We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beginning to look dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camelot Motor Lodge
Ranked #55 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
“Beginning to look dated”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Situated about 20 minutes walk from the city centre this is a convenient location for visitors to Christchurch. It has several dining options in close proximity.
The rooms are a little cramped with a bathroom and kitchen off the bedroom. Bed is comfortable.
The motel is set up to look like the castle of King Arthur with false turrets outside and mock beams in the rooms, all a bit dated.
Reception is welcoming and milk and complementary wifi available.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    131
    38
    13
    8
See reviews for
127
144
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This Motel was very clean. Rooms are dark. Rooms were slightly noisy as the doors are all on the car park. There is a nice pool and BBQ. The location is good as there are no hotels in the CBD. Nice and close to the botanical gardens and main Park.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I am appalled at how this place could possibly be rated #9 out of the motels/hotels in Christchurch! Not to mention it's lack of poor reviews. I have never felt misled by Tripadvisor reviews until we stayed here. We chose to stay here based on its positive reviews. I have no idea what these people are talking about and the only thing I can think of is maybe there is new ownership. From the beginning, nothing was right. The guy who checked us in barely spoke (other than uh-huh, um yea, ok, uh...) and had no recommendations (although they did have eating recommendations written on a dry erase board). Both were hard to communicate with, possibly bc English is not their 1st language? I don't know. Our room was horribly outdated and dirty appearing. There were stains scattered all over the carpet throughout the room. Mildew stains in the shower. Throw pillow that was on the freshly made bed w/ stains on it, touching where your head will be. Frosting on the cake was the wine glass in the cabinet that still had lipstick on the rim in multiple places. Gross. I have never been so disturbed with the cleanliness of a room. So much so that we tried to check out the next day despite it being a weekend and we had no idea who would have vacancy (this place was one of the only ones and now we know why). Unfortunately we were told that we would be charged 1 night for checking out early despite the deplorable conditions. They did offer to switch our room but we were not interested as we were so disgusted we just wanted to leave. I've stayed in cleaner hostels when I was in college. Furthermore, the walls are thin and you can hear every time even another room door opens or closes. Unfortunately there was someone having a party next to us and people were in and out all night with rhythmic bangs as they came and went. Not to mention the hideous blood red curtains which wouldn't have mattered if everything else felt clean. The owner didn't even understand what our concerns were. His response was that the rooms are cleaned daily. He did not understand that clearly the cleaning was deficient. And the mattress feels like you are sleeping on cardboard. Bottom line: this place just isn't worth it. I have never stayed in such a hole. And hope to never again. And it wasn't really even cheap. If only the owner would have been a little more understanding and let us move hotels maybe I wouldn't have been so scarred by this mess. I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy. You can review my other reviews - I rarely give terrible reviews and this is by far the worst. Do not stay here....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UFPA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at this motel at the beginning and end of a driving tour of South Island. The motel owners made us most welcome and provided advice on good value local eateries as well as where to visit both in Christchurch and further afield. The motel is just outside the city centre which was devastated in the 2011 earthquake. It was quite humbling to see the extent to which central Christchurch was destroyed in the earthquake and yet striking how the low rise timber construction buildings around the centre - including the Camelot - were largely unaffected.

The room itself was well appointed with TV and wi-fi access and a library of DVDs should you want an evening in!

We wouldn't hesitate to go stay here again if we ever return to South Island.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed at Camelot Lodge for two nights at the start and end of our driving tour of the South Island. Dave and Des were just sooo nice, and the rooms were very comfortable. The bathroom was nice and new and the boys (2yrs and 4yrs) loved the cinema style reclining couches to watch the DVD they borrowed from reception "Harry Potter". Des booked us into a beautiful Italian restaurant on our last night with the best food, very hospitable, and we would return in a heartbeat. Nice, neat and comfortable!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you don't want to lug suitcases up the stairs, but then again Dav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

All we can say about Camelot is...10/10! the accommodation was great, location great. but what made it special was our hosts (caretaker hosts at the time I believe) Dave and Des. These guys went so far out of their way to make us feel welcome and to help us whenever they could,
they were simply awesome.

I could go on and on about how great this place was, but all I will say is, if you need a comfortable and reasonably priced - and well located - place to stay in Christchurch, use Camelot, we did and loved it.

To Dave and Des, thanks for the loan of the car GPS, and thanks even more for chasing down my little boys lost teddy and posting it back to Australia for us! People like yourselves made our great NZ trip truly special!

Thanks from Jason and Meegan Sceth and Tait =)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dahappywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here for one night in November 2013. We were made to feel welcome and shown to our room which was well fitted out and clean. We were given recommendations as to where to go to eat. Would recommend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank baggiebird22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#41 of 144 in Christchurch
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#63 of 144 in Christchurch
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#37 of 144 in Christchurch
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
621 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#25 of 144 in Christchurch
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Motor Lodge

Property: Camelot Motor Lodge
Address: 28 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#35 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Camelot Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A castle-like 34 unit motel complex in the heart of Christchurch, set amongst beautiful rose gardens with swimming pool, spa pool, BBQs and children's play area. Experience award winning service and personal attention from Penny and Brian, AA Supreme Host of the Year Winners plus enjoy the uniqueness that is Camelot, from the spacious studios and suites to the extra large two story two bedroom Apartments and four bedroom Lodge. Check us out now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Camelot Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Camelot Motor Hotel Christchurch
Best Western Christchurch
Best Western Camelot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing