We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Cotswold
Ranked #55 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff!”
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

While the Heartland Cotswold is not new, it's staff made up for any shortcomings. Our room was spacious and clean, and unlike other hotels during our travels, they have fitted sheets! This is much appreciated, as most of us have them at home and notice the difference when they are not provided by the hotel.
The staff was great--an e-mail before we arrived confirmed that they were on the route for the Transalpine train bus pickup;
Upon our arrival Ian confirmed that for us, found my husband some Scotch, gave us neighborhood restaurant recommendations, all of which were excellent, and helped us with our luggage.
The other staff members, from front desk to housekeeping, were gracious and helpful.
This is not a 5-star resort, but we could not have asked for better service.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JARPHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear JARPHX,

Thank you for taking the time to praise our staff.
Our rooms are spacious and clean but as you have mentionned , none of this matter without the friendliness and efficiency of the staff.

Once again, thank you and we hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    135
    92
    25
    16
See reviews for
53
147
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Putrajaya, MALAYSIA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

As I was not familiar with Christchurch area, I have googled the internet and saw the offer given by Heartland Costwold., though was skeptical a bit since ".... look can be deceiving, yeah?? ..."

But voila ...when I arrived at the hotel late in the evening, I was pleasantly suprised with the picture-perfect setting of the hotel ..I was soooooo very happy with my choice and when I went to checked in, the officer was very chirpy and ever-so-helpful (I forgot to ask his name, though)...

It took less than 10 minutes for me to get my keys and to go arpund the compund and take pictures ....lots and lots of pictures ....heh heh....!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NizamMokhtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Nizam Mokhtar,

Thank you for your locely comments about the look of the property and the friendliness and efficiency of our staff.
We take a lot of pride in our award winning garden and all year long it's a feast for the eyes.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome again.
Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This is a neat Cotswold-style hotel located out of the downtown district of Christchurch which was so devastated by the earthquakes. Arrival and departure were fine but whoever looked after room arrangements made a serious error in judgement. The booking for this hotel made made by our fabulous CAA travel agent and we will alert her to the fact that the room was in a terrible location. We were between either a construction business or worksite on one side and housekeeping on the other, where the supervisor arrived around 6:45 am to get housekeeping carts ready for staff. After a long day or travel, we would have liked to sleep a bit later than 6:45! The beds were a bit too soft for a comfortable sleep but the noise factor made this stay one we would not like anyone else to experience.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms 900-912 as these are located between a construction site and housekeeping which s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1964Joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear 1964 Joan,

Please accpet my apologies for the bad night sleep that you've experienced.
Our hotel is located within a residential area and unfortunately some damaged houses are getting repaired.
I will follow up with the laundry company about their delivery as that is unacceptable. Our housekeeping department starts later in the morning.

Once again, I wish to apologise for the inconvenience and I hope that you kept a favorable memory of Christchurch.

Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Arrived to find we had been allocated room on roadside. Asked if we could be moved as the traffic noise would have bothered us. Reception was accommodating and moved us to the middle of their complex. Room overall was adequate but just lacks that pizazz that it probably heralded in its hey-day. Can't fault the cleanliness. The rooms themselves could be done with a makeover. Furniture might have been replaced a year ago but it really has the feel of a motel rather than a hotel. The bed was awful to be honest. It felt like a million people had slept on it as it had two firm indentations on where people had laid with a raised ridge going through the middle. Not our best night sleep we have had. Even the bed linen was so stiff and starchy that every time we moved it sounded like we were zipping up a canvas tent. Location is ideal for tourists who are wanting to see around the city of Christchurch. It puts you pretty much within walking distance to the city centre (well what is left of it). You are handy to amenities in the likes of Merivale and further up the road Northlands Mall.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HY-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear HY-5

Thank you for your comments about the cleanliness of our rooms and we always try to accommodate all our guests requests.
I'm sorry about the linen and I will follow up with our laundry.

Once again my sincere apologies for the inconvenience and I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.
Thank you

Kind regards
Patrick Moittie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I stayed in this hotel a number of times when travelling for work. The rooms are nice enough, clean and comfortable, and the hotel is in a good location on Papanui Road. The winner in this place though is the Tudors Restaurant. The atmosphere is relaxed and the food has been amazing every time, even when I ordered room service. I've been back here numerous times with my husband and more recently with friends for dinner and the food was outstanding as always.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyCurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear LesleyCurry

Thank you very much for your comments about the hotel and more importantly for your comments about the restaurant.
Often restaurants within an hotel are forgotten, so thank you for highlighting ours.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome again in the near future.
Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Stayed here on two separate nights in January. Nice location and both bedrooms were comfortable; breakfast was fine. The property boasts a sort of mock Tudor look which is OK from the outside but the internal decor in both the bedrooms and the common areas just looks dated. Time for an upgrade methinks. Also this hotel (along with most others we stayed at in NZ) charges for internet access which these days really should be included in the base price.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davethewasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear Davethewasp,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel and its style.
Our dark room furniture unfortunately gives sometimes to some people a feel of 'old ' but our rooms and furniture have been refurbished about a year ago.
As you mentioned most hotel in NZ do not include the internet in their base rate as quite a few guests still not using it.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome again
Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Nice location, restaurant on site, our room was quite large with a separate bedroom. The bad; chair and sofa had lost their spring so you feel as if you are sitting on the floor, no microwave in the room, wifi is an extra charge (more for each additional device). Breakfast is extra charge, but available.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Hello John K,

Thank you for sharing your point of view.
Our normal hotel rooms do not have a microwave, only our Self Contained Units do.
I'm sorry for the inconvenience and I do hope that you would have kept a good memory of the hotel and Christchurch.
Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Elms
Quality Hotel Elms
#35 of 144 in Christchurch
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#64 of 144 in Christchurch
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#39 of 144 in Christchurch
132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#31 of 144 in Christchurch
100 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#127 of 144 in Christchurch
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Cotswold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Cotswold

Property: Heartland Hotel Cotswold
Address: 88-96 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Cotswold 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heartland Hotel Cotswold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing