We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, excellent location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Christchurch
Ranked #7 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2009

We stayed for a couple of nights in the OGB (Old Government Building). It was very nicely appointed with kitchen and laundry facilities. We had a two bedroom unit that was nicely furnished and spacious. The property is located directly behind the Cathedral so it oculdn't have been more convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1SLOCALOCAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2009

Have just spent 3 nights at the The Heritage and thought the hotel was in a superb position (right beside the Cathedral) to sightsee around central Christchurch. Our room, which I understood to be just a regular room, was very large. It easily accommodated 2 adults and 2 children with an area to sit in as well. The bathroom was also big, but as it was equipped for wheelchair use maybe that's why it was so roomy. Only complaint would be the small TV - too hard to view comfortably in a large room! The room rate included breakfast, a standard buffet, in a heritage building adjacent to the main hotel. This building also housed the gym, indoor pool,spa and sauna. We found the service to be friendly. Room was cleaned well each day. Overall a great hotel with the position being everything!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumluhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Took up Heritage $99 deal for 1 night and got a great sized room for a family of four.
Room was very clean and well equipped. Staff were helpful and pleasant. Location of the hotel is unbeatable, right in the CBD next to the Catherdral. The hotel gym in the building next door was great and Madisons Restaurant served us all a delicious meal, children's menu that thankfully didn't just include nuggets and chips. Would defintely return.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowybear00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

Splashed out for the last night of our honeymoon. Staff had left us a card and chocolates in room as had stated we were on honeymoon when we booked. Suite had full fitted kitchen, dining suite, sofa and a mezzazine level with bedroom, bathroom and dressing room. Great central location although room did not include breakfast and to access the internet it incurred a further cost. The room was also a bit noisy being in the centre of town and the tram running outside. Lovely for a special treat!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshire_fern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

We stayed in the Tower block and were upgraded to a high floor so have rated the room highly since there were no noise issues,the position is great etc. However we felt the hotel is complacently relying on its location and the service was not to the level we have had elsewhere in NZ-in particular the advice from the concierge was minimal/unhelpful and the breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinnLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2009

The Heritage is comprised of two buildings - the hotel and then an old building that now has the spa and restaurants among other things. The hotel service was less than overwhelming. Parking was no where in sight so we just valeted the car. It took a while to be helped at the front desk and then we were given the wrong room. Our room was switched, however, very quickly to the appropriate one. The rooms were nothing special but clean and comfortable. The spa was accessible just across the front courtyard, and I got in quickly for a massage with just a few hours notice. The location was in the heart of the city, Cathedral Square, which put much of the city in walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

Having struggled to find this place, its tucked away in the corner of Cathedral Square behind the cathedral, because my GPS was trying to send me down pedestrian malls I eventually arrived at my destination. The hotel itself is split between two separate buildings that stand adjacent to each other. The Old Government Building looks very grand and houses the restaurant and bar on the ground floor. The other, more modern building, is where you find the main reception and the majority of the rooms are.

I had an executive suite on the 11th floor overlooking the back of the hotel. Set on two floors it featured a lounge and study area, bathroom and utility room downstairs and the bedroom was upstairs. It was all very nicely furnished in a modern style without being too trendy.

The staff were all very friendly and efficient, though the young guy who fetched my car round from the parking lot seemed to take ages. I was only going to put some more fuel in it, but the time it took him I could have driven to the service station, put the fuel in and paid and nearly been back at the hotel!

The breakfasts are superb and I felt spoilt for choice. There was a full continental buffet and a choice of cooked breakfasts too for a very reasonable price.

I only stayed here for one night, which left me no time to explore the area at all, so when I decide to return here I will seriously consider using this as my base. My only hope is I don't get woken early next time by five fire trucks attending a false alarm at an office block at the back of the hotel. The lights and sirens kept going for nearly half an hour.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnonLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,117 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Christchurch
Crowne Plaza Christchurch
#23 of 146 in Christchurch
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Christchurch

Address: 28 - 30 Cathedral Square, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £132 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christchurch is a long way from the Mediterranean - nevertheless, the opulence of an Italian High Renaissance Palazzo awaits you at the Heritage Christchurch. Designed by Joseph Clark Maddison and opened in 1913, the hotel is listed as a category one building on the Historic Places Trust Register, reflecting its status as a building of national significance. The hotel's grand design is fitting: after all, Christchurch is regarded as the Garden City, and is regarded internationally for its culture and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing