We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #5 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We only stayed a night, but we really enjoyed the stay. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the location across from the park and within walking distance of the city centre was great. We were shocked at the damage to the city but were inspired by the resilience of the people. I'd recommend the George to both business and holiday travellers.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor andf overlooked the park which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,052 - 1,058 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

I stayed for 2 nights. My wife loved the heated floor but the heated towel rack did not work. Location is ok. The concierge were very helpful as to the places we can go to.
The breakfast option is so-so, i had the continental buffet (not ok) and the big breakfast (ok).
The rooms are ok. its clean but it can be improved.
You are given a limited free internet connection which is good enough for checking emails.
i think for the price, this is the best option in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benzng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Benzng,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Thank you also for alerting us regarding the heated towel rail which we have now fixed.

We have taken on board your comments regarding the breakfast buffet and are currently reviewing our buffet offering.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Accommodation in Christchurch can be hard to get these days, so to find such a great hotel where the rooms were comfortable, the staff helpful & friendly and access to the hotel & parking were easy - is a real bonus.
Wouldn't hesitate in recommend this hotel to any business traveller. Especially now as the weather is turning cold - all rooms are heated, warm and very welcoming!
Food fantastic, great wine list at the bar. Love being so close to the park & other good restaurants.
Could not fault any aspect of my 3 day stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacqMD3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Our room was clean, warm & comfortable, loved the heated bathroom floor. Very comfortable mattress & pillows. Room service in the mornings, so nice to return at midday to find our room had already been cleaned. Internet signal poor and our 'free unlimited' use seemed to get cut off very quickly.
Most of the staff were friendly, but the reception desk staff seemed a bit unfriendly or vague. Breakfast & coffee okay, better to venture out if wanting real coffee.
Our room was small & looked out to the carpark which for one night was ok but I am sure there are larger rooms & better views if staying longer.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on carpark side, if view or privacy important
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Kim C,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the room and found it clean and comfortable.

We have discussed your comments with our reception team and used this as a training example. Generally our guests comment that all staff, particularly reception, are warm and friendly, so we need to ensure we can achieve this every day with every team member.

Our current internet offering is free for a limited amount of data, sufficient for emails and basic web browsing. There should not be anywhere advertising that we have unlimited free use (although this is available from the lobby guest computers). I would like to apologise for any misunderstanding that occurred with this.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed at the George for 3 weeks on business. We had a very good time and were taken care off as if we were home. The hotel is very conveniently located in front of the Hagley Park and close to the city center, and many good restaurants (and bars). The staff was very helpful and the hotel comfortable - the only downside is the gym located outside of the hotel with limited hours. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coffeesip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Coffeesip,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Staying in a hotel for three weeks gives you plenty of time to ascertain the true essence of a property and also find any flaws.

We are delighted you felt at home here as that is the very atmosphere we aim to achieve. We are also very glad that you enjoyed our location and the helpfulness of our team.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is a fantastic location for running business conferences/workshops at. We have come here repeatedly as the staff are excellent both prior to the workshops & during the event. It is easy to get to, find parking etc. I would recommend The George as your first option for running your business meeting large or small. Lovely location being right next to Hagley Park. I would imagine it would be a fantastic wedding venue too. Food fantastic. Reasonably priced too.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank 70HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

With all the quake damage in Christchurch this hotel stands out as a beacon of high service in Christchurch. Stayed here for 3 weeks and I got to know the hotel and staff very well. Good food, rooms are clean and modern. New entertainment system in the rooms although the price of a movie rental is more than you could just buy the DVD. The gym is off site which is not ideal but Hagley park is across the street and perfect for a good 5 k run. My only complaint are the self washers and dryers which are constantly broken, don't have hot water and just need to be upgraded. Location is perfect for restaurants, park and cbd. Hotel has 4 mountain bikes for guest use which are perfect for getting around town or a longer trek to the beach or hills.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caleb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Caleb B,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and particularly our service levels and our location.

We acknowledge your comments regarding the complimentary guest self-service laundry facilities and have instructed our maintenance team to ensure in future this equipment is all operating correctly.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
704 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,071 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#9 of 146 in Christchurch
233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Christchurch
Crowne Plaza Christchurch
#23 of 146 in Christchurch
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £186 - £451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing