We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Christchurch
Ranked #7 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

One of those rare hotels that doesn't feel like a hotel. It is situated within a beautiful Grade 1 listed historical building. Huge high ceilings and beautiful plaster work. We stayed in a two bedroom two bathroom suite. It was huge, comparable in size to an apartment one would live in happily. A fully equipped kitchen with oven, full size washer and dryer for doing laundry, 6 seater dining table and two big bedrooms. The building was strengthened and thankfully survived the Christchurch earthquake. It's wonderful to see the place back open and hopefully hails the start of a new era for the city centre. The area surrounding the hotel is still very much affected by the earthquake, but the restart container mall is just around the corner and is a fabulous place to visit and has all the shops and cafés you need. It's a fantastic place to base yourself whilst in Christchurch and enjoy a bit of luxury! The staff were absolutely wonderful too and certainly very proud to be back in action and taking guests again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

excellent location as this is right in the heart of the city and all it requires is a short stroll and bam! you've got the shops, restaurants, trams and botanical gardens. unfortunately we couldn't eat in the hotel on the days we were at the hotel but the recommendations for places to eat were a saving grace. we got a huge room with some lovely facilities to cook which we didn't use. room was spotlessly clean and despite everything, well maintained. i used the gym on a few occasions. a little inconvenience to have to walk to another building but it didn't bother us much... added to our workout routine!! overall, a fine place to be in christchurch.... just beautiful!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sobel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Our family stayed in a 2-bedroom suite for a few nights as a treat. It is fantastic. The rooms are amazing with great facilities and plenty of room. The service was very very good from the time we arrived - including the last minute booking. We were greeted and warmly welcomes by the Manager and were made to feel special the whole time we were there. The gym, pool and spa are the best anywhere in Christchurch. 10/10!

Room Tip: We were in a ground floor suite and there was no noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuaripotiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We recently stayed at this Hotel in Christchurch and were very pleased that we had chosen it. The Hotel had just reopened. It is right in the middle of the devastation from the earthquake, this old Government Building which was strengthened some years ago thankfully survived. It is a beautiful building and has been converted from offices into magnificent, large suites. The suite we had consisted of a lounge dining are with kitchen and a mezzanine large bedroom and bathroom. We were reluctant to leave and wished we had booked more than the one night. The location is alongside the square and the Cathedral, you could not get more central than that. We will make this our Hotel of choice for our visits to Christchurch. The only disappointment was breakfast was really only Continental, I do prefer a choice of a full cooked breakfast. However, the Hotel had just reopened and perhaps on my next visit the breakfast will have been extended. If not it is not far to walk to a restaurant for a more substantial breakfast if that is what is required. Oh yes, parking was available overnight right at the door at no charge. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BERTIE14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Christchurch reconstruction is an inspiration.
The hotel had just reopened, but was immaculate with amazing rooms.
Only the old ex government building survived the quake, so it's now great split level suites, a house away from home !

A short walk from the old Cathedral and the great ReStart Container shopping center this is an ideal location to visit this city rebuilding itself.
Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pacman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

My review goes back to before the earthquake and we wish everyone well. To continue .... After touring NZ for a month, we arrived here, travel stained and weary. I had a few days growth of stubble, we were hot and dusty, and the beatup hire Nissan was filthy and smelly. Nevertheless the car park staff attended us as if we were royalty, taking charge of the car and wheeling our old cases in to reception.
At reception, without us asking, we were instantly upgraded to a suite in the annex, an ex-colonial building. The suite was simply amazing. A huge sitting room, a kitchen, 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms on a mezzanine floor. In London you would pay £2000 per night. This was our best hotel stay - ever. And remember, folks, it's the staff that make a hotel. Thanks again.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank MaxCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed here in 2010 when I visited New Zealand with my wife. As a special gesture for honeymoon couples, they gave me a complimentary upgrade to the special suites. Welcomed us with flowers, chocolates and complimentary drinks. The bed was beautifully decorated and the service at all times was magnificent. Best part of the hotel is its location. Right in the central business district and the whole area is full of activities. A beautiful market is at a walkable distance and is loaded with all types of restaurants. Would love to go again at the earliest.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faheem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,072 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Christchurch
Crowne Plaza Christchurch
#23 of 146 in Christchurch
95 reviews
1.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Christchurch

Address: 28 - 30 Cathedral Square, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £141 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christchurch is a long way from the Mediterranean - nevertheless, the opulence of an Italian High Renaissance Palazzo awaits you at the Heritage Christchurch. Designed by Joseph Clark Maddison and opened in 1913, the hotel is listed as a category one building on the Historic Places Trust Register, reflecting its status as a building of national significance. The hotel's grand design is fitting: after all, Christchurch is regarded as the Garden City, and is regarded internationally for its culture and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing