We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convinient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Cotswold
Ranked #58 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed here in February 2013. The rooms/suites had plenty of space and were comfortable and clean. Staff were helpful and friendly. No net curtains, lacking privacy.
Restaurant was very good, excellent menu choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Dear Miro P,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to read that you enjoyed our restaurant, spacious rooms and that our staff provided you with helpuf and friendly service.

We look forward to welcome again
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

I read the traveller reviews before leaving home and was a little concerned. The hotel is strung out through several courtyards. Watch you footing. I presume the large cobble blocks have shifted with earthquake activity. The unit was large with separate bathroom, lounge and bedroom. The bed was comfortable and all was very clean. But i do wish, (as others have said) that they would add a little colour to the unit in the form of bright cushions and some paintings. For independent sightseeing the Heartland is well situated on a busy road, within walking distance of good restaurants and cafes and has a bus stop right outside to get you into the central city. We only stayed overnight before moving on and found it adequate in the basics. Staff were helpful and polite.

Room Tip: We had ground floor at the back of the complex. There was some activity overhead, but it didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Dear Lyn 134

Thank you for sharing your experience and your positive contribution and comments are appreciated.
As you have mentioned the Costwold is located at walking distance of Merivale, Hagley Park and on the bus route to other attractions.
The parking area will be redone and the cobbles adjusted to a tighter fit.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards

Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Did an overnight stay at the weekend and again pretty good. Reception staff excellent - we even got our room early. Room spacious, tidy and actually had a good nights sleep - are the beds new?
One gripe (only minor) is the parking can be a real pain.
Good place to stay in farily quiet location

Room Tip: Probably an upstairs room to avoid kids running along corridors above your head
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Westagain,

Thank you for your comments and I'm pleased to read that our front office staff looked after you and that we could give you an early check in.
Parking at times can be tricky and I'm sorry about that.
We are in the process to have the parking area refurbished with proper parking spots.

Once again, thank you for your positive comments and we hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

While the Heartland Cotswold is not new, it's staff made up for any shortcomings. Our room was spacious and clean, and unlike other hotels during our travels, they have fitted sheets! This is much appreciated, as most of us have them at home and notice the difference when they are not provided by the hotel.
The staff was great--an e-mail before we arrived confirmed that they were on the route for the Transalpine train bus pickup;
Upon our arrival Ian confirmed that for us, found my husband some Scotch, gave us neighborhood restaurant recommendations, all of which were excellent, and helped us with our luggage.
The other staff members, from front desk to housekeeping, were gracious and helpful.
This is not a 5-star resort, but we could not have asked for better service.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JARPHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear JARPHX,

Thank you for taking the time to praise our staff.
Our rooms are spacious and clean but as you have mentionned , none of this matter without the friendliness and efficiency of the staff.

Once again, thank you and we hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

As I was not familiar with Christchurch area, I have googled the internet and saw the offer given by Heartland Costwold., though was skeptical a bit since ".... look can be deceiving, yeah?? ..."

But voila ...when I arrived at the hotel late in the evening, I was pleasantly suprised with the picture-perfect setting of the hotel ..I was soooooo very happy with my choice and when I went to checked in, the officer was very chirpy and ever-so-helpful (I forgot to ask his name, though)...

It took less than 10 minutes for me to get my keys and to go arpund the compund and take pictures ....lots and lots of pictures ....heh heh....!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NizamMokhtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Nizam Mokhtar,

Thank you for your locely comments about the look of the property and the friendliness and efficiency of our staff.
We take a lot of pride in our award winning garden and all year long it's a feast for the eyes.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome again.
Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This is a neat Cotswold-style hotel located out of the downtown district of Christchurch which was so devastated by the earthquakes. Arrival and departure were fine but whoever looked after room arrangements made a serious error in judgement. The booking for this hotel made made by our fabulous CAA travel agent and we will alert her to the fact that the room was in a terrible location. We were between either a construction business or worksite on one side and housekeeping on the other, where the supervisor arrived around 6:45 am to get housekeeping carts ready for staff. After a long day or travel, we would have liked to sleep a bit later than 6:45! The beds were a bit too soft for a comfortable sleep but the noise factor made this stay one we would not like anyone else to experience.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms 900-912 as these are located between a construction site and housekeeping which s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1964Joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Dear 1964 Joan,

Please accpet my apologies for the bad night sleep that you've experienced.
Our hotel is located within a residential area and unfortunately some damaged houses are getting repaired.
I will follow up with the laundry company about their delivery as that is unacceptable. Our housekeeping department starts later in the morning.

Once again, I wish to apologise for the inconvenience and I hope that you kept a favorable memory of Christchurch.

Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Arrived to find we had been allocated room on roadside. Asked if we could be moved as the traffic noise would have bothered us. Reception was accommodating and moved us to the middle of their complex. Room overall was adequate but just lacks that pizazz that it probably heralded in its hey-day. Can't fault the cleanliness. The rooms themselves could be done with a makeover. Furniture might have been replaced a year ago but it really has the feel of a motel rather than a hotel. The bed was awful to be honest. It felt like a million people had slept on it as it had two firm indentations on where people had laid with a raised ridge going through the middle. Not our best night sleep we have had. Even the bed linen was so stiff and starchy that every time we moved it sounded like we were zipping up a canvas tent. Location is ideal for tourists who are wanting to see around the city of Christchurch. It puts you pretty much within walking distance to the city centre (well what is left of it). You are handy to amenities in the likes of Merivale and further up the road Northlands Mall.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HY-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Dear HY-5

Thank you for your comments about the cleanliness of our rooms and we always try to accommodate all our guests requests.
I'm sorry about the linen and I will follow up with our laundry.

Once again my sincere apologies for the inconvenience and I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.
Thank you

Kind regards
Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
635 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#34 of 146 in Christchurch
394 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Elms
Quality Hotel Elms
#35 of 146 in Christchurch
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#42 of 146 in Christchurch
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Cotswold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Cotswold

Address: 88-96 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £75 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Cotswold 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heartland Hotel Cotswold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing