We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best room on tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Cotswold
Ranked #55 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best room on tour”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed here on the 29th January 2012 for one night after touring North and South Island
on a coach tour. The hotel was a Tudor style and I would say the room we stayed in was
large and had a separate bedroom and a more than adequate bathroom. It may have been Tudor style but had been updated with 2 flatscreen TVs.
The set meal in the evening was of good quality and the choice at breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marrowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience during your stay.
I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to welcome you again in Christchurch.

Kind regards

Patrick Moittie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    136
    92
    25
    16
See reviews for
53
147
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

twin bed suite very clean and spacious lovely restaraunt friendly bar stayed 1 night at the beginning of a 9 day south island tour and stayed for 4 nights at the end. The tour guide left on the 10th night and thats when things went south reception were next to useless when asked about anything..I had some trips booked no one knew the pick up time , asked where the pool was same answer finally a young student who was doing work experience showed me.Things then went further down hill my door key kept on turning and turning, back to reception. I was spoken to like an idiot stood there dripping wet she sent 3 different people up to try the door eventually she went herself then decided to call maintainence Me still dripping wet and getting colder and angrier.by the minute kept asking to get in my room after the maintainance man had opened it and condemmed it and called out a locksmith cant she kept saying by this time I had lost it and demanded threatening to sue she finally agreed on condition this young man who had been helpful was told to accompany while I got changed poor lad was as embaressed as me It took nearly 3 hrs to get sorted no appology from the mrs jobsworth.

Room Tip: only 2 floors request ground floor away from the road THE HOTEL IS IN THE SHAKE AREA near the canter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papsyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Madam,

Please let me apologise for the poor service and lack of empathy that you received when you stayed at our property.
I can assure you that your comments are taken seriously and action has been taken as a result. I did investigate personally with the Front office staff involved and have dealt with them accordingly.
Regarding the location of the hotel, we are not in the centre of town where the cathedral is located. Our hotel is the west side of town and has been professionally assessed as completely structurally safe and sound.
I do hope that you will visit New Zealand and Christchurch again.
Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. While it is probably a bit old-fashioned, the service was excellent, the restaurant pleasant and breakfast plentiful and varied.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Hello Joan,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at the Heartland Cotswold.
I'm pleased to read that your enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you again in Christchurch.

Kind regards

Patrick Moittie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twizel
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Right now in Christchurch travellers have limited options, the citiy's accommodation chokka with contractors and EQC staff due to the Earthquakes. With the majority of central city hotels closed, this is one of the few options with a restaurant. The rooms and restaurant are tired, the whole place needs to be updated but how this could be achieved given the architecture. The front desk staff are fantastic, couldnt be more helpful. Beds are comfy and rooms clean. Off street parking and away from the traffic noise, no problem having a decent sleep for me. Relative to other hotels/motels in other parts of NZ, this would be a very average option. Currently in Christchurch, its a good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Highlander65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Skip this one if you can. Boring hotel and weird rooms. They are spacious but furniture is terribly old. We were here only for a night and we were happy about that. No wifi either

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DetectiveMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Cons: Ok...its a little dated... but thats it.
Pro's: The most comfy bed I've ever slept in! Units are very clean, beautiful complimentary toiletries, a welcome note with chocolates.... this hotel is operated by people who work very hard to make your stay enjoyable and you got the feeling that they really cared and they work their business well. You tend not to notice how dated the complex is, as the service and staff make you feel very welcome

I would stay here again with confidence

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Rooms are very clean and spacious with living room and kitchenette, You can park your car just outside your Suite. The decor of Suite has an old charm to it. Rooms are really comfortable. Staff is very hospitable and welcoming. Room rates are very reasonable. We absolutely had no complains! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this property.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharuDawar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Elms
Quality Hotel Elms
#35 of 144 in Christchurch
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#64 of 144 in Christchurch
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#39 of 144 in Christchurch
132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#31 of 144 in Christchurch
100 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#127 of 144 in Christchurch
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Cotswold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Cotswold

Property: Heartland Hotel Cotswold
Address: 88-96 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Cotswold 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heartland Hotel Cotswold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing