We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Christchurch
Ranked #7 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

A beautiful old building, bit tired in parts. The Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful which enhances your stay. Tui in The Maddison room was outstanding with her service and was extremely gracious, obliging and helpful despite her huge workload. The staff really made our stay pleasant.

Room Tip: Pillows were too thick, BYO.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rosebud53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Rosebud53,

Thank you for taking time to place your feedback in Trip Advisor after your stay earlier this month. I am very pleased to hear that our staff was extremely pleasant and helpful, enhancing your stay.

I appreciate your positive note highlighting Tui at Maddisons Restaurant being gracious, obliging and helpful; I can assure you that we will acknowledge this with Tui through our team recognition rewards.

I am sorry to read you found our pillows too thick, and were not able to provide thinner pillows during your recent stay. Please let us know your preference for any of your future stays and we will be pleased to provide thinner pillows for your comfort.

Thank you again for taking the time to place feedback on your experience. We look forward to welcome you in a near future.

Kindest Regards Ana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

2 bed apartment was amazing in quality and space. Given the quietness of the hotel and city in general, I can understand the competitive pricing.
It will be good to return when Christchurch has recovered somewhat. Shame the restaurant is no longer open for dinner.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank rabroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Rabroom,

Thank you for taking time to place your feedback in Trip Advisor after your stay earlier this month. As you would have noticed we currently have an ever changing landscape in the CBD, as work continues 2014 is the year where we will see a strong start to the rebuilding of Christchurch meaning more facilities will be available for our visitors.

I am very pleased to know that you found our two bedroom apartments amazing in quality and space. It is always satisfying to read such positive comments about our hotel.

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and look forward to welcome you back in a near future and when the city has made further progress in its rebuild.

Kindest Regards Ana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a fantastic stay in this centrally located hotel. Amazing building and decor, with helpful and friendly staff. We stayed in a luxury two bedroom apartment which was perfect and great value for top hotel. The pool was a great hit with the kids. If we had stayed longer, it would have been good to make use of the well equipped gym. Breakfast was tasty too. Shame the restaurant wasn't open for evening meals.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Ana A,

Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback on TripAdvisor, after your stay earlier this month. It is always satisfying to read such positive comments about our hotel. I agree that the building is amazing and one that we’re very proud of. Heritage Hotel Management opened the Old Government building as a 38 suites, luxury hotel in 1996. In its trading history it has received several accolades for its heritage value.

The Old Government Building is registered as a Category One Building on the Historic Places Trust register and was awarded the Christchurch Heritage Trust Built Heritage Award in 2010 and the New Zealand Seismic Award 2012 in the Canterbury Heritage awards.

I am very pleased to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful and that the pool was a great hit with the kids. We are also glad to know that you found our breakfast tasty. We do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced as a result of our restaurant not being open for evening meals yet; we look forward to welcome you back at Heritage Christchurch and hope you plan a longer stay so you can enjoy our well-equipped gym. Thank you!

Kindest Regards - Ana V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed with my husband on a recent trip to Christchurch. Very comfortable hotel, great room, spacious and well appointed. Our one room apartment had plenty of space and comfortable bed. A little noisy in the morning, but Christchurch is a construction zone at present.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Diane H,

Thank you for your feedback subsequent to your recent stay at Heritage Christchurch. We are very pleased to know that you found our hotel comfortable and our rooms spacious and well-appointed and with a comfortable bed.

I am very sorry to know that the morning noise inconvenienced you during your stay with us. As you mentioned, we currently have an ever changing landscape in the CBD, as work continues. 2014 is the year where we will see a strong start to the rebuilding of Christchurch meaning more facilities will be available for our visitors. I appreciate your understanding and look forward to welcome you back should you return to Christchurch in a near future.

Kindest regards – Ana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is by far one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. That are spacious, the most comfy bed. If you want comfort and quality, you will not be disappointed. The hotel was booked out, but we never heard a thing, was so quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Shona M,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback earlier this month. It is always a pleasure to read that our hotel is one of the nicest hotels you have ever stayed in. I am glad that you found our rooms quiet, spacious and with a comfy bed.

Heritage Christchurch is the latest hotel in the Heritage Hotel group to introduce the “tranquil bed” sleep experience. Every suite has a new tranquil bed with a plush mattress containing extra thick layers of natural fibre and a comforting pillow topper.

We look forward to welcome you back at Heritage Christchurch if you visit our beautiful city in a near future.

Kindest Regards - Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

What a beautiful restoration. You must be so proud. The Heritage Hotel in Christchurch is stunning. Felt like royalty. Beautiful rooms and comfortable beds. The hallway are charming and great to have a spa and swim in house.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cunningham2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Cunningham2014,

Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback on TripAdvisor, after your stay in June. It is always satisfying to read such positive comments about our hotel. I agree that the building is amazing and one that we’re very proud of as you mention.

Heritage Hotel Management opened the Old Government building as a 38 suites, luxury hotel in 1996. In its trading history it has received several accolades for its heritage value.

The Old Government Building is registered as a Category One Building on the Historic Places Trust register and was awarded the Christchurch Heritage Trust Built Heritage Award in 2010 and the New Zealand Seismic Award 2012 in the Canterbury Heritage awards.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the spa and swimming pool as well as our comfortable beds. Heritage Christchurch is the latest hotel in the Heritage Hotel group to introduce the “tranquil bed” sleep experience. Every suite has a new tranquil bed with a plush mattress containing extra thick layers of natural fibre and a comforting pillow topper.

Once again we thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcome you back at Heritage Christchurch, shall you visit the beautiful Garden City again.

Kindest Regards - Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the Heritage Christchurch. It was very central to everything we needed. The staff were exceptional and couldn't help us enough. We arrived fairly late in the evening and the staff were very welcoming and the had even put the heater in our room prior to our arrival which was a very kind touch. Although the city was a bit desolate at the moment I am sure it will be beautiful again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Louise T,

Thank you for taking time to place your feedback in Trip Advisor after your stay earlier this month. As you would have noticed we currently have an ever changing landscape in the CBD, as work continues. 2014 is the year where we will see a strong start to the rebuilding of Christchurch meaning more facilities will be available for our visitors.

I am very pleased to know that you found our location central and that our staff was exceptional and helpful. I am also glad to know that you enjoyed a warm room on arrival. It is always satisfying to read such positive comments about our hotel.

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and look forward to welcome you back shall you visit our beautiful city in the future.

Kindest Regards Ana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,017 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,405 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#9 of 146 in Christchurch
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Christchurch

Address: 28 - 30 Cathedral Square, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £135 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christchurch is a long way from the Mediterranean - nevertheless, the opulence of an Italian High Renaissance Palazzo awaits you at the Heritage Christchurch. Designed by Joseph Clark Maddison and opened in 1913, the hotel is listed as a category one building on the Historic Places Trust Register, reflecting its status as a building of national significance. The hotel's grand design is fitting: after all, Christchurch is regarded as the Garden City, and is regarded internationally for its culture and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing