We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel, in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Christchurch
Ranked #7 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average hotel, in great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

Staff was friendly, room was clean and tidy. Nice bath products from a local company. Very centrally located. Nice gym.

The sheets on the beds were scratchy, cheap thin pillows, low quality towels in the bathroom, and blurry small TV in the room. No free internet, but this seems to be the norm in NZ.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank braddewhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    194
    75
    12
    13
See reviews for
152
299
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2009

We only stayed on night in Heritage Christchurch but can't wait to return. The location is perfect and the rooms are large for a hotel room. Staff were excellent and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred_Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2009

Loved the 2 br suites in the OGB section. Stayed in Room #8 on the first floor which faced the parking structure so no noise problems. The washer and dryer were new and worked great. Great location and great price.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanClementeMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

The best thing about this hotel is its location -- right on Cathedral Square. Rooms are pretty basic. We had trouble with the heat -- the room was colder than we wanted and the one time we tried to get it fixed the person fiddled with the controls and then told us to "give it time" Nobody called or came to inquire whether we were satisified, (but honestly, we only complained once and then just lived with it). Shower needs upgrade -- minimal water pressure. I would experiment with another hotel next time, although the location and the old wing are positive assets.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotrav0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2009

Couldn't get any better than being in Cathedral Square.. the heart of the city...

Pros:
1. Such a convenient location: central, close to everything... loved how Christchurch is such a walkable city - can walk pretty much anywhere that is worth going to in Christchurch..
2. Large rooms: very clean and comfortable
3. Pretty good value for what you get... great amenities... spa, pool, gym

Cons:
1. No free wireless internet
2. Could be a little loud... late at night on the weekends there was some shouting from people walking by in the square... luckily we hadn't gone to bed yet.. not the most quiet spot...
3. Our shower had a funny smell to it.. didn't know if it was the shower curtain or what... smelled like it was moldy, but we didn't see any visible mold...

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

Christchurch was the last stop on a 12-night trip around "central" NZ. I chose the Heritage based on its location and some solid reviews here. We arrived a little early after driving down from Blenheim but were accommodated straight away, we had booked a very basic room as (again) we were not planning to spend much time in the hotel. We were on the third floor of the main (new) building.

The good: best hotel gym I have encountered in ages, well equipped with weights and a variety of cardio machines. I needed it after 9 days of food and wine in Wellington/Nelson/Marlborough and had two good workouts. The pool looked good too, though I didn't try it. Important tip: you need to pick up a towel from Reception before walking over from the main building. I was alerted to this by our check-in staff and it was much appreciated. Also, the location is fantastic on Cathedral Square, particularly for first time visitors to Christchurch. And we enjoyed a few drinks in the Font Bar, we liked the atmosphere and selection of wines by the glass.

Opportunities for improvement: shower water pressure!!! Just too low, very hard to get the conditioner out.

Otherwise, the king-siz bed was OK but very obviously two singles zipped together (my partner hates ridges). The TV was a bit dated but perfectly functional, and the in-room air conditioning was effective. The buffet breakfast in Maddison's Restaurant was reasonable, I hadn't booked it in my package and I only tried it once while my other half slept in. On the second day we found a cafe elsewhere. The staff were friendly and our pre-booked taxi for the bleary-eyed 3:45am airport trip was ready and waiting.

So, I was happy enough with our stay but I think I would experiment elsewhere on a return trip. For a similar price I felt I got better value at The Bolton in Wellington.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen_1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

Spent a night at the hotel in their Executive suite. No frills hotels so this will be no frills review! Expensive internet. Good working room .. but the bed area is in theelevated area .. almost like s separate room with it own TV .. but the bath is way down the steps in the living area.

Good location .. smack in the middle of Christchurch .. walking distance to restaurants and cafes. Concierge service is non-existent .. I was able to get the bell boy to help me.

Restaurant is in a different building next to the hotel. Good buffet breakfast that starts at 6:00 a.m.. Typical New Zealand service .. young, pleasant staff .. clueless about providing service .. you have to ask for everything that you need and it is provided very efficiently.

Maybe 3 1/2 star for me.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rparkhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
4.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Christchurch

Property: Heritage Christchurch
Address: 28 - 30 Cathedral Square, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christchurch is a long way from the Mediterranean - nevertheless, the opulence of an Italian High Renaissance Palazzo awaits you at the Heritage Christchurch. Designed by Joseph Clark Maddison and opened in 1913, the hotel is listed as a category one building on the Historic Places Trust Register, reflecting its status as a building of national significance. The hotel's grand design is fitting: after all, Christchurch is regarded as the Garden City, and is regarded internationally for its culture and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing