We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #5 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Although my stay was brief the hotel was outstanding. A few minutes after I checked in I received a call to see if I would like a refreshing drink. On turn down there was a beautiful bear that my baby will love and will remind me of The George when I look at it. The food was great and the staff were wonderful. I was in the hotel industry for 16 years and have stayed in many. I know how important the little things make to a guests stay and this hotel have nailed it. I now have a new favourite and look forward to returning when I am next in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,106 - 1,112 of 1,448 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

Top service and lovely rooms, The George does elegance well. It's fully priced of course but nice once in a while. The building itself is old and not that attractive, but the interiors are lovely. Parking is free. Hagley Park is directly across the road for exercise & golf. The food is probably a little richer than your standard business travellers fare but great quality. The complimentary teddy bear (named George) is a nice touch.

Room Tip: The 'villas' out back of the main hotel have a homely feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This hotel was a real gem in a city that is trying hard to recover from the earthquake. From the moment you get to the hotel you are met with smiling faces and a can do attitude rare to find elsewhere. Rooms are lovely, modern and spacious and the hotel is very quiet. Staff are always on hand to help you out or provide insight on where to go and eat. The little touches of bottled water and the trademark George teddy you get on the first night really characterise this lovely hotel. Great food, great drinks, great staff, great location, I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navis01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

The George is well worth staying in. Our room was really luxourious, spotlessly clean with very high quality toileteries and even George the teddy bear to take home! Staff were very friendly and the concierge made a great job of finding out what sort of meal we wanted to eat and suggested the perfect place - he even phoned and made a reservation for us. Christchurch is such an interesting place to visit - the earthquake could have taken the heart out of the city but it's inspiring to see how people are rebuilding their lives. There's a lot of work going on, obviously, and many places out of bounds still, but do visit - you won't be disappointed. The George makes the perfect place to stay while you're there.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank GordonHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Our recent visit to Christchurch was a shock as our previous visit was 4 years ago before the earthquake. The hotel we usually use was gone as were many buildings. We stayed at The George. This little hotel has big spirit. It survived the earthquake unblemished and its staff are very helpful and friendly. The service at breakfast was not good, we were somehow forgotten ! Otherwise it was good. The hotel is handy to the airport and we would use it again although it is quite expensive.

Room Tip: This is a peaceful hotel so I cannot add comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The hotel is probably the nicest of the area. We found the staff a bit stuffy, but efficient.
The breakfast was simple. The location is good. Sad to see the destruction in this town.
The great thing was have a laundry for the use of the guests. Rooms clean and beds and sheets nice. The hotel restaurant has a very nice dinner. I would certainly choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view to the garden or the rooms with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poodlena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Stayed at The George last month for one night en-route from Nelson to Queenstown. My fren decided on the hotel after reading about it being recommended on a travel magazine.
It is a quick 20 minutes drive from the airport and it wasn't very hard to get to.
However, as I stayed there for only one night, I am not very familiar with the layout of Christchurch so I cannot be absolutely sure about the location of The George to the city area, etc.
Check-in was relatively easy though parking was a bit of a more difficult. The carpark could hold probably 20 to 30 cars but it wasn't easy to get a lot. We had to park outside the hotel compound...where there was a "yard" but even the yard was full during the Saturday I was there. So we had to park by the side of the road (which was actually a dead end road) near to the Japanese embassy. I had to "illegal park" onto the pavement.
Firstly, the room was of a reasonable size. But the thing I want to rave about is the toiletries. Personally, the toiletries they supply is a good indication of the hotel's quality. But of course, better quality invariably means pricier hotels. The George toiletries were of a very good quantity. Sometimes hotels give you such small bottles you will probably finish it in a day when you shower twice a day and you are staying with your partner. Especially the shower gels. And the housekeeping don't replenish. So it can be a wee bit irritating. So the toiletries The George supplied were a good size. And they had small little thoughtful details like make-up remover wipes! This is definitely a first!
The rooms were updated and the light and air con controls were on a little small touch pad. The beds were comfy. I slept well.
The very interesting thing is that they give you a little The George teddy bear when they come by in the evening. I brought it home with me and now it's on my sofa at home. It was a wonderful surprise and undoubtedly a very good personal touch. Oh and if you are having a long holiday like I did, the complimentary laundromat is a very plus to have. I managed to do some laundry. It was located on the 2nd floor near to the function rooms I think. Cos I was walking there to collect my laundry and I nearly barge into a wedding couple going to do their walk in from the corridor of the laundromat.
My room faced a park and a private house. We had one little window opened and I could hear children laughing and a musician playing. I am not sure if it came from the private house or the park or the hotel cafe or something. But it was lovely. And it felt very English! I may be wrong, but there is a "famous" river in the park where the boats are rowed down the stream. I have seen it on TV but I didn't get the time to visit it.
Oh, and wifi is complimentary as well! Jolly good.
Ok, minus points was that maybe it was a Saturday and they were having numerous events such as the wedding and I also spied a birthday celebration going on, my phone calls to order room service went unanswered. I had to call the receptionist to place my order.
There were numerous cobwebs outside the little window. But I did notice many cobwebs all over NZ. I guess this is a very common and natural "problem". We don't usually get that many cobwebs at home and when we do, it only means the place has been left untouched for a really really long time.
In any case, it is a nice pleasant hotel to stay in. So do come and give it a try.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mulder-Sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
711 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#10 of 146 in Christchurch
243 reviews
4.1 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £188 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing