We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel in the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heritage Christchurch
Ranked #7 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2010

The location across from the cathedral couldn't be better. We turned in our car and walked everywhere. The front desk staff were very attentive. Our room was huge (we were given a handicapped-accessible room when our room wasn't ready at check-in) and the fridge just large enough for a small amount of groceries. We wish there had been free internet and a microwave, but you can't get everything.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsquaredNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our New Zealand tour. It is a very comfortable hotel with extremely helpful staff.Although we did not eat at the hotel restaurant it was recommended by local restaurateurs.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisyherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

We stayed in Christchurch at the end of a month long campervan trip - so a hotel stay was long awaited and very much welcome - not that this has coloured our view..

The hotel is based on Cathedral Square - fantastically central for anything you want to do in Christchurch.

The first thing that struck us was the room...it was massive, it had a little kitchen, a bathroom, a separate lounge and a really big bed with a fluffy duvet...a sight for sore eyes after a month without...

Decor was really good, quite modern and really clean - and the room had everything you needed to avoid expensive room service - you could make breakfast, there was an iron as well as the more expensive options of room service etc.

Didnt use the hotel restaurant so can't comment - and there was also a pool and gym too.

A fantastic good value hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

I cannot comment on theh food as we never ate in the hotel but we received a free upgrade to a suite which was wonderful. We were in the old government buildings. Once of the nicest rooms we have ever had. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank BeverleyShillito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

The Heritage is in the perfect location for seeing Christchurch....right in Cathedral Square. The hotel itself is average and comparable to staying in a Holiday Inn in the United States. It was clean and the staff was freindly. We arrived at 9:30 a.m. after traveling for 23 hours from New York and were exhausted. They did let us leave our luggage in a secure location but we couldn't get our room until approx 12:30-1 p.m. so we killed time by touring the Antarctic Museum. Advice: Call ahead for early check-in. I wish I would have. We spent two other nights in a different hotel on the square and Heritage was much cleaner/more pleasant than their competitor, but also much more expensive. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blanca36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Great location and the concierge Richard was very helpful. Room was drab but big and quiet. TV was small and not tuned in properly. Lovely bath products.
What really would put me off ever going back was the very poor service in the restaurant at breakfast - more likely to win Lotto than to get the attention of one of the many waiitng staff standing round chatting so to get a drink took the entire meal. And having waited twenty minutes for the filter coffee it was stewed in a flask,
Will try Hotel So next time

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaraAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

Staff was friendly, room was clean and tidy. Nice bath products from a local company. Very centrally located. Nice gym.

The sheets on the beds were scratchy, cheap thin pillows, low quality towels in the bathroom, and blurry small TV in the room. No free internet, but this seems to be the norm in NZ.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank braddewhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,951 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,373 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#9 of 146 in Christchurch
680 reviews
1.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Christchurch

Address: 28 - 30 Cathedral Square, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £127 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christchurch is a long way from the Mediterranean - nevertheless, the opulence of an Italian High Renaissance Palazzo awaits you at the Heritage Christchurch. Designed by Joseph Clark Maddison and opened in 1913, the hotel is listed as a category one building on the Historic Places Trust Register, reflecting its status as a building of national significance. The hotel's grand design is fitting: after all, Christchurch is regarded as the Garden City, and is regarded internationally for its culture and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing