We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Cotswold
Ranked #67 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stopped here twice recently. Rooms spacious, clean and comfortable if not a little austere. Could have done with second mirror in living or bed room. A few paintings or decor to brighten up dark finish would help. Fold out stand for bags would help as existing built in one doesn't enable bags to open back. A little far from the central area but that is understandable given the situation in CBD. Overall, a nice hotel - just some minor issues.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJF44a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear richmojp

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Your comments are much appreciated.

I hope we can accommodate you a third time when you are next in New Zealand.

Kind Regards Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

My family and I spent six nights here in a two bedroom suite. Overall we were happy with the rooms which are a little dated and the decor is very sparse (no cushions on the sofa, pics on the wall etc) but it was clean and warm.

Every morning around 6.30am a large truck would back up in the alley between two wings of rooms and it sounds like to was collecting rubbish as their was alot of banging and crashing. It was noisy (the reversing horn) and woke me up every morning which was really disappointing.

The staff in the restaurant were super friendly and welcoming - a credit to the hotel. However I was disappointed on the last day with the rudeness of the front desk gentleman to a lady who was inquiring as to problems with the internet. We had also been unable to get WIFI for several days and when I rang the 0800 number that the hotel provided, I was advised that there was a piece of equipment waiting to be installed that should fix the problem. The front desk person advised her it wasn't his problem because it is run by a separate company. He was rude and dismissive infront of my young children and other guests. He accused her of raising her voice to him which is so far from the truth, I just had to walk away. A disappointing end to our stay and most unprofessional.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear BBsFamily

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. Firstly I would like to apologise for the issues you faced with the internet and also for the truck noise each morning.

I have personally addressed the issue with the front desk staff member, as this attitude is certainly not the norm at Heartland Hotel Cotswold.

I hope we can accommodate you again next time you are in "The Garden City."

Kind Regards Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed in the motel rooms, which the decor is pretty out-dated but it didn't worry us as it was a standard room. The bed didn't have enough bedding on it and we were cold. The shower head is too low, which is always annoying.
A bit over priced for the room, but it was very close to Merivale restaurants and shopping etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sperriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Sperriam

Thank you for placing your comments on Tripadvisor. Your feedback on the motel units is much appreciated.

Kind Regards Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

The rooms were spacious and comfy, could do with a picture on the walls to personalise it a little. Great location. Only downside was that a bus tour came in late and there was a lot if noise until about 12 midnight. But we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Pauline T

Thank you for you feedback on Tripadvisor. I agree our location is excellent and our rooms are large and spacious.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again....

Kind Regards Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed three nights--although due to the airline, one of those started at 4am. In any case, the staff were gracious and helpful and assisted us in rearranging our itinerary and even stored our bags while we traveled for a few days. We had dinner in the room and loved it. Service was slow the second night, but they warned us of that when we called to order. The grumpy one made a fuss, anyways and the manager gave us a great boxed breakfast the next morning. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Krystinka

Thank you for your comments from your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Cotswold.... I am glad you enjoyed your stay and my team looked after you.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Situated about 20mins walk from the CBD. Usual amenities that can be expected from the Scenic Hotel Group, clean and comfortable, though try and avoid the ground floor rooms in the 900 sequence as they are near to the Housekeeping area where noisy work starts around 07:00!
On site free parking plus usual 1hr free wifi in 24hrs.
10 min walk down Papanui Rd leads to reasonably priced Thai restaurant that does excellent food, also available as takeaway.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garethannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear garethannette

Thank you for placing recent feedback on Tripadvisor in regards to your stay at Heartland Hotel Cotswold....I agree the hotel is in an excellent location within walking distance to the CBD and at the doorstep of Merivale shopping and dining precinct.

I hope we can welcome you back to Christchurch in the future.

Kind Regards Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here two nights, when we arrived and left the South Island. The hotel is wonderful and gives you a bit of English theme, especially the couryard.

Room is clean and comfortable, but rooms in the back are more quiet than those close to the reception building which could be disturbing when people coming in or leaving very early in the morning.

We loved the food in the restaurant especially the beef.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwcng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear kwcng

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a very pleasant dining experience... I have passed your comments onto my team.

Kind Regards Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
709 reviews
1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#41 of 146 in Christchurch
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,116 reviews
1.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
288 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#35 of 146 in Christchurch
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Cotswold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Cotswold

Address: 88-96 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £75 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Cotswold 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Heartland Hotel Cotswold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing