We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible says it all” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camelot Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camelot Motor Lodge
Ranked #52 of 147 Hotels in Christchurch
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrible says it all”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I am appalled at how this place could possibly be rated #9 out of the motels/hotels in Christchurch! Not to mention it's lack of poor reviews. I have never felt misled by Tripadvisor reviews until we stayed here. We chose to stay here based on its positive reviews. I have no idea what these people are talking about and the only thing I can think of is maybe there is new ownership. From the beginning, nothing was right. The guy who checked us in barely spoke (other than uh-huh, um yea, ok, uh...) and had no recommendations (although they did have eating recommendations written on a dry erase board). Both were hard to communicate with, possibly bc English is not their 1st language? I don't know. Our room was horribly outdated and dirty appearing. There were stains scattered all over the carpet throughout the room. Mildew stains in the shower. Throw pillow that was on the freshly made bed w/ stains on it, touching where your head will be. Frosting on the cake was the wine glass in the cabinet that still had lipstick on the rim in multiple places. Gross. I have never been so disturbed with the cleanliness of a room. So much so that we tried to check out the next day despite it being a weekend and we had no idea who would have vacancy (this place was one of the only ones and now we know why). Unfortunately we were told that we would be charged 1 night for checking out early despite the deplorable conditions. They did offer to switch our room but we were not interested as we were so disgusted we just wanted to leave. I've stayed in cleaner hostels when I was in college. Furthermore, the walls are thin and you can hear every time even another room door opens or closes. Unfortunately there was someone having a party next to us and people were in and out all night with rhythmic bangs as they came and went. Not to mention the hideous blood red curtains which wouldn't have mattered if everything else felt clean. The owner didn't even understand what our concerns were. His response was that the rooms are cleaned daily. He did not understand that clearly the cleaning was deficient. And the mattress feels like you are sleeping on cardboard. Bottom line: this place just isn't worth it. I have never stayed in such a hole. And hope to never again. And it wasn't really even cheap. If only the owner would have been a little more understanding and let us move hotels maybe I wouldn't have been so scarred by this mess. I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy. You can review my other reviews - I rarely give terrible reviews and this is by far the worst. Do not stay here....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UFPA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    131
    38
    12
    8
See reviews for
125
144
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at this motel at the beginning and end of a driving tour of South Island. The motel owners made us most welcome and provided advice on good value local eateries as well as where to visit both in Christchurch and further afield. The motel is just outside the city centre which was devastated in the 2011 earthquake. It was quite humbling to see the extent to which central Christchurch was destroyed in the earthquake and yet striking how the low rise timber construction buildings around the centre - including the Camelot - were largely unaffected.

The room itself was well appointed with TV and wi-fi access and a library of DVDs should you want an evening in!

We wouldn't hesitate to go stay here again if we ever return to South Island.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed at Camelot Lodge for two nights at the start and end of our driving tour of the South Island. Dave and Des were just sooo nice, and the rooms were very comfortable. The bathroom was nice and new and the boys (2yrs and 4yrs) loved the cinema style reclining couches to watch the DVD they borrowed from reception "Harry Potter". Des booked us into a beautiful Italian restaurant on our last night with the best food, very hospitable, and we would return in a heartbeat. Nice, neat and comfortable!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you don't want to lug suitcases up the stairs, but then again Dav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

All we can say about Camelot is...10/10! the accommodation was great, location great. but what made it special was our hosts (caretaker hosts at the time I believe) Dave and Des. These guys went so far out of their way to make us feel welcome and to help us whenever they could,
they were simply awesome.

I could go on and on about how great this place was, but all I will say is, if you need a comfortable and reasonably priced - and well located - place to stay in Christchurch, use Camelot, we did and loved it.

To Dave and Des, thanks for the loan of the car GPS, and thanks even more for chasing down my little boys lost teddy and posting it back to Australia for us! People like yourselves made our great NZ trip truly special!

Thanks from Jason and Meegan Sceth and Tait =)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dahappywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here for one night in November 2013. We were made to feel welcome and shown to our room which was well fitted out and clean. We were given recommendations as to where to go to eat. Would recommend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank baggiebird22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Recently, we stayed 2 nights at Camelot Christchurch. We are very pleased with the service provided by Penny and Brian. The couple were very warm, friendly and helpful. They have walked the extra mile for us. Their kindness really touched our hearts. We would highly recommend anyone who visits Christchurch to stay with them.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Weng M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed with two teenagers in a 2 bedroom apartment over new year. Plenty of room, good kitchen, large living area, sleeps upto 6.

Very well maintained and quite rooms (I am a light sleeper) May have been a different story in some of the motel style rooms.

Only negative - the upstairs room, which is a loft style with the queen bed gets very hot and stuffy (even when its cool at night) But some have larger windows or fans.

Very helpfull staff, would surely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.0 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#39 of 147 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#13 of 147 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#61 of 147 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 147 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milano Motor Lodge
Milano Motor Lodge
#51 of 147 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Tuscana Motor Lodge
#23 of 147 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Motor Lodge

Property: Camelot Motor Lodge
Address: 28 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#37 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Camelot Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A castle-like 34 unit motel complex in the heart of Christchurch, set amongst beautiful rose gardens with swimming pool, spa pool, BBQs and children's play area. Experience award winning service and personal attention from Penny and Brian, AA Supreme Host of the Year Winners plus enjoy the uniqueness that is Camelot, from the spacious studios and suites to the extra large two story two bedroom Apartments and four bedroom Lodge. Check us out now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Camelot Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Camelot Motor Hotel Christchurch
Best Western Christchurch
Best Western Camelot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing