We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth spending the extra if you can afford it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Christchurch
Ranked #7 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire, Englang
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“worth spending the extra if you can afford it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

My family and I spent the last few days of our trip to NZ in this hotel. We had a two bedroom apartment which was very well fitted out (two bathrooms, washer/dryer, full kitchen etc) although the decor was a little tired and a lick of fresh paint in our rooms wouldn't have gone amiss.

The actual hotel is an old government building and it is beautiful - there is a small swimming pool, gym and spa so everything you could need really.

Location is A1 - smack bang in the centre of the city and within walking distance to everything. Staff at the hotel were attentive and helpful and we are glad we chose to end our trip here.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellsknipe356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    194
    75
    12
    13
See reviews for
152
299
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We spent two nights in the OGB apartment. Very nice room in the wonderful old building. We were treated to a nice suprise treat - a plate of yummy nibbles for our 10 year wedding anniversary, room very nice, staff freindly. We loved our time in the Heritage in Christchurch.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Qld. Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

Just back from a short trip to Christchurch, we had some unfinished business from our family trip to NZ in Jan/Feb this year, we still hadn't been able to do the Up,Up and away hot air ballooning adventure so we returned hoping to be able to do it this time and we managed to get the right weather on our final morning this trip. hooray!!!

The Heritage hotel is lovely, the reception staff are very professional and pleasant, the rooms are spotless and roomy and the hotel is in a perfect location right in Cathedral Square central to the city.

The restaurant Maddisons which is part of the hotel offer a buffet breakfast for 2 for $29 very good value and the staff there are very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fay029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murwillumbah, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

We spent three nights at The Heritage, Christchurch and were very impressed. We opted for the Penthouse Studio and loved it. Large room with "lounge area". Great size bathroom, although shower was a bit small. The room was very clean. Had a large verandah with views over the cathedral. Only thing missing was a table and chairs outside.

The front desk staff were very helpful, booking emergency dentist appointments for my partner, and researching information for us when we could not. Free wifi in the room would have been nice, but we survived with 30mins free wifi in the lobby each morning.

Buffet breakfast was great value with a two for one offer. Loved the Tram Restaurant if you get the chance and the Botanic Gardens.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stayed only for one night at the Heritage Christchurch about 2 weeks after the earthquake hit the city. The hotel withstood the earthquake quite well and only in the hallways here and there you can see some damage to the walls.

We stayed in the newer building (not the heritage old government building) and our stay was comfortable, although the hotel itself was nothing out of the ordinary for a 4 star hotel. What was nice was the access to the health club with swimming pool in the old government building wing of the hotel and the hotel is located opposite the cathedral, on cathedral square which is obviously prime location when in Christchurch.

Plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance and the beds were comfortable and room warm. Room had own tea/coffee making facilities and mini-bar, although did not have a lot of tv channels to watch. Bathroom was a decent size with shower/bath combination and big vanity benchtop.

Will stay again - nothing extraordinary but good comfort at a decent price and very well located.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expl0rergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

We spent the last night of our honeymoon in the Heritage Hotel and what a way to finish! We had one of the executive rooms, in the old government buildings, which was over 2 floors and we were given two welcoming platters, one of cakes and one of fruit which was a lovely touch, and well needed after our long journey in the camper.

It seems as though they allow smoking in the rooms as ours did smell a bit of stale cigarettes, but it wasn't overpowering, just unexpected, the room was immaculately clean though and incredibly spacious.

We also booked a massage for the afternoon as it was pouring outside and we didn't really fancy sightseeing in the rain. The massage was fantastic, and just what we needed after 3 weeks of hiking, bungee jumping, skydiving etc, it was quite pricey, but I guess that's what you'd expect from a hotel of this calibre.

We popped into the bar for a drink before going out for dinner, and I'd probably say this was the worst aspect of the hotel, only because the girl behind the bar wasn't particularly friendly, unusual for NZ! But the bar itself was lovely, albeit very quiet!

The location is also great, very central, and easy to get to all the good restaurants.

It was Anzac day on the day we were due to leave so we were woken up incredibly early, we had been warned about this though and didn't really mind, it was a great opportunity to watch the parades and also the sunrise, which from this hotel looked amazing!

All in all, a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wirlygig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

We rented a 2 bedroom apartment in the old State Building and the 1st room they gave us was shadowed by the parking garage. Nice but not worth the price. Luckily, they did move us to a front room facing the plaza and church. The room was very nice with a large dining table and an open 2 story living room with large windows. The bathrooms were well supplied, high quality bed linens & all the kitchen items we needed. The walk to the botanical gardens was pleasant and well worth it. Our friend had a room on the 11th floor of the modern tower, okay room but nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
4.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Christchurch

Property: Heritage Christchurch
Address: 28 - 30 Cathedral Square, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christchurch is a long way from the Mediterranean - nevertheless, the opulence of an Italian High Renaissance Palazzo awaits you at the Heritage Christchurch. Designed by Joseph Clark Maddison and opened in 1913, the hotel is listed as a category one building on the Historic Places Trust Register, reflecting its status as a building of national significance. The hotel's grand design is fitting: after all, Christchurch is regarded as the Garden City, and is regarded internationally for its culture and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing