We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #6 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We booked a one night stay at the George, after our flight in from Sydney. We were leaving for our road trip the next day, and wanted a nice night in.

It was an excellent choice. We booked a Premium Executive room. Initially, there was a hiccup at the check in - despite the Premium room's description promising a picture window or a balcony from every room, we were put in a room just behind reception, where a smallish window afforded a generous view of hotel parking...hmm...that was disappointing and I immediately told the reception about my concerns.
To their credit, we were immediately moved. They didn't have any PE rooms available, so we were upgraded to a Junior Suite. It was lovely, with a large balcony and separate space for the bar/coffee station and a wardrobe, living the main room for the bed, TV and lounging.

First of all, it was super comfy. Lovely facilities, good airconditioning, huge TV, nice desk.

But the absolute highlight was the room-service dinner. The George run two stellar restaurants on site, and you can access the bistro's menu via the room service. Wow!

The entrees were amazing, such creative and sophisticated cooking. We only ordered one main to share - a plate of prawns from their grill - which was an incredibly generous portion. However, once we realised the quality of the food, we promptly ordered a few extra dishes, including desserts. It was definitely a night of indulgence, while our infant son peacefully slept in the giant king bed.

Every person we came in contact with was lovely, professional, and appeared genuinely caring. They definitely got service right. Amazing job, guys!

If I could change one thing about the hotel, I would introduce firmer mattresses. They were just way, way too soft. Perhaps they should get a few extra ones and ask guests about their preferences, and be able to offer firmer beds for those who need it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gourmet_travel_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Gourmet_travel_AUS,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to hear that our reception team managed to quickly resolve the issue with the room allocation and that you were very happy with the junior suite.

Our kitchen team will be delighted that you enjoyed the room service dinner and we will ensure the rest of the team are made aware of your positive comments on their service levels. One of the key motivations for us is when we receive positive feedback as a result of our efforts so this is great.

We take on board your comments regarding the bed firmness, as you say everyone has varying levels they are comfortable with - just this morning I received feedback from 2 guests indicating our beds were the most comfortable they had ever slept on. We will certainly look into whether we can offer our guests a choice of firmness and will also double-check the bed from your room in case it is due for replacement.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    901
    276
    93
    25
    6
See reviews for
142
768
64
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Well located next to Hagley Park and the Avon River, this small hotel is somewhat of a Christchurch institution. Friendly welcome and welcome drink provided. Nice room and bathroom but bathroom on the small side. Bathrobes but no slippers provided. Turn down service excellent with curtains drawn and chocolates provided. The take home teddy a nice gesture. Very comfortable King bed. Silly light switches which are annoying to operate and look like a Christmas tree in the dark. Free daily newspaper provided. Breakfast is sufficient but not fantastic. A Continental selection is provided and one can order a hot dish in addition. My poached eggs were served on greasy bread and were cold and the accompanying mushroom and tomato were very ordinary. Apart from the silly light switches, the downsides were a rather nasty smell in the bathroom and the 'free' internet being limited to 200 MB which goes in a flash!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear paulbnz,

Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent stay with us. I am very pleased you enjoyed the welcome, the room, bed, and our extra touches including the welcome drink and turn-down service. We have taken your comments on board regarding the light switches and we have passed your comments regarding the breakfast on to our kitchen team.

The bathroom smell is a little puzzling however we have instructed our housekeeping team to be vigilant for this issue and will take appropriate steps if we encounter this problem again.

We plan to review our internet policy in the near future and hope to be able to make some very positive changes in that area.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to The George on your next visit to Christchurch.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabeck
Level Contributor
275 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had a booking for four nights, which we extended to a five night stay on very short notice. This was no problem and we had been able to stay in our room for the whole period. We received a nice Junior Suite which was the perfect room for this length of the stay.
Check in was quick and efficient. I had asked for some "special arrangements" due to a personal celebration and the staff went above and beyond to deliver.
The room itself had a small work area, nice, comfortable bed, a small sitting area, excellent bathroom, a small, walk through type of closet and a balcony. Everything had just the perfect size for our stay.
The staff was very knowledgeable about all the things we asked and gave very good recommendations on food and attractions.
The nice extra feature was the turn down service every night as the ladies just were too nice and it was a pleasure seeing them every evening.
And yes, we gave George a good home here at our house. Our cats love him.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wala69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Wala69,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us earlier in the year. We are thrilled that you found everything to be satisfactory and that our team delivered in their mission to exceed our guests' expectations.

We are happy to hear that George bear has made some new feline friends.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We spent 2 nights in this beautiful hotel. Our room are modern, spacious and very comfortable. Nice and completed amenities in room, with Nespresso machine that you can prepare your own cappuccino in the room. Ask for room 416 , corner room with full view over the park. The hotel location is closed to main attractions: Botanical Garden, Canterbury Museum, Cathedral Square...
The mountain bike and helmet is complimentary. Only one thing that avoid me to give 5 stars rate is the internet connection. The hotel do give a free wifi but for only limited mb and you have to pay extra to have more. The LAN connection didn't work and it supposed to be free. I didn't ask them to fix it.

Room Tip: ask for corner room facing the park on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Nadmond,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the room facilities and view and the location of our property.

I am sorry that the LAN connection did not appear to be working, we were not aware of this and will certainly ensure it is fully operational. We take on board your comments regarding the internet charging, while this currently has not been included in our room pricing, we have plans to do this in future.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

A fine boutique hotel in what is left (after the 2011 earthquake) of the CBD. Not much to look at on the outside but it is quite lovely on the inside. Very modern in appearance. Well located across from the City’s major park – great for a walk or a run. Staff was exceptionally professional and friendly. This was a quick overnight for us as Christchurch was our jumping off point for exploring South Island, NZ so we arrived about in time for dinner and departed right after breakfast. (Please see our separate restaurant review of the excellent 50 Bistro in the hotel). That being the case we had little chance to use the hotel’s facilities other than one of its restaurants but the experience we did have was a very good one. Would rate it a 4 star overall (this within the context of having stayed at true 5 star hotels all over the world – read George V in Paris, Waldorf-Estoria in NYC and Shanghai, 4 Seasons in Hong Kong, etc. We write reviews for Trip Advisor frequently as we use them frequently and continue to believe that that having only 5 categories does not allow the gradations necessary for comprehensive ratings. That said, we enjoyed our brief stay and would stay here again without hesitation were to return to Christchurch. Thank you to all the staff for great, friendly and very natural service

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noclvrname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A true 5 star hotel. My wife, 19 month old son and I stayed at the George for 7 nights in late July. We used the hotel as our base for skiing and sightseeing around the area. We were a bit hesitant to book the stay at the George due to the age of our son and boutique hotel factor. Our fears were washed away when we set foot in the lobby and were greeted by the concierge Glenn. Nothing but warm welcomes. Our room, a junior suite, was perfect for the three of us. My son’s crib was already set up. I can’t speak enough about the service we received. Glenn, Michael and Mark, the three concierge, along with everyone (from the maid staff to the bus boy) did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. We would plan our next day’s excursions with the concierge and by the next morning they would have custom maps and details of our destination ready before we left. Everyone treated my son with a smile, and took time to play with him if possible, not once did we feel any “stuffiness” or “snootiness” typical of some boutique hotels. The location of the hotel and the restaurant on the second floor are fantastic also. My wife and I travel a lot and have stayed at every class of hotels in the world. From sleeping on cots in Kathmandu to over the top hotels in Las Vegas. We rarely rate a hotel 5 stars, but the George deserves it. Keep up the great work! PS my son now cannot sleep without The George bear, I think I will be contacting you shortly for a replacement . My only minor (and I mean very minor) observation was that the beds were a bit to soft for our taste.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP2E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We arrived here very late on a chilly winter's evening and were greeted so warmly by the staff at reception it made up for the cold foggy weather outside! We entered our room to be greeted by our very own George Bear (which you get to keep!), heated bathroom floors and very tasty chocolates (part of the turn down service). What a lovely hotel. Well located on the edge of town and an easy walk to most places of interest in town. We were given great advice by the concierge on places to see and eat at - nothing was too much trouble. They organized a free pick up for our Tranzalpine train trip as well (I will review this separately, but the readers digest version of this is: Just do it!!). We ate at 50 Bistro on a couple of occasions (this is located on the ground floor of the George) and the food was delicious and fairly good value. The service was friendly and relaxed and without pretention. Would certainly recommend when staying here that you eat at the Bistro. I understand that the George's fine dining restaurant is also very good (Pescatore) but as we did not eat here I cannot personally recommend it. We stayed here for a total of three nights on two separate occasions and thoroughly enjoyed it.
My only gripe (and it is relatively small one) is that the noise from the hallway seems to transfer into the rooms quite distinctly so if you have a noisy group on your floor you will hear every word they say in the hallway. The sound insulation between the rooms themselves though is absolutely fine, so it is just when people are coming and going that this is an issue.

Room Tip: The park view rooms are lovely and have large picture windows. Eat at 50 Bistro and you should book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoNQCowboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
611 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Property: The George Christchurch
Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing