We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous time out in battered city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #5 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I am writing on behalf of two business colleagues that I arranged accommodation for at The George. I booked online at Wotif so got very reasonable room rates and was a little worried that they would not get first class treatment. Not so....when I checked the reservation everything was perfect. Their experience was one of being really pampered. Rooms excellent, spacious and clean. Hotel restaurants and other facilities top notch. the George has long had a reputation for excellence in service delivery and this booking proves that they have continued to maintain this through what i would imagine has been very trying times for a hotelier.. But they are the only show in town at the moment and what a show....thanks for looking after my guests so well.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank totarapom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,234 - 1,240 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

As a couple it nice to hear the words "Free upgrade" when you walk through the doors of a really beautiful hotel. We really enjoyed the stay - very personalised service & the team are so friendly. Also heard from the local staff that when the earth quakes happened, the hotel did not suffer at all (apparently some broken windowns but no significant damage at all) and even hosted the local security teams when the city was in lock down. Nice to know it is sturdy too and has handled well.

We enjoyed the amazing park suite and were so surprised with the turndown service including a delivery of a pot of tea and a teddy bear called George who you can blog about (travel mascot) on their website to stay in touch.

The room was luxurious with a bed you get lost in! I loved the spa bath and the view of the park where the RWC fanzone was also fab.

Dinner was delish. Definitely recommend the whitebait entree. The wine selection is also great - you have to try a bottle of pinot when on this side of the world. All the staff were super friendly and helpful giving advice on what to look at and where to go in the city and greater NZ without being overwelming.

We had an amazing time and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Park view - top floor for great views and sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAS101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

WIth Christchurch being the first stop of our honeymoon tour of NZ we wanted a luxurious treat and that is exactly what we got. Our room was amazing, with amazing facilities and of course George Bear who became our travel mascot for the 3 week expedition.
Located opposite Hagley Park and within easy reach of the city centre it was the perfect location.
The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable and recommended local eateries for breakfast and snacks. Although, the hotel brasserie was top quality and reasonably priced.
We hope that Christchurch gets back on its feet soon as even with the disruption of the recent earthquakes, this place is truly wonderful and the George is a fine establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaTrembirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

After having travelled almost two weeks around New Zealand and on our way back to the UK, we stayed at The George for two nights for a bit of luxury. What a beautiful hotel! The staff are very friendly, but without you feeling pestered by them. The bed was super-comfy, very funky lightening system in the room and the underfloor heating in the bathroom just dotted the 'i' for us. It's not cheap, but it was worth every penny of it. Make use of the free bicycles, Christchurch is completely flat, so it's a brilliant way of getting around.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianneWiltshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

sadly our stay here was during multiple aftershocks from the big earthquakes, so the city was not what it once was. the hotel itself is in perfect condition, and it's a wonderful place to stay. the rooms are small but very luxurious. the beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom was amazing! during turndown service, a small bear is left in each room for the guest to take home with them. such a cute idea, and "george" is loving his new home in NYC. the only negative on this stay was the restaurant in the lobby...they weren't accommodating even though we were staying at the hotel

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brosenfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

What a lovely place. They called after check in to make sure I settled in well and offered a complimentary coffee, tea or juice. Very stylish, very comfortable and such fantastic customer service. They also gave us the wee George bear which was such a sweet and lovely little gift that we even took George flying in Kaikoura later that weekend. Definitely will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkRhapsody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Just stayed here recently. I must say this hotel currently is the best hotel in Christchurch. After the earthquake, many other hotels are closed.

Its a nice hotel, intimate reception area, bar, and lobby.

The room is spacious, bed is comfy, and simple design. Balcony is overviewing the garden in front of the hotel. I like it.

The staffs are truly helpful. We asked about what can we do in Christchurch, they assisted us for a day trip to Akaroa, a neighboring town, since there was nothing really to see in Christchurch currently. Way to go guys...

We tried to have dinner at Pescatore, and it was great... Try the banana caramel as your dessert, it was fantastic...

Anyway, it was a pleasant stay for us, even though we experienced an aftershock at 4.9 Richter Scale on the first night... Go stay here when you're in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suryo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
704 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,071 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#9 of 146 in Christchurch
233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Christchurch
Crowne Plaza Christchurch
#23 of 146 in Christchurch
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £186 - £451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing