We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel, great location, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heritage Christchurch
Ranked #7 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb hotel, great location, good value”
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Large, modern rooms with great views. We checked in to this hotel having abandoned one we had pre booked and paid for. I explained this at reception and they upgraded us to a room with kitchen and great views as it was the last two days of our vacation.
Staff are very firendly, we received complimentary valet parking and access to the adjacent health club.

Highly recommended - wil stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    197
    76
    12
    13
See reviews for
157
308
24
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2009

I have to agree with several other reviewers - location is not everything, and in this case, while being next to the main square means your are within walking distance of almost everything worth exploring over a short visit, it also means that you are on the side of a main street, with all the associated noise. We stayed at the tower, more modern building, but since windows are single glazed they are useless to deter any noise - in particular, from late night revellers coming out from the Irish pub across the square (plus buses - yes, there are night buses running around at all hours). And the in-room mini-fridge is also an old one, and quite noisy - I had to disconnect it at night.
All in all, ok price, good location, but wouldn't stay there again - when travelling, we only use the hotel to go to sleep, so not being able to do so comfortably is a major turn-off...
Also, concierge service is uneven - when asked, two guys said that we needed a taxi to go to the train station, but another one, most helpfully, said that there was a free shuttle service organised by the train company itself, and promptly booked it for us.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceemea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2009

This hotel couldn't be more central. We stayed in the OGB part of the hotel and our room was a good size with the sleeping area upstairs. Our only problem was that we stayed on a public holiday weekend and our room was directly above the taxi rank. This was quite noisy until about 2am. It wouldn't stop us staying there again but we would look at where the room was situated.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankM_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

Great location, friendly helpful staff and the suite in the OGB looked fantastic with a large living area, fully equiped kitchen and huge bedroom on a mezzanine level. BUT- 2 big draw backs. Firstly due to the nature of the building (which is grand and very elegant) the windows in the suites are huges old 20 foot high ones and cannot be easily sound proofed or double glazed. As a result of this and the location right in the centre of the city there was a huge amount of traffic and general street noise all through the night, particulalrly with boy racers thrashing thier cars around the city centre. 2nd problem is that there was no air conditioning just a large ceiling fan. It was not hot whilst we were there but the fan was totaly inadequate and it as far to hot in the suite at night. This was compounded by the fact thatwe didn't want to open the window due to the aforementioned noise issue. Not sure if these problems occur in the more modern Tower part of the hotel. Depsite the great appearance and facilities of the suite and the great value I would not stay here again

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Stanworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Bardfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We expected a better room than we were first allocated. It was dark and gloomy and only had windows on the upper level where the bed was. The sitting room was like a basement. We asked to be moved to something brighter, and got a two bed suite in the Old Government Building wing, which was superior in every way. This too had the bedrooms upstairs, but it was light and bright, although it looked out onto a car park. We only stay in these sort of places to catch up with laundry etc. so don't care much about service, breakfast or bowing and scraping by staff. We are breakfast in the apartment and the kitchen was well equipped. The location is ideal for shopping, the cinema and getting the tram ride. There are lots of internet cafe's in the square opposite where its $3NZ for an hour, so don't pay the rates in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Good location right in centre of town, spacious room but lacked anything beyond that. Staff courteous but not proactively helpful as we found just about everywhere else in New Zealand. Valet parking more expensive than in other comparable hotels. Main gripe was breakfast - being asked if you wanted a cooked or continental breakfast before you were seated or saw a menu was unhelpful. Seemed geared to the hotel attributing charges as quickly as possible, rather than providing a service to guests. My husband thought the cooked breakfast was fine, though he came back one morning with a pancake that resembled a piece of cardboard. The fruit and cheese available were poor - often very little there and what was was unripe and dry/curled.....hardly appetising. We should have gone elsewhere for breakfast but it was included in the deal we had. Think the Heritage is resting on its location but needs to up its game on some other basics.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2009

We spent the first 2 nights of our honeymoon here (it should have been three but for the 36 hour flight delay!). The suite was large with great views out of two sides of the building from the 11th floor. The bed was extremely comfy which was welcome after such a long journey.

It was clean, very modern and everything you would expect from this company. We recieved excellent service and the facilities such as the gym, pool and jacauzzi were excellent.

This hotel cannot be beaten on location. It is right on the main square where everything you could possibly want can be accessed.

Oddly there were cooking facilities (a hob and pans) but no fridge. In addition the breakfast isn't worth paying for if you go room only. We'd recommend eating in the Cathedral Cafe instead.

Overall well worth a stay if you like the comfort and professionalism of a prestigious chain.

  • Liked — The huge bed!
  • Disliked — Cooking facilities but no fridge.
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneymooningHippies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Christchurch

Property: Heritage Christchurch
Address: 28 - 30 Cathedral Square, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christchurch is a long way from the Mediterranean - nevertheless, the opulence of an Italian High Renaissance Palazzo awaits you at the Heritage Christchurch. Designed by Joseph Clark Maddison and opened in 1913, the hotel is listed as a category one building on the Historic Places Trust Register, reflecting its status as a building of national significance. The hotel's grand design is fitting: after all, Christchurch is regarded as the Garden City, and is regarded internationally for its culture and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing