We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning - One of the worlds best !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #5 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I have stayed at The George Hotel 3 times over the past few years - its everything a luxury boutique hotel should be !

The suites are stunning, lovely tasteful modern design, spotless clean with great views of Hadley park. The hotel is obviously extraordinary well maintained with no sign of maintenance being required anywhere. The staff are simply marvellous - highly professional, friendly and genuinely helpful - they clearly take pride in where they work and it shines through. The George is simply one of the best hotels I have stayed in anywhere..... Stay there you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The suites are gorgeous, large and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyFishingNutNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,196 - 1,202 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2011

What a delightful hotel! I was in Christchurch for one day on business to provide training at the CPU. The company's preferred hotels weren't available due to the Quake, so we chose the George based on Trip Advisor. I did not expect to end up in one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in (well traveled around APAC). The hotel took care of storing quite a bit of demo gear in a secure location and organized transport to CPU. Check-in and check-out was seamless - I had an email invoice within an hour of checking out. The hotel ambience is fantastic. Warm smiling faces on arrival, a crackling fire in an intimate lobby, beautiful artwork... I almost salivated at the menu in the elevator - the food was outstanding! Staff called up to check I was settled on arrival, and to top it off there was the cutest teddy on the pillow (you get to keep it and blog about it's adventures). Definitely will be back. Thank you Hotel George for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah_C_Davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The George is on the edge of the Red Zone in earthquake ravaged Christchurch, and it was hard to find ones way there through the CBD, but once arrived it was a haven of comfort. The rooms are quite exceptional with lots of extras. It is not a cookie cut out hotel. Due to the quake rates were discounted I think so take that into account.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriennenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We have stayed at this hotel many times now. Always clean, great service, the restaurants are excellent. The fact that it is only 4 stories tall makes it feel more intimate. The post-earthquake situation makes this the only hotel open in the central city, but The George has not let standards slip, and this hotel is a great jumping-off place for touring the rest of the South Island. Our only gripe: at this standard of hotel, wi-fi internet should be included.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Hagley Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drswoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Stayed here during a weekend visit of Christchurch, picked the hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. Price rather high for Christchurch at that time, but happy I booked this hotel. The outside looks a bit dull and the location seemed to be in a too quiet place. However once i got to know Christchurch, the location is actually perfect; very central, still nice an quiet. The inside decoration is great, service is correct and just right. The interior design is peacefull and stylish, the whole place gives you a very relaxed feeling. I experienced the 5.5 maginitude earthquake on june 6th there on the second floor, the building took it really well. Breakfast buffet options a bit limited for the price asked, but then again, i find most hotels being really bad when it comes to breakfast quality/price ratio, so it might just be me.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinz-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Small modern luxury hotel. Very friendly staff. Has two great restaurants. Hotel suite was wonderful with heated bathroom floor and heated towel rack to Bose music systems. Very modern décor. Extremely helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hampton_Lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Had 30 mins so ordered breakast assured no problem. After 15 mins asked for progress, there had been none. After 30 mins taxi arrived and left. Restaurant staff seemed disinterested, was not busy I got the impression they could not be bothered. No credit offered despite rate inkling breakfast, complained at checkout no follow up, no credit, no intrest. Not what I would expect from a good 3 star hotel, clearly not business focused.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aztec007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
specialbru, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2011

We acknowledge that regrettably we did not manage to get this guest's breakfast to him in time and that this fell well short of our usual standard. For this we have profusely and sincerely apologised a number of times, both directly after the event, at checkout; and promptly in writing subsequenty.
Our senior manager who spoke with the gentleman offered to quickly box up some breakfast items to take away in an attempt to somewhat make amends and the guest has acknowledged to us in wirting that our manager did show concern.
We have also proved to the guest that we did not charge for his breakfast - he was served coffee and toast and was able to help himself to our continental buffet; and that his breakfast was definitely not included in the rate.
We are grateful however that of all the TripAdvisor posts this guest has made we actually rate the highest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#10 of 146 in Christchurch
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
649 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £195 - £483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing