We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large rooms in lovely heritage building” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heritage Christchurch
Ranked #7 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Large rooms in lovely heritage building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Not much to choose from in central Christchurch at the moment so this renovated bank into a hotel is a welcome surprise. The rooms are huge - plenty of room for families. The renovations are sympathetic to the period. Service is friendly. Across the road from the old damaged cathedral - that could be off putting to some but this hotel suffered very little damage due to reinforcements undertaken some time back. The restaurant looks nice but the breakfast offering is poor. Not much on offer after 9am and no hot menu. Other than that, this is a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LegItAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    192
    75
    12
    13
See reviews for
149
292
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

- do take the opportunity to enjoy the character of the hotel premises

This hotel is in a magnificent building which is relatively old (by NZ standards) with very well appointed suites - located right in the heart of Christchurch on the edge of Cathedral Square
Be aware though that post-earthquake currently, and I think for some time yet, there is not the usual level of activity one would expect around a CBD, but you can easily venture wider afield (especially if you have a vehicle) to access a broader range of dining options

A few years ago the city saved this historic building from demolition and it was given a wonderful use as a quality hotel - major strengthening work undertaken back then meant it was one of the few large hotels in the central city to come through more or less unscathed and during the period access to the CBD was restricted the suites have been refurbished

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinAndChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the newly reopened Heritage in September. We had a suite in the magnificently appointed Old Government Building, a solid structure which has survived the 2011 devastating earthquake. The suite was comfortable with a mezzanine-level bedroom, kitchen and laundry - and very reasonably priced. Definitely a 5-star property with a friendly and efficient staff. Very quiet also with superb and luxurious corridoors on each level together with stately-home-like statrcases. We look forward to staying again sometime.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had a 2 bedroom suite in this interesting old characterful building in the heart of the city near the cathedral. Very spacious sitting , dining area with full dining table and chairs for 6 ,and well equipped kitchen. The decor is conservative but comfortable.
The dining room was not operational except for breakfast but the staff are very helpful with dinner recommendations within walking distance. There is a pool and gym but we didn't get round to using these so can't comment on them.
Our room was quiet .
I found it very reassuring that this building suffered only very minor damage in the quakes.
I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank holyisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
433 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

It is wonderful to see this hotel open again in the centre of Christchurch, although they have lost the tower block section and are restricted to the beautiful Old Government Building section. This means they operate as suites only, but who can complain. The rooms are very large with wonderful high ceilings and all the old plaster work. If you want to dine in they have fully equipped kitchens in the rooms, but there are plenty of options close by if you don't. The in-house restaurant only does breakfasts at present, but they are aiming to open it up more extensively soon. Nearby, in New Regent St, is a wee gem you should seek out - a whiskey and cocktail bar named The Last Word. The only issue we had with our stay was the lack of decent ventilation in the bathroom which meant that it got very hot and steamy after two people had had a shower.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

One of those rare hotels that doesn't feel like a hotel. It is situated within a beautiful Grade 1 listed historical building. Huge high ceilings and beautiful plaster work. We stayed in a two bedroom two bathroom suite. It was huge, comparable in size to an apartment one would live in happily. A fully equipped kitchen with oven, full size washer and dryer for doing laundry, 6 seater dining table and two big bedrooms. The building was strengthened and thankfully survived the Christchurch earthquake. It's wonderful to see the place back open and hopefully hails the start of a new era for the city centre. The area surrounding the hotel is still very much affected by the earthquake, but the restart container mall is just around the corner and is a fabulous place to visit and has all the shops and cafés you need. It's a fantastic place to base yourself whilst in Christchurch and enjoy a bit of luxury! The staff were absolutely wonderful too and certainly very proud to be back in action and taking guests again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

excellent location as this is right in the heart of the city and all it requires is a short stroll and bam! you've got the shops, restaurants, trams and botanical gardens. unfortunately we couldn't eat in the hotel on the days we were at the hotel but the recommendations for places to eat were a saving grace. we got a huge room with some lovely facilities to cook which we didn't use. room was spotlessly clean and despite everything, well maintained. i used the gym on a few occasions. a little inconvenience to have to walk to another building but it didn't bother us much... added to our workout routine!! overall, a fine place to be in christchurch.... just beautiful!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sobel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
4.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Christchurch

Property: Heritage Christchurch
Address: 28 - 30 Cathedral Square, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christchurch is a long way from the Mediterranean - nevertheless, the opulence of an Italian High Renaissance Palazzo awaits you at the Heritage Christchurch. Designed by Joseph Clark Maddison and opened in 1913, the hotel is listed as a category one building on the Historic Places Trust Register, reflecting its status as a building of national significance. The hotel's grand design is fitting: after all, Christchurch is regarded as the Garden City, and is regarded internationally for its culture and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Heritage Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing