We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but Perfectly Formed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #6 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small but Perfectly Formed”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in August 2012, The room was immaculate and the staff very friendly.
10 minutes after we checked in reception called to check if everything was OK with room, nice touch!
Food in 50 Bistro was great for both dinner and breakfast.
Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C0aster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    269
    92
    25
    6
See reviews for
139
747
61
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

From the moment you step inside, you feel that they are there to take care of you. Service is impecible, I had hardly walked in the door of my room when the phone rang offering me a tea or coffee which got delivered to the door within minutes of having hung up.

The bed was soooo comfortable and the bathroom is spacious and luxurious. I did have a problem with the inbuilt buttons to flush the toilet. They were particularly difficult to push in, even my husband mentioned the fact.

We dined in both of their restaurants and was completely impressed by food quality and service. 50 Bistro offers yummy food with a twist and is reasonably priced. Pescatore is another whole experience. I recommend you book as they are popular.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margot A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed in this property for 2 days, and i must say that hotel was really good.
Its the only 5 star hotel in Christchurch as per what they say, but its not as big as 5 star hotels in other parts of the world, its comparitively very small. But still the hotel was very neat and tidy as well as the staff was courteous. The park in front of the hotel adds the beauty. Also the hotel is earthquake resistant, a must for a city like Christchurch.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhishekgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The George knows how to do luxury right. Great restaurant. Amazing rooms and bathrooms. Great view of the park. Friendly service. Only downside for our visit was the unfortunate state of the CBD from the earthquake (no fault of the hotel of course, which looks undamaged)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BSmith4333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed for 1 night. Beautiful modern rooms, very friendly staff. The restaurant also seemed very nice and popular though we actually chose to have dinner outside the hotel. Unfortunately the city centre has been badly hit by the earthquakes and there are not many tourist attractions available at the moment.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Themis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The best hotel in Christchurch by far. Lovely service and best laid out suite. Definitely on our must stay list unlike our Queenstown stay. Staff here were lovely and very attentive in a good location. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hermanmoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Excellence in every way. Holding an evening event in Christchurch for Millbrook Resort (Queenstown) I was impressed and delighted with the service, care, attention to detail and execution of our Millbrook Realty & Millbrook Country Club function at The George Hotel on 26 July 2012. From start to finish in pre-planning consultations, bookings, selections and then delivery, our Millbrook Team enjoyed a seamless and very successful event thanks to the professional team at The George. Daniel Dunne, Jackie Rozynski-Nuttall and their team were very accommodating, attentive and made it almost effortless on our part with everything where and how it should be with nothing overlooked to ensure Millbrook was able to host their guests in first class fashion. We flew in on the morning with our kit and were able to set up and run through our programme with plenty of time to spare, able to be relaxed and ready to go with confidence. The George's location and the Parkview Room were an excellent venue which worked extremely well for our 2 hour early evening canapes and presentation function. Our Team of 4 also stayed and dined at the George which was again, first class. The decor, rooms, service, food and ambience was welcoming, stylish and impressive. We highly recommend The George as the "go-to" hotel and function venue in Christchurch and would certainly return to enjoy the experience again - First Class Team George! Adele Robins, Membership Coordinator, Millbrook, Queenstown

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeleRobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Property: The George Christchurch
Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing