wales
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2009

We arrived very late after a long international flight from the UK and the owners left everything ready for us to get a good nights rest. They were extremely helpful with local tourist advice and also even provided medication when one of us was ill! The accommodation is good and located across the road from the park. A pleasant walk through the beautiful park takes you into the city centre. A good place to stay.

  • Liked — The attitude of the owners
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minniejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2008

We (a family of five, with "children" aged 18, 21 and 24) spent 9 days at Argyle on the Park late December 2007. We didn't stay at the actual motel, but in a townhouse belonging to the motel, in nearby Brockworth Place. The house was very well suited for our needs, with 4 bedrooms, two bathrooms, sep WC, large lounge/dining area, a very well equipped kitchen, washing equipment and garage.

The location is excellent, with the city centre a pleasant 20-30 min walk through the magnificent Hagley Park away. Plenty of shopping and restaurants in Riccarton Road around the corner.

The only negative bit is the noise from Deans Ave, where spontaneous racing activites take place late at night, especially on Fridays and Saturdays. Bring your ear plugs!

  • Liked — Lots of space and well equipped
  • Disliked — Traffic noise that was disturbing at times
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hernegren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Queensland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2008

Stayed in front motel unit upstairs overlooking Hagley Park. Very clena. 1 bedroom and another double or queen in the living area - spacious living area for us. Stayed 3 nights. Beautiful walk through Hagley Park into Christchurch which is beautiful - a bit like been in England small town. I understand that on Friday and Sat night is is noisy with cars, but we were there Sunday, Monday and Tuesday and no excess noise. Great place to eat just around the corner SoHo - beautiful food, friendly staff. Or walk further up and find some really really cheap and authenitc chinese restaurants.

  • Liked — location, 2 seperate bedroom areas, cost
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bizcelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center Harbor, NH
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2007

The room was large, clean and comfortable. The host was extremely polite and helpful. The rate was reasonable and the neighborhood ethnic restaurants were good and fairly priced. However, the street traffic was absolutely horrible. Apparently, Christchurch yahoos use the traffic light near the hotel entrance as a timing light for dragstrip starts and the noise approximates that of an Indianapolis 500 start with every light change. If you live next to a race track, you'll feel right at home.

  • Liked — Clean ahd friendly.
  • Disliked — Traffic.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peregrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brusee, Owner at Argyle on the Park, responded to this review, 27 July 2009
Thank you for your review.
All of our rooms were double glazed at the beginning of July 2009 to improve guest comfort. This has resulted in a huge drop in traffic noise and the rooms are comfy and warm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2007

We stayed at the Argyle on the Park for a couple of nights in Feb 07.
Our host was good fun, with a well developed sense of humour. Our unit was spacious and clean and provided us with exactly what we were looking for - a comfortable and conveniently located base from which to explore Christchurch.
The motel is situated right opposite Hagley Park, though which you can walk to the city centre (approx 15 mins). The park is perfectly safe and a very pleasant place to spend some time. The botanical gardens are free and well worth a look around.
The only negative thing I can say about the motel is that it seems to be in the middle of a race track that comes alive some time around midnight. Being in a city, you expect a certain amount of traffic noise, but this was pretty dreadful. Unless they have better sound insulation, I can't imagine that any other motel/hotel in the area is any better, because the racing went on for a good hour and a half - why the police didn't do something about it, I can't imagine. In summary motel good, noise terrible!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank Waggers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#62 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.2 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#31 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.4 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
0.9 mi away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyle on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyle on the Park

Property: Argyle on the Park
Address: 145 Deans Avenue | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#38 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyle on the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Argyle on the Park motel. With its unique location right across Hagley Park in the middle of the City, it makes it ideal for travelers wanting to explore Christchurch. For those who wish to catch TranzAlpine or Coastal Pacific trains we provide Free Transfer to and from Christchurch Railway Station. The motel has twelve fully self-contained units. Each unit has full Kitchens, Heat Pumps, Double glazing, Sky TV and Free WiFi. Riccarton Westfield Shopping Mall, many restaurants and cafes are within walking distance. It is also just few minutes' drive from Christchurch famous HornCastle Arena and Addington Raceway & Events Centre. If you are looking for stay in Christchurch then look no further! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argyle on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyle On The Park Hotel Christchurch
Argyle On The Park Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing