We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 1 Night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritage Christchurch
Ranked #7 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent 1 Night Stay”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We had booked a larger 2 bedroom option. Due to a small technical issue our room wasn't available. We were given 2 rooms for our original price. Great stuff Heritage. Thanks. Nice rooms, spacious and with everything we needed. Pity we were only staying 1 night. Well situated in the centre of town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaycrestL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear BaycrestLodge

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Heritage Christchurch.

I would like to thank you for your positive comments about how the team dealt with the room issue and provided a satisfactory solution. We hope to be able to welcome you back the next time you visit Christchurch.

Kindest Regards Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    198
    76
    14
    13
See reviews for
158
312
24
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

This is a very beautiful, grand building and our suite was excellent value, having two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a large living area.
Christchurch has been devastated by the earthquakes and this hotel is next to the cathedral which was very badly damaged. At night it was very deserted but in the daytime there were a lot more people around.
I hope that people will return to this beautiful city & that this lovely hotel will continue to remain open.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hennamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear hennamac

Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor.

We agree that the Hotel is situated in a beautiful and grand building. We are looking forward to seeing the revitalisation of the CBD and attracting more people back to the beautiful City of Christchurch.

Kindest Regards Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Yes there are things that could be done in this hotel but the ambiance of the building is fantastic. Large rooms and very comfortable beds. You are in the red zone so parking is just anywhere you can find a park! Reception staff are not busy and sometimes lack the enthusiasm that you might expect. All in all a wonderful place to stay if not something haunting when you look out the window and see the destruction of the earthquake. I would most certainly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear kiwi1964

Thank you for your feedback subsequent to your recent stay at Heritage Christchurch.

The red zone, as it was, has now been lifted in the CDB. We are very close to reopening our car-park, which will enable parking off street and take away the “anywhere you can find a park” situation that you encountered. We currently have an ever changing landscape in the CBD, as work continues in clearing damage buildings. 2014 is the year where we will see a strong start to the rebuilding of Christchurch. With regards to the reception team, I have shared your feed back and discussed with the team; we are looking at ways to ensure the team remain engaged and enthusiastic.

We hope to be able to welcome you back the next time you visit Christchurch.

Kindest Regards Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stayed in the Novotel every week for 6 weeks, then changed to the Heritage (which is across the road).

The Heritage has a better layout - bigger rooms and better gym plus a great swimming pool. The Heritage is better value than the Novotel.

While the Novotel and Heritage both have great service, the Heritage is less busy - as a result, they can be a bit more attentive.

The only two negatives with the Heritage (vs. Novotel) are:
1. Heritage has older furniture and older style vs. the trendier and updated Novotel. (however, it's not that bad plus, the Novotel rooms are too small)
2. The Heritage cleaners need to do a better job... maybe this is a result of rooms not being turned over for a few days at end, however, they need to clean desks and bedside tables better than they do. Seriously, move things and clean properly. It's not too bad - it's a small thing that shouldn't stop you staying there. However, it's a bit sloppy

See ya...Tim

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim30549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Tim 30549

Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback on TripAdvisor.

It was very pleasing to read that you enjoyed the Heritage Christchurch over the Novotel and that you found that we offer better value. I appreciate your feedback around cleanliness, we do currently have a number of challenges here; especially given the level of deconstruction work in the CBD area and the dust that this causes, however having said, I will share your feedback with the housekeeping team and focus on ensuring that we move things around when dusting.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Christchurch. Thank you again for placing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

The two floor room was spacious, clean & comfortable. Most of the facilities were good, not all though, the DVD player didn't work and neither did the dishwasher. These things were not fixed or swapped successfully during our stay after being reported, the staff were friendly and seemed to try, but not successfully.

The staff were a mixed bunch, some were the loveliest, friendliest bunch, some down right arrogant & rude!

There isn't much to see around the hotel, as expected after the earthquake. We stayed purely for access to the airport after our travels around NZ. The hotel can arrange transport to the airport for you at a reasonable price.

One major annoyance! Hidden charges!! On checkout there was a 1.5% surcharge on card payments. The staff were rude when I questioned it! For this reason alone I would not stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjanetb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Sjanetb

Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor.

I was disappointed to read your comments with regards to the issues that you encountered during your stay.

It is fair to say that we had just reopened after being closed for over 2 ½ years due to the Feb 2011 earthquake and that there were a few teething problems on reopening the hotel. We are confident that we have now worked through these issues; I would like to apologise that we weren't able to provide the level of service or consistency in customer service that we should have, in this instance we fell short of both yours and our own expectations. We have also introduced signage highlighting the credit fee of 1.5%, to ensure no future guests think that we have hidden charges, this certainly wasn't our intention – I am sorry for the poor way in which this was handled.

It is a shame that you have said you wouldn't stay again, based off this issue alone; hopefully you might reconsider should you be visiting Christchurch again from Scotland.

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback.
Kindest Regards Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is essentially a converted town hall. We found a parking place opposite but had no idea of the parking rules - and got no help from the hotel reception. Fortunately our car was still there the next day with no parking ticket. We were given a large room and had a peaceful night - that's about the best part. Several drawbacks to note.

Sole entrance to hotel up a flight of steps - no easy way to roll your luggage in, have to carry it up. This problem worse in the room, as it had two levels, with bed and bathroom one floor up, with long flight of steps connecting them. The bed was large and comfortable, but bathroom very badly arranged. Lavatory bowl squeezed in - no room for ones knees. Light switches scattered around randomly on two floors took us some time to turn off all the lights.

Worst point is that the hot water ran out after one bath and one shower. We complained about this and got 3 successive levels of management involved to no avail. It turns out that each room has a hot water cylinder under the staircase, and when you've used that, it won't heat up again until morning. This was a serious inconveniene, one I've never encountered in a hotel before. They said it was a heritage hotel so weren't allowed to put in hot water pipes, but they had to put in cold water pipes, heavier than normal power cables, and ventilation ducts, so this seems a pathetic excuse.

Breakfast was basic, with a sticky table as nobody seemed to be in charge and it had not been cleaned after some earlier customer. On checkout there was a 1.5% surcharge on credit cards. The staff at reception claimed this was required by law: in this case an awful lot of New Zealand hotels are breaking the law.

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all if you would have trouble climbing up and down the staircase connecting t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astronomer-at-large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Having stayed here many time- great spot, great rooms: dated tv's ( pre earthquake& now) - I love this place but beware - no bar, no room service but excellent front staff. I just spoke to the gm Vicki who took my feedback but sounded very disinterested to a loyal repeAt customer... Poor attitude .. So in 3/4 months they will have a food and beverage plan ... But till then nothing ... But still a great facility - shame that the gm does not match her front desk staff

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nekipatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
1,796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#10 of 144 in Christchurch
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Christchurch

Property: Heritage Christchurch
Address: 28 - 30 Cathedral Square, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christchurch is a long way from the Mediterranean - nevertheless, the opulence of an Italian High Renaissance Palazzo awaits you at the Heritage Christchurch. Designed by Joseph Clark Maddison and opened in 1913, the hotel is listed as a category one building on the Historic Places Trust Register, reflecting its status as a building of national significance. The hotel's grand design is fitting: after all, Christchurch is regarded as the Garden City, and is regarded internationally for its culture and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing