We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #5 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 March 2013

If you are planning on staying at the George, book fast. I booked for one night and when I decided to add another, the hotel was fully booked. I then booked at Clearview lodge ( see my review) but could not figure out how to transfer between the 2 hotels since I booked a tour very early that day. I emailed the George suggesting a plan but Bruce the manager emailed me back with a much better plan: while I was on the tour, he transferred my luggage to my room from Clearview lodge. What a relief! I came back after my tour to find my luggage in my room as promised, followed by a welcome phone call, a courtesy drink of my choice and a young lady at my door with George, a tiny fluffy bear to pack with me. Impressed! The room itself and the bathroom were very clean with an innovative light system. The bathroom floor was heated and of course the towel rack was heated. I slept like a baby. I tried also the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. I had the Bluff oysters, a must in New Zealand and a sole that came whole and I could not finish a third of it. For breakfast, in addition to the cold buffet, I had a grouper omelette which was really great. Ok! I am not sure it was an omelet but whatever it was, it was delicious. I highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Most rooms have heated bathroom floors except for a couple. If you are like me and enjoy being pampe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,393 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2013

The flight from Singapore over, we were met by the local agent for Audley, and taken through poor Christchurch to the warm and friendly hotel. The Concierge took charge of our luggage and we were soon iinstalled in a large and airy room, with a tray of tea on offer. Just lovely!
Thge hotel at times was very busy, especially in the dining room, but this was understanable as the city is trying hard to accomodate visitorsin the hotels left standing.
On our return stay on the way back home, George the Teddy bear was sat on the bed, ready to come to whereever we go next.
I loved the lighting and the underfloor heating in the bathrrom!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We having been traveling through NZ on a weeks road-show and The George was fantastic.
They could not have gone out of their way anymore to ensure we had a comfortable and rewarding stay.
Well done to all at The George.

P.S. Thanks so much for George..

Pete.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Although my stay was brief the hotel was outstanding. A few minutes after I checked in I received a call to see if I would like a refreshing drink. On turn down there was a beautiful bear that my baby will love and will remind me of The George when I look at it. The food was great and the staff were wonderful. I was in the hotel industry for 16 years and have stayed in many. I know how important the little things make to a guests stay and this hotel have nailed it. I now have a new favourite and look forward to returning when I am next in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Top service and lovely rooms, The George does elegance well. It's fully priced of course but nice once in a while. The building itself is old and not that attractive, but the interiors are lovely. Parking is free. Hagley Park is directly across the road for exercise & golf. The food is probably a little richer than your standard business travellers fare but great quality. The complimentary teddy bear (named George) is a nice touch.

Room Tip: The 'villas' out back of the main hotel have a homely feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This hotel was a real gem in a city that is trying hard to recover from the earthquake. From the moment you get to the hotel you are met with smiling faces and a can do attitude rare to find elsewhere. Rooms are lovely, modern and spacious and the hotel is very quiet. Staff are always on hand to help you out or provide insight on where to go and eat. The little touches of bottled water and the trademark George teddy you get on the first night really characterise this lovely hotel. Great food, great drinks, great staff, great location, I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navis01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

The George is well worth staying in. Our room was really luxourious, spotlessly clean with very high quality toileteries and even George the teddy bear to take home! Staff were very friendly and the concierge made a great job of finding out what sort of meal we wanted to eat and suggested the perfect place - he even phoned and made a reservation for us. Christchurch is such an interesting place to visit - the earthquake could have taken the heart out of the city but it's inspiring to see how people are rebuilding their lives. There's a lot of work going on, obviously, and many places out of bounds still, but do visit - you won't be disappointed. The George makes the perfect place to stay while you're there.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank GordonHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
685 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,993 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
209 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £187 - £554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing