We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly good... but feels a little corporate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #5 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Don't get me wrong - this is a very nice hotel. Horrible to look at from the outside but once inside the staff are friendly, the rooms are fab and full of little modern gadgets (bathroom lights coming on automatically, that kind of thing).

However - Christchurch is a lovely leafy green city and having now visited, I do wish we'd stayed somewhere a little further from the main road, in a residential area, and somewhere family run. A lot of the houses in Christchurch are beautiful and full of character and compared to other big NZ cities, it's very green and leafy. Most of our honeymoon in New Zealand was spent in family run guesthouses, and they are so friendly and personable, I did miss this when staying at the George, which felt a little corporate.

The free teddy bear was a very sweet touch though and now sits in our guest room at home in London!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexiloola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,197 - 1,203 of 1,410 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

Arrived in new Zealand after 13 hours of travel from Singapore. Picked up a car at the airport & headed for the George dead easy one straight road which was a consideration when you are as tired as wee were. Car was valet parked and cases taken to our executive room which was superb. Massive bed really comfortable ( I slept for 11 hours) ultra modern bathroom with bath and top quality shower with top notch toiletries. Spotlessly clean ,looked like the room had just been refurbished and ever so quiet. Good location for pubs and bars just a mile out of town. Unfortunately the centre of christchurch is still wrecked but plenty of nightlife in the suburbs.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaygirl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed here for for the first and last night of my honeymoon and it was a great choice. The hotel rooms are beautiful (we were upgraded to a junior suite because it was our honeymoon which was nice!) and the service is very good. We didn't have breakfast but they recommended where we could go for a relaxed dinner and arranged our taxi to the trans-costal train which was departing early in the morning. IThe hotel is in a very nice location next to the park and a relatively short taxi from the airport. All in all, very impressed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I stayed here with my husband for our wedding anniversary in October 2011. Everything about the stay was great, with just one exception. They don't offer wifi included in the room rate! For a boutique hotel charging $400+ per night, I would expect to have wifi access included in the room rate. I did give them this feedback at the time of our stay, and via the online survey they sent later. Hopefully they change their policy soon and get with the times.

In terms of the hotel, it is great - we were upgraded to a junior suite, which was a bit more spacious with a balcony overlooking the gardens. We ate in the 50 on Park Restaurant, and our meals were wonderful. Attentive but not overbearing service from the waitstaff, and the food was delicous. After dinner we watched the Rugby World Cup final in the bar with a few other guests - nerve-wracking game to watch, but the All Blacks won in the end :) The bar was officially closed by that time I think, but they were happy to serve us a round of celebratory drinks anyway.

The service at the hotel was very personal, with a note from housekeeping advising the name of the person who had prepared our room, and a turn down service as well.

To the management at The George - the teddy bear was very sweet, but really, I would rather get free wifi!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwiana13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Like most travellers we were in two minds as to whether to stay over in Christchurch but it is really worth it. The centre is cordoned off with massive demolitions underway but the shopping/restaurant centre constructed out of 40ft containers on Cashel Street says everything about the spirit. Definitely worth a visit and no better place to stay than The George with great service and a lively bar/atmosphere together with great food.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Stayed for 2 nights at The George in Dec. It is a lovely boutique hotel overlooking the gorgeous Hagley Park. The service is excellent and so is the concierge. They helped with restaurant recommendations and directions. The rooms are a very good size with a good view of the park. We were upgraded to a junior suite which is slightly larger than the regular room. The room has a toaster which is not commonly found in most hotels and was well appreciated for having a quick toast for brekky. We tried room service for lunch and sadly the food wasn't great at all. Mediocre at best.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellator10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We stayed just one night in the George - it was recommended to us by our travel agent and I got the impression it was one of the few places in the city center to remain unaffected by the Feb earthquake. Couldn't fault the service and the concierge in particular were incredible helpful (we checked out the following day to find they had washed our incredibly filthy cross county car!). They were very accommodating in booking us into the excellent (if pricey) Bistro 51 at short notice. Just as well as we couldn't find anywhere else to eat nearby - food was super though - best scallops I've ever had. Rooms very comfortable (slightly annoying extras for internet) although with all the automated lighting systems everywhere it was a bit like sleeping in a spaceship. Seems to attract a lot of British coach tours - or at least it did when we were there- and I think we halved the average age in the dining room (we are 37-39!). To be honest, given the current situation in the city center and if you have a bit of time in Christchurch and your own transport I would recommend staying further out on the Banks peninsular - we drove down to to Akaroa the following day and there looked to be a fair few quirky and gorgeously located b&bs out there and en route - only about 30 mins - 1 hour from the city center.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phnom_Penh_Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
690 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,026 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#10 of 146 in Christchurch
222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £185 - £541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing