We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heritage Christchurch
Ranked #7 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Berwick, Victoria
Level Contributor
270 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very Good Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife many years ago (2001). Quality is still very good. Love the old style building, very large rooms and feel of the hotel.

Christchurch is still recovering from the devastating earthquake a few years ago so good to see this hotel is open.

Would definitely come back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GriffinFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear GriffinFamily4,

Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you found the Hotel to still be of a high quality. We do receive a lot of positive comments about the style of the Old Government Building and the size of our Suites.

Kindest Regards Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    192
    75
    12
    13
See reviews for
149
292
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here a couple of days ago as a treat for the last couple of days of our South Island trip. Staff at reception were friendly and the building is simply stunning, as are the rooms. The 4 or 5 metre high ceilings are incredible, as are the massive windows that you can look out at what's left of Christchurch, which sadly is very little. The spirit in this city at the moment is almost as incredible as the devastation, which is everywhere. Location is extremely central and I just can't understand how anyone who stayed here wouldn't love it to bits. Just a brilliant place to stay and wouldn't even think about staying elsewhere, especially after nearly 2 weeks in our campervan. Loved it.

Room Tip: Room 18 where we stayed is on the corner so you can see the crumbling Cathedral out of one window. P...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adam Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Adam Y,

Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback on TripAdvisor after your recent stay. It is always gratifying to read such positive comments about both our hotel and team. We hope to welcome you back to the Heritage Christchurch the next time you visit Christchurch.

Kindest Regards Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnarvon, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Beautiful building set in the heart of Christchurch, friendly and very helpful staff, wonderful fully self-sufficient apartment with mezzanine bedroom. I was humbled to see the devastation of Christchurch, but inspired to see the rebuild and that life goes on.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freakerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Freakerbell

Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor. I was really pleased to read that you found our team to be friendly and helpful. All of our Suites have kitchen facilities, which allows our guests to be self-sufficient. We hope to be able to welcome you back the next time you visit Christchurch.

Kindest Regards Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We arrived from Ireland on 28th December for a 17 night stay in the beautiful old Heritage Hotel. We had been 4 years ago and were utterly shocked by the devastation of Christchurch. However this magnificent building stood solid and proud, it made it.
We booked a 2 bedroom suite, as our daughter (who lives in Christchurch) was getting married. The high ceilings, huge rooms, 2 bathrooms, lounge, dining & kitchen per suite, it was like living away home from home.
The health & fitness facilities in the basement were superb. Spotless with very helpful staff. The reception staff were ALWAYS pleasant. Interested in what we were about, but not intrusive.
On the negative. No bar and no lunch/evening meal facilities, but that is totally understandable as the Heritage is fighting the current situation and will not crumble.
HOWEVER you should have a concierge. Dragging 6 suitcases up those grand steps after 3 days travelling is not good at all. They then had to be dragged back down 17 days later. Heritage Hotel is simply superb. Expensive but you must pay for class.

Room Tip: No 43 looks out the front. Great viewing. No noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrickfrances1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear patrickfrances1

Thank you for your feedback after your stay in December. It was pleasing to read the positive comments you wrote about your stay; from the reception team always being pleasant, to the facilities in the health club and the cleanliness and helpful staff. I’m sorry that our bar and restaurant weren’t open when you were staying with us, we are currently working on getting our food and beverage business operational again. I can understand your comments about a concierge service, getting so many suitcases to and from your room, we should have offered to assist you with doing this – I apologise that we didn’t meet your expectations with regards to this service.

Kindest Regards Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We had one night at this lovely hotel. The building is spectacular and our room was gorgeous. It was a split level with the bedroom on a mezzanine floor. There was every amenity you might need and the bed was really comfortable.
Christchurch still has a long way to go to recover from the devastating earthquake in 2011 but it really needs people to go and contribute to the economy. The botanical gardens were great and the container shops and cafés in Re-Start were well worth visiting.
One highlight was the cardboard cathedral which has to be seen!
If you want a very comfortable hotel with great staff the Heritage is ideal.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hew751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear hew751,

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is pleasing to read that you found your room to be gorgeous and that the hotel overall was comfortable with a great team to look after you. I agree with your comments about people coming to visit Christchurch to help provide a kick start through the economy. There are a number of great attractions and activities to do while in Christchurch; we hope to see a steady growth in tourism over the coming year.

Kindest Regards Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We had booked a larger 2 bedroom option. Due to a small technical issue our room wasn't available. We were given 2 rooms for our original price. Great stuff Heritage. Thanks. Nice rooms, spacious and with everything we needed. Pity we were only staying 1 night. Well situated in the centre of town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaycrestL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear BaycrestLodge

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Heritage Christchurch.

I would like to thank you for your positive comments about how the team dealt with the room issue and provided a satisfactory solution. We hope to be able to welcome you back the next time you visit Christchurch.

Kindest Regards Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

This is a very beautiful, grand building and our suite was excellent value, having two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a large living area.
Christchurch has been devastated by the earthquakes and this hotel is next to the cathedral which was very badly damaged. At night it was very deserted but in the daytime there were a lot more people around.
I hope that people will return to this beautiful city & that this lovely hotel will continue to remain open.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hennamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear hennamac

Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor.

We agree that the Hotel is situated in a beautiful and grand building. We are looking forward to seeing the revitalisation of the CBD and attracting more people back to the beautiful City of Christchurch.

Kindest Regards Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
4.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Christchurch

Property: Heritage Christchurch
Address: 28 - 30 Cathedral Square, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christchurch is a long way from the Mediterranean - nevertheless, the opulence of an Italian High Renaissance Palazzo awaits you at the Heritage Christchurch. Designed by Joseph Clark Maddison and opened in 1913, the hotel is listed as a category one building on the Historic Places Trust Register, reflecting its status as a building of national significance. The hotel's grand design is fitting: after all, Christchurch is regarded as the Garden City, and is regarded internationally for its culture and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Heritage Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing