We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent penthouse. superb views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heritage Christchurch
Ranked #7 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent penthouse. superb views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

we stayed at this hotel twice during february 2010. found that the location is right in the center of christchurch. shopping, restaurants everything is in walking distance

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ketanmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    192
    75
    12
    13
See reviews for
149
293
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

Stayed in the Heritage Hotel in March in the Historic Wing in a 2 bedrm suite. It was on two levels with full kitchen/lounge and 2 bedrms upstairs. It was beautiful, the most comfortable beds on the trip. Just loved this hotel with its beautiful staircase, ornate ceilings and being an old bank the toilets were old bank vaults. The bar downstairs was a cozy place to relax at end of day and look over Heritage Square. Staff were excellent. I also looked at the rooms in the modern part of the hotel and they were quite good if you like modern rooms however I definately like the older style. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ausloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

In Christchurch, a lot of the action is centered around Cathedral Square, and the Heritage is ideally situated on the quiet side of the square. I stayed in the new part of the hotel, which was kind of character-free, but comfortable and quiet. I found the room to be quite cold and couldn't manage to adjust the controls so that the heat was on.

The staff was helpful with arranging shuttles, etc. and found that there is a lovely hotel bar over in the older building, which has a separate entrance. I'd recommend the hotel because the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingSusan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

Having enjoyed our stay a couple of years ago we opted to stay here again during our NZ holiday and we were not dissapointed. On arriving it was nice to be greeted as returning guests and even nicer to be given an upgrade to a suite in the old building which was larger than our flat back home. It had a large ground floor with seating area, dinning area and well equipt kitchen. The bedroom and bathroom were contained on a mezzanine floor which was spacious with ample storage space. The bathroom housed a very useful washer/dryer. Oh how we wished we could have stayed longer. The soft furnishings were luxurious.
The location is right in cathedral square which is really convenient for enjoying the great eateries of Christchurch however it could be a bit noisy but as the sleeping area was on the mezzanine floor it was not really a problem. The old building has been sympathetically restored with the original stairs, doorways, huge vault doors and tiles retained. Will certainly stay here again if we are lucky enough to make it back to Christchurch.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_S-WalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Lake
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

The location is the best feature of this hotel as it is right at Cathedral Square but still tucked away to the side, so it's not a loud location. From there we could walk or catch a bus or tram to anywhere in the city. The hotel is modern, quiet, affordable and staff is friendly. Can't say anything negative about the Heritage. We just used it to sleep 2 nights, so can't say much about any other amenities.
There was so much to do in Christchurch with lots of good restaurants.
We would stay there again anytime!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dutti57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

OK for one-night stay to look around Christchurch centre.
Braekfast OK too.
Paid for a high room with view but not much of a view really.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1plato23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

This hotel is in a great location. It's quiet and was everything we needed for 1 day stay. We stayed in the modern part of the building. The original building is next door and has a pool at the bottom. They did a nice job redecorating the rooms. On the down side, for the price we paid I expected a room not looking over the car-park, but we did have 2 giant beds, the soap and bath salts were fantastic and the staff checked us in at midnight, so we were happy.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asap77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
4.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Christchurch

Property: Heritage Christchurch
Address: 28 - 30 Cathedral Square, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christchurch is a long way from the Mediterranean - nevertheless, the opulence of an Italian High Renaissance Palazzo awaits you at the Heritage Christchurch. Designed by Joseph Clark Maddison and opened in 1913, the hotel is listed as a category one building on the Historic Places Trust Register, reflecting its status as a building of national significance. The hotel's grand design is fitting: after all, Christchurch is regarded as the Garden City, and is regarded internationally for its culture and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and TravelUp so you can book your Heritage Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing