We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #6 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, CO
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at his hotel for March 7-9, 2013. The city of Christchurch has been damaged by a serious earthquake in 2011 and the downtown hotels were destroyed which limits the number of hotel choices. Fortunately, the George is located about a mile from the downtown epicenter of most of the damage.
From the check-in to the decor and furnishings of the hotel, we could not have been more pleased. The rooms are very new and well-appointed.
We ate at the on-site restaurant and were very pleased with the selection, service, and food quality.
The location is excellent to experiencing the Botanic Gardens that are across the street. This is one of the finest gardens and parks in the world. I believe the picturesque park is larger than Central Park in NY.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hallacyDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    280
    93
    25
    6
See reviews for
143
772
65
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This was our first night on a 11 day self drive trip around the South Island followed by a cruise back to Sydney.

We spent one night in this delightful boutique hotel in Christchurch. On arrival, we were greeted warmly by the receptionist and we were advised that we had been upgraded to a Junior Suite which was a lovely surprise. It was the largest room we had on the entire trip of over 3.5 weeks!

Our room was huge and very comfortable. We had delicious dinner in the Pescatore Restaurant at the hotel that night and after dinner we had a wonderful sleep in a very comfortable bed.

Breakfast next morning was Continental which was included in our tariff. If we ever return to Christchurch we would definitely stay at the George again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiegal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

If you are planning on staying at the George, book fast. I booked for one night and when I decided to add another, the hotel was fully booked. I then booked at Clearview lodge ( see my review) but could not figure out how to transfer between the 2 hotels since I booked a tour very early that day. I emailed the George suggesting a plan but Bruce the manager emailed me back with a much better plan: while I was on the tour, he transferred my luggage to my room from Clearview lodge. What a relief! I came back after my tour to find my luggage in my room as promised, followed by a welcome phone call, a courtesy drink of my choice and a young lady at my door with George, a tiny fluffy bear to pack with me. Impressed! The room itself and the bathroom were very clean with an innovative light system. The bathroom floor was heated and of course the towel rack was heated. I slept like a baby. I tried also the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. I had the Bluff oysters, a must in New Zealand and a sole that came whole and I could not finish a third of it. For breakfast, in addition to the cold buffet, I had a grouper omelette which was really great. Ok! I am not sure it was an omelet but whatever it was, it was delicious. I highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Most rooms have heated bathroom floors except for a couple. If you are like me and enjoy being pampe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The flight from Singapore over, we were met by the local agent for Audley, and taken through poor Christchurch to the warm and friendly hotel. The Concierge took charge of our luggage and we were soon iinstalled in a large and airy room, with a tray of tea on offer. Just lovely!
Thge hotel at times was very busy, especially in the dining room, but this was understanable as the city is trying hard to accomodate visitorsin the hotels left standing.
On our return stay on the way back home, George the Teddy bear was sat on the bed, ready to come to whereever we go next.
I loved the lighting and the underfloor heating in the bathrrom!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eumundi, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We having been traveling through NZ on a weeks road-show and The George was fantastic.
They could not have gone out of their way anymore to ensure we had a comfortable and rewarding stay.
Well done to all at The George.

P.S. Thanks so much for George..

Pete.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Although my stay was brief the hotel was outstanding. A few minutes after I checked in I received a call to see if I would like a refreshing drink. On turn down there was a beautiful bear that my baby will love and will remind me of The George when I look at it. The food was great and the staff were wonderful. I was in the hotel industry for 16 years and have stayed in many. I know how important the little things make to a guests stay and this hotel have nailed it. I now have a new favourite and look forward to returning when I am next in Christchurch.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Top service and lovely rooms, The George does elegance well. It's fully priced of course but nice once in a while. The building itself is old and not that attractive, but the interiors are lovely. Parking is free. Hagley Park is directly across the road for exercise & golf. The food is probably a little richer than your standard business travellers fare but great quality. The complimentary teddy bear (named George) is a nice touch.

Room Tip: The 'villas' out back of the main hotel have a homely feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
640 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
1,779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#12 of 144 in Christchurch
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Property: The George Christchurch
Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing