We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like an old castle, located in the center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camelot Motor Lodge
Ranked #57 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Ankara, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“like an old castle, located in the center”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

characteristic the architecture, there are several units. With the family of 4 we had a large apartment with a wide sitting room and kitchen completely equipped, two comfortable bedrooms - one at the upper level - and one bathroom. Located on a nice road, walking distance from some of the best restaurants and shops, not too far from the airport. Staff was friendly and helpful enough, sorry we were there only one night.

Room Tip: the large apartment at the back of the area was very comfortable, parking just outside the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfonso p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamelotChch, Front Office Manager at Camelot Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 25 January 2015
Dear guest,

thanks for such a nice review.
We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you here again.

The Camelot Motor Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    131
    38
    13
    8
See reviews for
127
144
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Camelot - good facilities and very centrally located, just a pleasant 15 minute walk to the heart of the city. Good parking, room condition average but we are critical mostly of the service - staff not very enthused to assist which is disappointing. Meals OK but not great, Breakfast expensive.

Room Tip: for peace and quiet select a room to the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waryonetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamelotChch, Front Office Manager at Camelot Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 25 January 2015
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your review in July 2014.
We appreciate people taking time to write feedback about us and we are glad you enjoyed our stay with us.
We try to make sure all our staff are trained to a high standard so they can assist all our guests with the best knowledge and enthusiasm.

We hope to see you again,

The Camelot Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

A fun little motel! It won't win any five star rewards but its clean, comfortable and completely acceptable for one or two night stopovers. Staff were great. Parking is a little tight, but manageable. All in all it was a good night during a business trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 78miket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This motel unit was very large and kept very clean but the decor and lounge furniture are dated and in need of an update. The exception is the beds which were superbly comfortable. The only shower is over a very narrow old bath - tricky if you're travelling with grandma (and in a bathroom that big they could easily fit a full shower). They advertise a fully equipped kitchen but whats on offer is similar to a student flat - cheap, buckled and old.There's a nice pub across the road. The dining table only seats 4 and one chair was broken. But - if you're looking for a clean safe and very convenient motel for a large group - this is probably one of the best in CHCH at the moment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

It was a little dated and I would hate to stay there in Summer as the top bedroom got so hot, The window at room upstairs was in my opinion dangerous. It was quite low and the was nothing to stop it opening wide with a long drop to the ground.We felt as we had small children we couldnt risk having the window open so it made sleeping in that room very stuffy. This really should be dealt with. Other than that,all adequate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sellach
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Unfriendly and really complicated Staff or Owner. My Booking was over Booking.com, but they need my Credit Card Details, because If I steal anything, thats unbelievable and ridiculous. The Milk was open and refilled. No Heater in the Toilet or Shower Area. The Toilet from the Neighbor and the Toilet in the Room was very loud. The Whole was very noise in the Night, the night we can't really sleep. All was a little overused and looks like not really clean in the Room. The Staff or Owner seems completely unorganized and complicated. All was a little unfriendly. We are really sure, this was the first and the last night in this (Motel ?)

Room Tip: We don't see the other rooms, but we think it's all the same, we can't to advice this &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna and Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Yes its a bit dated, yes the language barrier can be a nuisance, but if you are travelling in a group of 8 - 12, this place is perfect. We hired the venue adjacent to the Conference room. Easily sleeps 12, huge dining / tv area, large kitchen, own courtyard. The ideal accommodation for large groups or families.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jallchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#39 of 144 in Christchurch
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#64 of 144 in Christchurch
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Tuscana Motor Lodge
#26 of 144 in Christchurch
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#25 of 144 in Christchurch
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Motor Lodge

Property: Camelot Motor Lodge
Address: 28 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#36 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Camelot Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A castle-like 34 unit motel complex in the heart of Christchurch, set amongst beautiful rose gardens with swimming pool, spa pool, BBQs and children's play area. Experience award winning service and personal attention from Penny and Brian, AA Supreme Host of the Year Winners plus enjoy the uniqueness that is Camelot, from the spacious studios and suites to the extra large two story two bedroom Apartments and four bedroom Lodge. Check us out now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Camelot Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Camelot Motor Hotel Christchurch
Best Western Christchurch
Best Western Camelot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing