We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritage Christchurch
Ranked #7 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Stayed at the Heritage Christchurch in New Zealand in the summer. We stayed at one of the top floors and had an amazing view. The staff were very friendly, and the rooms very clean and tidy. The mini bar was quite expensive , and I thought the food was also very expensive, but delicious. Good location for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cokemannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2010

We stayed in a two bedroom suite in the older building, the room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. The worst part of the stay was that we had trouble sleeping at night. As the building is so old you can hear everything that is happening outside as if it was in your room as well as all the stomping and door slamming happening in the rooms above you. The breakfast and dinner in the onsite restaurant were fine but I wouldn’t go there again as there are much better priced and tastier options available nearby. Most of the staff were pleasant and helpful except for the very rude night receptionist.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
Thank cupcakena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageHotelsNZ, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2010

Dear cupcakena,
Thanks for sharing your comments – I would like to apologise for the service you received and will be addressing it with the entire team as well as the night receptionists individually. I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back to Heritage Christchurch in the future, just let us know if you would like a higher floor room in the Old Government Building and we will do our best to accommodate your request.

Kind regards,
Gary Jarvis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We staying in a suite in the old government building section of the hotel and loved the interesting architecture. Rooms are a little cold as they are such a big space with only a little heater but were comfortable enough.

Didn't really see any hotel staff except when we checked in and out.

The location is just exceptional - right on Cathedral Square within walking distance of everything and with trams running from right outside.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynS_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Stayed here for one day & night resting up after long journey from California. We got a suite with the bedroom upstairs so one could rest while other watched TV or read. Was a great room with a kitchen, They allowed us early check-in at about 9:30 a.m.

Very quiet, clean and super nice room. We were in the older, historic part of the hotel. Great location downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimcelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

My husband and I booked a one bedroom suite at this hotel which included breakfast.The suite was unusual but very comfortable and had excellent kitchen and laundery facilities.The bed was huge and extremely comfortable.We also had two bathrooms one upstairs and the other downstairs they were spotless and airy.
The breakfast was good plenty of hot food stuffs but I would have liked a better variety of fresh fruits.
The hotel is in the centre of Christchurch and so handy to everything.There is a market in the square each day and it is definitely worth a visit.There is a great variety of items which would make fantastic gifts for yourself or to bring home.
The Art Gallery and local garden is worth a visit and only 15 minutes walk from the hotel.
We were in Chrischurch in April and the evenings were very cool so make sure and pack a warm coat.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theshannons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We live in Auckland and went for a 3 night stay in Christchurch.
We aim for hotels that are located in cities but yet offer a good quiet nights rest in a clean and comfortable environment. The Heritage in Christchurch fulfilled our expectations and the staff were friendly and helpful. We did ask for a quiet room and it is one of the most quiet hotel rooms that we have ever stayed in. Even the air conditioning system was very quiet. We travel quite often and appreciate that the room we had was good. Breakfast was sufficient but not a sumptous feast. To be fair, the hotel never claimed that it was a five star palace in Asia where they really go full on with the breakfasts.
We are very pleased with what we got for the amount we paid for. Notice that there are 2 wings to the hotel and we stayed in the newer tower which we chose because we preferred a newer style room. Bathroom was large with a shower-in-bath type arrangement. The soap, shampoo type amenities were of a good quality.
Hotel is very well located if you want to be in the city and there is this absolutely fantastic French restaurant called St Germain around the corner about 5 mins walk.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank petitmonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageHotelsNZ, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2010

Dear Petitmonde-

Thanks for sharing your kind comments with us. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and have shared your remarks with the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Heritage and CityLife Hotels again soon!

Kindest Regards,
Gary Jarvis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We booked an Executive suite that was a split level room. The lounge had no windows or outlook, the bedroom was up a half level and looked straight into the side of the hotel with two small windows. Avoid room 1113 at all costs.
We have previously had a suite at the Millenium next door, it was 100 times better.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildcatNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,984 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,391 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#9 of 146 in Christchurch
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Christchurch

Address: 28 - 30 Cathedral Square, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £136 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christchurch is a long way from the Mediterranean - nevertheless, the opulence of an Italian High Renaissance Palazzo awaits you at the Heritage Christchurch. Designed by Joseph Clark Maddison and opened in 1913, the hotel is listed as a category one building on the Historic Places Trust Register, reflecting its status as a building of national significance. The hotel's grand design is fitting: after all, Christchurch is regarded as the Garden City, and is regarded internationally for its culture and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing