We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellence in service and quality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #6 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
281 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“excellence in service and quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Nothing was too much for these guys when I stayed there recently. Everyone was fantastic and very helpful. I was even given a small teddy bear (named George of course) by the room steward as a welcome gift. A lovely touch to an awesome hotel. 5+ stars for this beautiful hotel in the middle of earthquake torn Christchurch.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crocteaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    262
    91
    24
    6
See reviews for
137
726
61
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Simply a home a way from home but better service, from the moment you arrive with the wonderful friendly staff to a complimentary welcome drink to the stunning rooms and then the evening bed turn down service and the complimentary teddy bear. All these things plus great room service and friendly staff make this the best place to say in Christchurch and for me New Zealand.
Great in house restaurants and close to Hagley Park make this the ideal location and place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelJemison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I booked The George as a place to unwind after a fairly lengthy road trip around the South Island, before heading to the airport.

We were both fairly conscious of the cost, given that although we have stayed in 5 star hotels quite often, they are usually a bit cheaper. This was soon alleviated after arriving.

The George operates a business that is incredibly personal. This occurs the moment you enter the lobby and are seated to discuss your booking with a friendly staff member and continues with being shown your room and run through its amenities in person. There are also a few surprises in store which other people have mentioned in their reviews.

After eating and staying in the hotel it gave me an appreciation. This wasn't a place that was 'expensive'. It is simply a business doing its very best to pursue what it sees as perfection. The rooms are of an extremely high quality and items are sourced from local suppliers and artists. The staff are all extremely warm and professional without exception. And the small surprises here and there, even the complimentary drinks brought to the room just after arrival, show a great deal of thought has been given to the experience.

I really liked the furniture and asked about the couches. A staff member emailed me the next day with all the details and a contact for the supplier. It is these small follow up actions which are really appreciated.

I would heartily recommend staying here to anyone. Beyond that, room 416 (Park Suite) is the finest room we've ever been lucky enough to stay in. The Park Suite rooms would be a fantastic choice for any special occasion.

Room Tip: Room 416 is AMAZING. It is on the corner of the building with nice views to the park. Beyond this it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattMakesPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

The room was very nicely appointed and clean. The service in the restaurant was excellent and it was a very pleasant stay.

Everything was as it should be for a 5* hotel. I would have written this review earlier but there is a time limit between writing reviews.

Room Tip: The main building rooms are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aztec007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at The George for one night when we arrived we were welcomed at the door and escorted to the check in desk, we were checked in incredibly quickly and were given an upgrade to a suite. While walking to our room we were a bit worried because the carpet in the public areas was a bit tired and stained but on opening the door to our room all I can say is wow what an exceptional room, huge bed, comfortable couch, large flat screen tv's, lovely bathroom, shower couldn't have asked for more. In our room for 10mins and reception rings offering complementary drinks while we settle in could this get any better? Yes make sure you got to the in house restaurant delicious. On our return to our room we found he cutest teddy bear to take with us. What a great hotel will definitely be back next time we are in Christchurch. Thank you to all of the staff for making us feel so special.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

My research led me to find that since the earthquake, this is the 'nicest' place to stay in Christchurch.

Internally the hotel is quite modern and very nicely decorated. Our ground floor room was very small but very well presented. The bathroom was very modern and clean.

Staff seemed cold and disinterested most of the time but any request was met without fuss.

Easy car parking and within walking distance to 'CBD/Red Zone'

Breakfast was okay but the degustation dinner (Pescatore) was fantastic and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dazman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Dazman69,

Thank you for your reviews of both The George and our signature restaurant Pescatore. We are delighted you particularly enjoyed your dinner and for your comments that we are the nicest place to stay in Christchurch. Of course we like to think that we were the nicest before the earthquakes as well but admit that we do have an obvious bias.

We will raise your comments regarding the perceived staff attitudes with our team. This is the opposite of the impression they usually give, as indicated by a large number of the reviews on this site. We are glad that despite this they still responded to all your requests willingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The George on your next visit to Christchurch to conduct further research.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

The George is brilliant! It's a small boutique hotel just opposite Hagley Park in Christchurch. Every aspect of the hotel is at the top end! The only thing that doesn't quite have a luxury feel is the exterior of the building which certainly doesn't give you any indication of what awaits inside. But as soon as you are met by the bellman and concierge at the hotel's entrance, you realise this is something special!

The foyer inside is small but friendly and welcoming. The rooms are wonderful - just beautiful modern furnishings with lovely luxury touches. Each room comes with a George teddy that you can take home with you - such a lovely touch. The internet is free, there are chocolates left on your bed at turn-down, the bathroom floors are all heated etc. There are so many luxury touches at The George.

Also don't miss dining there - either in the downstairs bistro or up in Pescatore. The food is amazing, innovative and very good value for money for the quality you get. And this hotel knows about wine - it's a wine list to die for with a fantastic selection of New Zealand best wine estates!

I love The George - it's a great experience and offers great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MishasVineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear MIWSing,

Thank you for your glowing recommendation of our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and every aspect including our location, service, food and wine, and of course your George bear.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The George the next time you are in Christchurch.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
4.1 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Property: The George Christchurch
Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing