We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Caring Kindness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camelot Motor Lodge
Ranked #56 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Caring Kindness”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Recently, we stayed 2 nights at Camelot Christchurch. We are very pleased with the service provided by Penny and Brian. The couple were very warm, friendly and helpful. They have walked the extra mile for us. Their kindness really touched our hearts. We would highly recommend anyone who visits Christchurch to stay with them.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Weng M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    131
    38
    12
    8
See reviews for
126
144
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed with two teenagers in a 2 bedroom apartment over new year. Plenty of room, good kitchen, large living area, sleeps upto 6.

Very well maintained and quite rooms (I am a light sleeper) May have been a different story in some of the motel style rooms.

Only negative - the upstairs room, which is a loft style with the queen bed gets very hot and stuffy (even when its cool at night) But some have larger windows or fans.

Very helpfull staff, would surely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madurai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel looks like it stepped right out of a postcard. Very tastefully built. The room came with 3beds for 2 people. The small kitchenette was useful . Some rooms for families are huge and convenient. Good location with restaurants and a small mall within walking distance. Only drawback just like a lot of motels in New Zealand was the limited wifi for just half an hour per day which is not sufficient at all. But good enough to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask to see the different types of rooms to fit your family size and budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajamMadurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyPie, Manager at Camelot Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I would like to clarify our internet policy. We actually give out 1/2 a gigabit of WiFi free. This lasts for the length of the stay and can have up to 6 devices using it at once. For longer stays or larger groups we will top this up free as we consider reasonable.
Thank you for choosing Camelot motor Lodge.
Kind Regards,
David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
599 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

First stop for family with small kids. They loved the room, huge over two floors, with galleria, three beds upstairs, three downstairs. Offers little kitchen and dining table so can have nice breakfast and simple meals there. Very pleasant and clean, super-friendly management. There is a small pool (really small, just to cool down a moment) outside. And a jacuzzi. Within 10 minutes lots of restaurants to choose from. Can also walk to town centre taking nice detour through botanical garden.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SunriseSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed here one night before joining my tour in NZ. Because of the earthquake, most accomodations are more expensive.
It is conveniently located within walking distance of restaurants.
Hot and cold water faucets in the sink are separate - requires some dexterity.
Liquid soap is dispensed in the shower.
Wifi is free and adequate.
Owner/manager is friendly and helpful (as are most of the locals).

Room Tip: if you are arrivving late, ask in advance for the Wifi access code
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odobenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The Camelot was our first stop in New Zealand. We planned a couple of days in Christchurch to decompress before driving on the left side of the road. The Camelot was the perfect place to do that. The proprietress was friendly and helpful. We were introduced to the lovely NZ custom of being handed a pint of milk with our room key. (Almost everywhere we stayed had coffee-making facilities, if not a full kitchen. Here we had a microwave and a hot water pot, and I think a hot plate.) It was a short walk to the city center, and a shorter walk to several restaurants including the famous Pedro's House of Lamp which was right across the street. When we went to pick up our rental car at the airport, we found that the airport bus stopped about a block away. The wifi worked in the room, which was far from the lobby. They had a VCR with movies available. I really liked the Camelot. It seemed to be run by people who wanted to make their guests happy, as opposed to many of the corporate motels here in the states that clearly want to squeeze out every last dollar. I would stay there again gladly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed at the Camelot Motor Lodge for 3 months while our house was having earthquake repairs. We spent most of that time in a 2 bedroom apartment but also in 1 bed apartments due to prior bookings & having to extend our stay. It was great that Brian & Penny could accommodate us at such short notice as EQC wanted us out so quickly. Our stay was pleasant & the staff were great. We enjoyed being so close to our house as well. It meant we could check on the work being done there. We found the room service meals so good we also went to the Pavllions Hotel next door a few times with family & friends.
For location it was tops & the spa was great also.
We would give the Camelot Motor Lodge 10 stars if we could!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#39 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#62 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Milano Motor Lodge
Milano Motor Lodge
#50 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Tuscana Motor Lodge
#26 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Motel
Tudor Court Motel
#65 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Motor Lodge

Property: Camelot Motor Lodge
Address: 28 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#39 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Camelot Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A castle-like 34 unit motel complex in the heart of Christchurch, set amongst beautiful rose gardens with swimming pool, spa pool, BBQs and children's play area. Experience award winning service and personal attention from Penny and Brian, AA Supreme Host of the Year Winners plus enjoy the uniqueness that is Camelot, from the spacious studios and suites to the extra large two story two bedroom Apartments and four bedroom Lodge. Check us out now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Camelot Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Camelot Motor Hotel Christchurch
Best Western Christchurch
Best Western Camelot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing