We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tudor theme reasonably close to the city ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Cotswold
Ranked #54 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Tudor theme reasonably close to the city ...”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed twice as part of a Grand Pacific Tour. We booked an additional night at the start as we had a midnight arrival, yet were still greeted warmly and helped with our luggage to an upstairs room. The motel outside and inside has a Tudor theme, even to the courtyard and gardens and our room was spacious and comfortable, 2 bedrooms, TV's in all rooms, lounge and dining room suites ... bathroom clean and a reasonable size. Staying 2 nights it was good to have the beds made and fresh towels put out. Our room for our second stay was a disappointment, downstairs, small and not even anywhere to hang any clothes ... this did not bother us except that we had wet jackets, but would be of concern for anyone staying longer than overnight. The evening meals and buffet breakfasts were very good with good service and the reception staff helpful and friendly. The motel is a pleasant walk to Christchurch itself and there is also a bus stop outside the motel. I am doing my ratings taking into account our 2 stays.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Ann W

Thank you for sharing your experience at Heartland Hotel Cotswold on Tripadvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your first stay in the hotel during your tour with Grand Pacific Tours. I agree we have a friendly team and fortunate that we are located within a very easy flat walk to the city.

Kind Regards Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    134
    90
    25
    15
See reviews for
52
146
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We spent a wonderful 3 days at the Heartland Hotel Cotswold.
It was in a nice, central location, and we walked into town and to the park.
Our room was spacious, warm, cosy and clean.
The cleaners were friendly and efficient. All the other staff were also very friendly and helpful.
We made full use of the restaurant. The dinners were delicious. But a highlight was the buffet breakfasts. Absolutely scrumptious.
We very much enjoyed our stay at the Heartland Hotel Cotswold, and would definitely recommend it to anyone travelling to Christchurch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BridgetPirie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Bridget

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that my team left a lasting impression.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

What a wonderful hotel, so friendly. Clean, tidy and could not wish for more. After my long flight I was looking for a well deserved place to rest and here I was not disappointed. Recommend this to anyone. Thank you to all staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear ozman1

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Heartland Hotel Cotswold and that my team left a memorable impression.

Kind Regards Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London ontario
Level Contributor
177 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I would first like to say the theme presented by the hotel is good the English Theme is very good. The two rooms that I had were completely different the studio room was modern and well maintained like a suite in a name brand hotel. the single room on the second floor was somewhat of a disappointment with stained carpets and a filthy bathroom curtain that hid a very noisy exhaust fan. I bar fridge in a cabinet was noisy enough to wake the dead when it kicked in every hour. On thee other hand the studio room was modern clean and very well presented but maintain hotels rustic English theme. Modern bathroom fixtures and well maintained furniture. The hotel represents good value

Room Tip: Choose the studio room and a main floor as upper rooms appear to not have been upgraded for a long w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atravelingsingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear atravelingsingle

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I appreciate the feedback and have addressed the maintenance issues..... I really hope you had an enjoyable stay in New Zealand.

Kind Regards Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

It's a motel on a motel row. It does have an inner court yard and, making it a little nicer, all the buildings have Tudor facing. The room was very large and comfortable. Only the full buffet breakfast was available, not the toast and coffee we would have preferred.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webaccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear webaccount

Thank you for placing feedback on Tripadvisor. The courtyard does have a nice feel especially when the roses are in full bloom.

I trust you had an enjoyable stay in New Zealand.

Kind Regards Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I can't say that I have stayed at this hotel but I have used the bar and it is well tended and reasonably well stocked. If you need a quiet place to meet friends or business acquaintances then you can be sure of privacy at the Earl of Essex bar.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GallopingGourmet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear GallopingGourmet51

Thank you for sharing your experience in Earl of Essex Bar on Tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to welcome locals and guests not residing in the hotel to our Bar.

I hope we can entice you back into the bar and hopefully into Tudors on Papanui Restaurant during your next visit to Heartland Hotel Cotswold.

Kind Regards Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We were meeting a tour company an they recommended this hotel to us customers who were adding on a day or two. I would not make this recommendation as the rooms are very dated for the price. The staff was ever so helpful so that was nice but I think some renovations and a little TLC is needed at this hotel. Again, the location is great and you can do a whole walking tour of the city but there are loads of other hotels with just as nice of locations that might now be so run down.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travels4849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear travels4849

Thank you for placing your feedback on Tripadvisor. I have shared you comments with my team in regards to their friendliness and agree we are in a good location.

Kind Regards Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#38 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#24 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Cotswold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Cotswold

Property: Heartland Hotel Cotswold
Address: 88-96 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Cotswold 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heartland Hotel Cotswold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing