We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay and very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #6 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
329 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

My stay at The George was very pleasant indeed and given that the hotel had only been open for a short time after the recent earthquake, the staff were very friendly and hospitable and all services were available. The resauarants had a good atmosphere and the food and servce were very good. The rooms are very comfy and the heated bathroom floor and towel warmer was a pleasant surprise. Would certainly stay there again when back in Christchurch.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justdriftingglobally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    269
    92
    25
    6
See reviews for
140
748
61
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

We were travelling around New Zealand for our honeymoon and The George was our last stop. We were able to check in early but before heading to our room we decided to have lunch at the George's ground floor restaurant 50 on park. The food was amazing, the cheese plate was delicious, the staff and service was also great.

Our room on the fourth floor was beautifully decorated and relaxing, heated floor tiles in the bathroom, big tv, soft bed. The room was spotless. We were also greeted with a congratulatory card and a plate with 2 amazing desserts. We were in our room the afternoon of the 5.3 aftershock we totally freaked out but walked out our door to see hotel staff ensuring everyone was okay, this calmed us down a lot.

The little touches at The George made it so great, every luxury has been thought of. Loved the chocolates and George the teddy bear! Absolutely loved this hotel, we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mc1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

My husband and I spent two nights at The George in December, and our stay was perfect. Our stay in Christchurch was really short, and we spent very little time at the hotel taking advantage of the amenities, so this review will be shorter than most of the ones that I leave.

Service - The best part about The George was the staff. Check-in was flawless. The bellman who showed us to our room pointed out all of the room's features but didn't hover/linger at all (normally a big pet peeve of mine--when it takes 10 minutes for them to leave when all you want to do is jump in the shower or unpack). The concierge was extremely helpful--they had all kinds of suggestions, even for the Christchurch suburbs (we wanted to visit Lyttleton or Sumner one night--we ended up going to Sumner on the recommendation of the concierge) and without even asking, printed out maps, menus and directions to restaurants and to the airport. The guys at reception and at the concierge were always cheerful and joking with us--it was nice that they were so casual and down-to-earth rather than being snooty.

Food - We didn't try either of the restaurants, as there are plenty of good, close options in Christchurch. We did have room service one morning for breakfast, and the food was fine (we just ordered toast, fruit and drinks--can't say too much about that!) and the service prompt.

Room - The room was a bit small but had no wasted space, so it was perfectly sufficient. It also had some cool features, like the heated bathroom floors and touch-sensitive light switches. One downside was the view--we were on the third floor facing the parking lot. It seemed that, from the way the rooms were laid out, they didn't really take advantage of the location right across from the park. We were also close to the elevator and on the same floor (3rd) as some of the event spaces and the laundry facilities, so there was a bit of noise, but as we hardly spent any time in our room, it didn't really bother us. If you're planning on spending a lot of time in your room, I'd request one on a different floor or at least far from the elevator if you're on 3.

Location - The location couldn't be beat. Except for an outing to Sumner, we didn't take our car out once. We walked to the Arts Centre (where there's a festival with crafts and food carts on Saturday afternoon--definitely check it out), Cathedral Square, to the Avon River for kayaking (a bit touristy but scenic, relaxing and fun) High Street for shopping and to a few restaurants.

Misc. - Parking is free, which is nice. There's only one elevator for the hotel (which serves all guest rooms, plus one restaurant and the event spaces), so sometimes it takes a few minutes. Housekeeping was flawless, and The George teddy bear that they give you with turn-down on your first night is a cute touch.

By the way, while we were there, we took an amazing tour to Akaroa to do a dolphin swim and also had lunch, did a cheese tasting, shopped at an art gallery and stopped at a number of scenic vistas along the way. The tour was with Canterbury Trails (Gavin was our guide), and I can safely say that it was the best tour I've ever been on. The service was very personal, and Gavin was so friendly and funny--we chatted with him for the entire round-trip car ride and at lunch (probably 5 hours total) about Christchurch, the surrounding areas and NZ in general. We were also the only ones on the tour (not planned--it just happened that we were the only ones that booked that day), so he customized all of the stops, duration, etc. to whatever we wanted to do, which was amazing. Canterbury Trails is a small local business and offers other tours--we highly recommend them!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilson315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

This is going to be very short review - I loved The George hotel. The rooms are great, the staff is attentive and very accomodating. Food superb. Couldnt have asked for more.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasileh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sao paulo, brazil
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

We stayed at The George Christchurch for 4 days in January 2011. We had a room on the first floor, overlooking a beautiful garden. The room was great, with floor-to-ceiling windows, nice bathroom with heated floor, and of course, George the Bear waiting for us to take him home (they leave one teddy bear in each room for you to take home as a souvenir - nice touch, my daughter loved it!) The hotel is quite simple, nothing fancy, but with good service and attentive staff. Its location is great, right in front of Hagley Park and a 10-minute-walk to the CBD. I recommend it to anyone visiting ChCh, it is truly a nice and quiet place to spend a couple of days. I would like to take this opportunity to send my love and prayers to The George staff and to the people of this beautiful city, take care and be safe. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudiaspiandorim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

Despite having to deal with the imense tragedy of the earthquake, the staff and management at The George remained calm, supportive and professional throughout an incredibly challenging period. Fortunately the hotel was largely spared from the impact of the quake and was able to make its stranded guests still feel very comfortable and secure. This is a hotel that consistently excels in normal times; the remarkable people who work there make it unique. Never stay anywhere else in Christchurch (and go back soon)!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

We stayed at the George for two nights while on holiday, paying about $400 NZ dollars per night, including breakfast (about $300 per night Cdn or U.S.D). The hotel is just on the edge of the downtown, within easy walking distance. Their are a number of larger hotels right in the downtown that are more conveniently located, but perhaps noisier.
We booked an executive king room and were supposedly upgraded to the king unit in the adjoining cottage section. The room, while quite large and with a modern bathroom, was dated and somewhat disappointing for a hotel of this reputation and cost. The rooms and common areas in the hotel were also not up to par for a high end boutique hotel.
The service and staff at the hotel, however, were absolutely top notch. The restaurant facility was very nice and the breakfast included in our room rate was also extremely good.
Overall, The George is a nice hotel with excellent staff and food. However, the quality of the hotel is certainly not commensurate with the price charged. We certainly stayed at nicer places during our travels in New Zealand at better prices.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Property: The George Christchurch
Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing