We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accomodation & Fist Class Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #6 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Excellent Accomodation & Fist Class Restaurant”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We just stayed at The George Hotel in January on our way back from Queenstown on route to the Eagles Nest, Bay of Islands. The George Hotel is a regular stop over for us when travelling through the south island and always provides a superb level of personal service which includes a complimentary "George" bear as a gift. The reception staff are professional and always friendly, and the hotel is situated opposite the stunning Hagley Park. However, what really sets this hotel apart are the two amazing restaurants, Pescatore and Bistro50. The Pescatore restaurant is a true dining experience and offers unique tasting menus. The tasting menu also has options for matching wines from the hotels superb wine list and i have found this a great way to discover new wines. It was following my last visit that i decided to write this long overdue review for this truly first class hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdlelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    280
    93
    25
    6
See reviews for
144
773
65
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Well, my headline says it all. I stayed at the George in Christchurch over New Years Eve. The hotel from the outside gives a rather awkward impression and you fear the hotel is a leftover building from the seventies. However dont be shocked the rooms are very good. So is the rest of the hotel and the location. I would love to give 4 stars (what it actually is) however :

The Price -- it is just too expensive for what it is and i can only recommend the readers to check out another hotel instead .... sorry

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amadeu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear Amadeu1,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our facilities and location and hope that we can welcome you back on a future occasion to hopefully change your perception on value. Our best rates, including packages and promotions can be found on the hotel's own website.
Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stayed in The George for the 1st 2 nights of our south island trip in December 2012. The hotel is well located with the museum and a few nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. We also found the hotel staff - especially the concierge - to be extremely helpful.
The breakfast is quite good though their options for vegetarians were slightly limited. That said, we wish we had spent more time on breakfast and enjoyed their spreads more but our schedules limited that to some extent.
The rooms are ultra modern and comfortable. Our only non positive feedback was the price of the hotel - I think it was definitely overpriced for what it gives and compared to the rates for hotels in Christchurch and other parts of NZ too.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itbkgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear itbktg,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, facilities, breakfast selection and our staff, particularly the concierge. We have taken on board your comments about value for money and will be looking at our product offering in future with a view to rectify this perception.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments and I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip around the South Island.

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very smart and tastefully decorated. The hotel is on the outskirts of the earthquake zone and borders Hagley park and is near the botanical gardens and the museum.
We stayed over Christmas and the staff gave us chocolates and a Christmas bear and also made up a hamper for us to take to the beach on Christmas Day.

The downsides were Internet which was better than most other hotels but still limited to 200 MB per day free and the continental breakfast which was the most expensive of any we had and which was the worst by far... Don't bother with it, either go a la carte or go out, the hotel also had no gym on site but did give access to a local gymnasium , good alternative but not at Christmas when they were closed

Over

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sbz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear Sbz100,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent visit with us. I am very happy that you enjoyed our facilities and location, along with the extra touches such as the hamper on Christmas Day. I am also pleased that you found the quality of our internet better than most.
Thank you also for your feedback on our continental breakfast. While we are confident it is very competitively priced when compared with other five star hotels in New Zealand, I have passed your comments on to our Executive Chef and we will look to improve our selection in the near future.

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We had 2 overnight stays here (10 days apart). The hotel is situated next to Hagley park and close to Cashel Street ,the red zone, the main (and devasted) shopping centre. It is worth seeing this and the innovative way they are rebuilding shops (on a temporary basis) using containers.
The staff were very welcoming meeting (and parking) the car smooth checking in and swift transfer of baggage to room. Complimentary juice or tea/coffee was offered and accepted-it was a very hot day when we arrived. There is free wifi available in the lobby and the rooms.
Lovely modern room with king size really comfy bed and pillows (especially after 10 days in a campervan!). Did not notice any 'aftershocks' while we were there they do happen apparantly on occasions (or maybe we slept so well we didn't notice).
Its quiet although next to the road. Lovely touch with the' teddy' and chocolate and nice toiletries.
On our second stay we were in 302, the bathroom is a wet room disabled access friendly. So if you wanted a bath it may be wise to stipulate this, didn't bother us though.
We didn't eat in as we had early starts planned and as it was close to xmas the restaurant was clearly busy with parties etc (we didn't feel comfortably dressed for this), however, the menu looked really nice - would definately eat in if there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Located very close to the city centre but also next to the beautiful Hagley Park. It's close to the Botanical gardens and the main tourist information centre. The hotel is quite expensive compared to anything else in the area, but if you want the best, this is it.

The service was welcoming and helpful. They also helped in altering my reservation when I realised Christchurch was still not buzzing after the devastating earthquake. The room I received was on the ground floor and feels small. The rooms are very modern and the toiletries and the George bear are a nice touch. The hotel also has some very nice dining options and come recommended if you don't want to go further afield.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spindoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Right from arrival we were treated like royalty. The consierge met the car, we were escorted to the reception area. Then up to our room where the bags arrived a minute later.

The room (413) was spacious, clean, tidy, well equipped and very comfortable. Bathroom was good although the sliding glass door was a bit strange and 'clunky'.

Breakfast and two dinners in The Bistro were excellent. There was a long delay for food on the first night due to a large group at one table, but the food was first rate.

Free computers in the lobby area and free wifi in the room was good.

Had excellent service from the consierge who even found a tape measure for us. Also, our turndown maid, Rose, was lovely when she gave us George and met Philly. (Rose, he has settled in well back in the UK).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewiltn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
641 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
1,799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#12 of 144 in Christchurch
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Property: The George Christchurch
Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing