We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and quite central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Cotswold
Ranked #64 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Stayed at the hotel with a group. Very courteous staff and comfortable room. Hearty breakfast available in the mornings, and a quiet location. Short walk from the Casino and central Christchurch. Would recommend this hotel to those looking for an overnight stay, or those staying a couple of days sightseeing in the Christchurch area.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripMember073020151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2007

We stayed for 2 nights at the cotswold hotel, reception at checking in was helpfull and friendly, our motor inn unit was upstairs.It was a very warm unit but very big/spacious.The furniture was very old and the carpet was very stained.but the kitchen/sink/shower/toilet was clean. the windows were old we could not close them so the noise from the airco unit from the restaurant en staff who were having a break was very good to hear, so we woke up early.The bed was good (i'm a fuzzy sleeper).When we asked for a taxi to get us in town the next day a no so friendly man at the reception was visibly not pleased to do that and half way the conversation with the taxicompany he handed over the phone and we had to complete the conversation our own!For 1/2 night the hotel was just fine, and the most important things were clean.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank esther31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2006

My wife and I stayed here the first night of or vacation. We got there very early in the morning and they held our bags for us and moved them to our room across the street when the room was ready. They were helpful with advice on where to go and what to do and even tried to get some rugby tickets for us. The room was cozy and comfortable. Great water pressure in our shower!!! It had a fridge and stove top to do some cooking as well. Our room was next to the street so we did get some traffic noise, but not enough to keep us awake or bother our sleep. I would stay there agian.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelRube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2006

I stayed at the Cotswold Hotel after coming off a three week group trip and again 10 days later before flying back home.

The rooms were probably the largest I have ever seen in that price range (booking through a German travel agent, the hotel´s rack rate was about twice that). One room had a large drawing room plus bedroom plus bath (tub/shower), the second one had one big room plus bathroom (shower only). As the second one had an A/C unit just outside the door (that woke me up from my travel induced nap) I asked to be moved and was given the honeymoon suite for that night.

The whole design theme of the place is a kind of fake Tudor, quaint olde english style, so if you are not into that, you might not enjoy yourself.

There are four bus lines running from the hotel into the city centre or it´s about a 15-20 minutes walk. There is ample parking if you come by car.

Staff was mostly friendly and helpful, with a few bad apples (one receptionist in particular) thrown in. I asked for late checkout on the second day and we agreed on 11am in time for me to get to the airport, I still got a call slightly after 10am reminding me to check out.

On balance, would stay there again if coming back to Christchurch.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChrisBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2005

November 2004 we stayed in the Cotswold Hotel for 1 night before flying back to The Netherlands.

Our room was very spacy, more like a small apartment with a kitchen in it and a large bedroom/livingroom but the furniture was very old fashioned.

When we wanted to check in they let us wait for about an hour or so because the room wasn't ready yet. While we were waiting in the lobby we could hear the staff gossiping about one of their colleagues.

Once we occupied our room we discovered that the building we stayed in was very noisy. Our downstairs neighbours were jumping around their room which was very annoying cause we could hear their every single step. Eventually they quit doing that, after we started jumping around ourselves which, of course, annoyed them.

We will not be coming back to this place!

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nvliegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2005

We stayed for 2 nights at the Cotswold Hotel in our honeymoon in Feb 2005.

Our room was very big and more like an appartment than like a room. But most of the furniture are very old fashioned (like the whole hotel). Guests who enjoy old style hotels or rooms maybe will enjoy this kind of accomodation, but we prefer a little bit more modern room.

Overall, the room, the furniture and the bed are ok.

The bathroom has an average size. But the toilet and the shower are maybe the worst we see in our whole trip through Australia and New Zealand. Both seem to be made of simple plastic and are very easy to break, you will definitly not enjoy to use these facilities.
The water pressure in the shower is nearly not existing, it is more easy to take a shower outside when is it raining than using this shower.

The most of the staff are not very friendly. We find some exceptions for this when my wife need some doctor in the middle of the night, the girl at reception was very helpful to give us the informations we needed.

After our first night we want to sleep long but were wake up by a call by the reception around 10am and they asked us to leave the room immediatly. When we asked why they said we just checked in for one night so we need to leave or pay for late checkout. I then informed the reception that we checked in for 2 nights the day before and even confirmed for this later that day. I also had an email of this hotel that confirmed our reservation for 2 nights. After giving these informations we were no longer asked to move out. However, I never faced any experience like this before in any hotel and this case definitly will make us never visit this hotel again!

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
12  Thank goango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank divernic2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCotswold, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
694 reviews
1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#44 of 146 in Christchurch
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,070 reviews
1.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
276 reviews
3.8 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Cotswold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Cotswold

Address: 88-96 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £68 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Cotswold 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Heartland Hotel Cotswold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing