We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beaut Christchurch Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #5 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We arrived here very late on a chilly winter's evening and were greeted so warmly by the staff at reception it made up for the cold foggy weather outside! We entered our room to be greeted by our very own George Bear (which you get to keep!), heated bathroom floors and very tasty chocolates (part of the turn down service). What a lovely hotel. Well located on the edge of town and an easy walk to most places of interest in town. We were given great advice by the concierge on places to see and eat at - nothing was too much trouble. They organized a free pick up for our Tranzalpine train trip as well (I will review this separately, but the readers digest version of this is: Just do it!!). We ate at 50 Bistro on a couple of occasions (this is located on the ground floor of the George) and the food was delicious and fairly good value. The service was friendly and relaxed and without pretention. Would certainly recommend when staying here that you eat at the Bistro. I understand that the George's fine dining restaurant is also very good (Pescatore) but as we did not eat here I cannot personally recommend it. We stayed here for a total of three nights on two separate occasions and thoroughly enjoyed it.
My only gripe (and it is relatively small one) is that the noise from the hallway seems to transfer into the rooms quite distinctly so if you have a noisy group on your floor you will hear every word they say in the hallway. The sound insulation between the rooms themselves though is absolutely fine, so it is just when people are coming and going that this is an issue.

Room Tip: The park view rooms are lovely and have large picture windows. Eat at 50 Bistro and you should book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoNQCowboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 1,373 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

Super boutique find in Christchurch. We loved it. Directly opposite Hagley Park and in such a convenient place on the edge of the city. Plenty of restaurants close by and very close to the University and to the city

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tweedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed two nights in one of their Park suites in winter 2013.
Defnitely one of the best suites i've ever been in with all the mod cons, and with everything clean, functional, and in excellent condition (something not enough hotels pay close attention to sometimes resulting in fancy accommodation where nothing works).
The service level was excellent and amazingly fast. Slightly more expensive (particularly room service) but in this case you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chumblybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I can only echo some of the other great reviews on here. From the moment you arrive the service is superb. The Hotel itself has a very modern clean decor and is well located. The rooms were well presented and the beds very comfortable.
If I had to be picky I would say that the breakfast let it down slightly but I feel have to put some negativity in to try and keep the review balanced. It certainly wouldn't stop me staying at the George again. On the plus side the steak for our evening meal was probably the best steak I've ever had.
Christchurch has obviously suffered due to the earthquake of 2011 but the spirit of the city shines through from it's inhabitants and I look forward to seeing it rebuild. I would urge anyone visiting NZ to ensure that Christchurch is on your agenda. Despite the central devastation it is still a great City to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I could not fault this hotel. We were treated royally from the moment when the concierge came out smiling to greet us as we drove into the car park, and to help us with our cases, to the moment when, four days later, we were seen on our way with advice on what to look out for on our journey.

The décor was tasteful throughout; the room was spacious, well appointed and spotlessly clean. The staff could not have been more helpful and attentive and the food was excellent.
The location of the hotel was ideal, all the remaining attractions of Christchurch being in easy walking distance and Hagley Park, with it beautiful botanical gardens, is just across the road.
If you are looking for a first-rate hotel in Christchurch then look no further.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hierocles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

From the minute you arrive you know your experience will be exceptional at The George. The friendly and helpful staff is there to greet and check you in and make sure that your stay in Christchurch will be memorable. They are a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World and with it comes certain perks for members. The hotel is conveniently located to downtown, the museum and the botanical gardens. All guests will find a George bear in their room after the evening turndown. The bear is a great little keepsake to remember your trip to Christchurch. The George is truly a Small Luxury Hotel of the World.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We booked here then received an email from The George advising of potential "traffic issues" around their hotel. We rang and asked for an assurance that the traffic would not result in noise problems. Despite asking quite specifically twice, no assurance could be given. So we cancelled our booking. We had no intention of staying at The George if there were going to be noise issues. The George now refuses to refund our money.

I am sure they will reply to this posting with the same "excuses" and "compromises" they sent to us. Quite frankly the traffic issues and potential noise were there problem, not ours.
We are a very unhappy customer.
My advice to you is to be very careful about making a booking here. They don't understand the concept of customer service at all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Ponsonbypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Of course we are concerned about keeping our guests happy and as evidenced by the vast majority of the review on this site and numerous awards for customer service over the years we consistently do a very good job of this.
One of the ways we do this is to be very clear about our policies and be consistent in our application of them so we treat all our guests equally. We don't believe that we should succumb to bullying with threats of public defamation or unsubstantiated legal action.
When the local authorities advised us that the were going to be road works outside the hotel as part of the ongoing earthquake infrastructure repairs, creating a detour for some travellers, we advised all guests with future reservations. Where possible, and definitely the case in this instance, we advised guests well before our cancellation period came into effect.
This guest waited for days until inside the cancellation period and then at the last minute, cancelled his reservation. This left us with an unsold room on a night when we had been previously full. Once the night has past we can never sell that room night again, whereas if the guest had cancelled outside the cancellation policy, we would have been able to.
Despite this creating a loss for us, and our cancellation policy indicating a one night charge, we extended a full credit for a future stay. This was after the guest had informed us that his company had a local branch in Christchurch and that he had an ongoing need for hotel accommodation. Therefore in our eyes the guest had not incurred any penalty, merely prepaid for a night's accommodation that he would have plenty of occasions to use in the near future.
The hotel had lost money from the actions of the guest but had delivered far in excess of the policy that had been agreed to by the guest when they made their reservation. The guest insisted that we provide a guarantee that they would have a totally undisturbed stay at all hours of the day. We responded that we would do our best by allocating a quiet room away from the street and assured the guest that the road work was not taking place outside business hours and to date had not caused any disturbance to guests. Unfortunately, not having any control over the roadworks, we could not provide an absolute guarantee.
In summary:
- In the interest of full disclosure we advised the guest of road works that in reality have created a minor detour but no other disturbance.
- We did this allowing plenty of time to cancel with no penalty.
- The hotel incurred a loss as a result of the guest's actions.
- We went above and beyond by still offering a free credit to someone who promised lots of future business in order to negotiate a discounted rate in the first place. However it now appears obviously had no intention of using us again, or else why would he be upset with a full credit?

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,951 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#10 of 146 in Christchurch
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
649 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £193 - £485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing