We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #5 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I'm a sucker for that 'Small Luxury Hotels of the World' tag, and The George did not disappoint. Chic and stylish decor, warm and polished service (and friendly welcome to weary guests arriving after midnight in the freezing cold) and a wonderful location by the park will lure me back. Given everything the city has been through, I was blown away by the quality and style of The George.

This hotel is a heartwarming sign that the rebuilding of Christchurch has well and truly begun.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KT_in_Europe2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,157 - 1,163 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

I am a frequent visitor to Christchurch for business and on this occasion, i missed the last flight home and had to stay the night in Christchurch.
Upon arriving at the George, I was greeted as if they were friends and when they heard of my 'bad day' they instantly upgraded me to a suite.

The hotel is across the road from a magnificent park and their restaurants are excellent.

I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack-malki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

For a special treat spend a night or two at The George.Excellent meal ( room service)- the best mushroom risotto that I have tasted- enjoyed with a glass of Nelson's Kahurangi Sauvignon blanc- followed by a selection of sorbets & ice cream-delicious!!. We appreciated the added extras .... An excellent way to end our get away weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Finally we had a chance to stay in this amazing hotel ! Loved every aspect of it but it was the service of all members of the staff that was as good as it can get ! We travel a lot and stay in five star places through out the world yet this is the first time that after being in our room , reception phoned to make sure we were happy with everything then asked us if we would like a complementary fruit juice bought to our room. We accepted the offer but what blew us away was the fact that when we checked in we told them our daughter was going to hang out with us for an hour or so to a friend picked her up and they bought up THREE glasses of lovely fresh juice !! That really impressed us. We enjoyed our stay their very much and want to go back to Christchurch just to stay there again. This place is a credit to all involved !!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddiefredie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The first impression when you arrive at the George is perfect - greeted as you arrive and escorted to the check in desk. Beautiful rooms with a lovely outlook (mostly- there is a lot of devastation in nearby streets). Dinner was very good, although a little slow to seat us. I had flounder - excellent, but strangely no vegetables offered.

Breakfast was also excellent - very attentive waiting staff and a good selection of hot and cold food.

All in all a great experience, with the friendly helpful staff tops.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevino101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

A good place, pleasant surroundings and good food, but beware if you use one of their meeting rooms, They charge you $300 on top of whatever you consume - even if you are only there for 90 minutes. I thought this was quite unreasonable ad questioned this with the hotel, but was told this was their policy and they felt it was a very competitive price. Well my 12 guests who met for an hour and 30 minutes - consuming amost three hundred dollars worth of food and drink were not impressed with the additional $300 dollars.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank JCTSChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

We are surprised that after the thorough booking process, in which we sent written confirmation of the function requirements and all applicable charges and received in return authorisation from the guest by way of a signed contract, that there has been any misunderstanding in the charging arrangements leading to this less favourable review.

We regret that this reviewer has misinterpreted the charging arrangements causing confusion to the guests attending the meeting. We offer our guests a number of private meeting spaces and charging for such facilities is normal practise. Furthermore, the fees were communicated four weeks prior to the event so we would very much hope that if there are queries over the charges that they are bought up prior to the event rather than after, as signing the terms and conditions then going ahead with the booking indicates acceptance of arrangements.

Once a meeting room is booked it then becomes unavailable to other guests who may use it for longer periods, unfortunately we are unable to sell rooms on an hourly basis as turning around rooms takes considerable set up and break down times and allows guests no flexibility should their meeting run over time, therefore rooms are booked in blocks of time.

We do have two restaurants, a bar and two lounge areas where guests can arrange to meet and order food and beverages and incur no room hire charge. Nonetheless, should guests request a private space we do charge for room, the service and the set up and breakdown which involves such costs to us as: tables, chairs, tablecloths, pads, pens, mints, glasses, water, cups, saucers, AV equipment, air conditioning, lighting etc.

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Elegant, understated, comfortable, with great location. Only complaint is that the breakfast is quite ordinary and totally forgettable. This hotel has no gym, although one is directly across from Hagley Park which is great for running and they have access to a gym that is 10' away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elguernica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,072 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#9 of 146 in Christchurch
234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Christchurch
Crowne Plaza Christchurch
#23 of 146 in Christchurch
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £186 - £451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing