We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George Christchurch
Nearby Hotels
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pavilions Hotel(Christchurch)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyle on the Park(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$148
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,508)
Filter reviews
1,508 results
Traveller rating
1,055
317
98
29
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,055
317
98
29
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsteddy bearpescatore restaurantsmall luxury hotelpark suitenew zealandturn down servicehagley parkjunior suiteheated floorslovely hotelbeautiful parkour honeymoonavon riverbotanical gardensvictoria streetsouth islandnice room
Filter
Updating list...
1,082 - 1,087 of 1,508 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We arrived late (after midnight) and jet lagged. We had a lovely welcome and the staff opened up the bar to get us drinks even though it was 1am. The room was clean, spacious, modern, and comfortable and we loved our teddy George. The waiters at breakfast seemed a bit lost, service was a little confused, but not bad enough to put us off. We would love to come back and have the time to enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear ChristineJane,

Merci beaucoup for your kind review. We are very glad that despite the late arrival, our night staff looked after you well and made you feel welcome.

We do have a couple of new team members in the restaurant which may explain the "confusion" however we are working hard to bring them up to speed as quickly as possible.

Thank you again for your comments, we would be delighted to welcome you back to The George if your travels see you in Christchurch again.

Joyeux Noel,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

large lovely room,but as always its the staff that make it that little bit extra, help full efficient always ready with a smile, plus restaurant was good value for money,location is good only short walk away from Botanic gardens and Museum,plus city centre

Room Tip: the george does have functions and music can go on till mid-night ask for a room away from the function area
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianHenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear ianHenham,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are thrilled that you found us the best hotel of your NZ trip and in particular appreciated the service provided by our staff.

I would like to apologise if the noise from a function kept you awake, this is a particularly busy time of year for functions, however we do enforce a strict midnight curfew on all such events and do our best to allocate accommodation guests as far away as possible.

We hope your trip home was pleasant and that your travels may one day bring you back to The George.

Merry Christmas,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I have stayed here before, but not for some years. The location is excellent, away from much of the devastation left by the earthquakes . We were not disappointed in any aspect of the hotel. If anything it is better than before. The welcome and departure process were exemplary. It was a warm day and the airconditioning cooled the room within just a few minutes. The bed (Premium Executive King) was extremely comfortable, and larger than usual for New Zealand. Our room overlooked Park Tce and Hagley Park - despite a festival in the park it was quiet due to the double glazing. Everything in the room worked perfectly and the standard of housekeeping was exemplary. Breakfast came piping hot (5 stars for that!) and was the best quality hotel breakfast we have had anywhere in the world for a long time - Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons etc take note. The hotel was almost full, and parking on site was at a premium - it was hard to know when taking the car out if a place would be available on return, something that might be addressed for the future. We did not use the wifi or leisure facilities, nor eat in the restaurants. All the staff we met were pleasant, efficient and anxious to help. A post-checkout inquiry to the GM was answered promptly and fully. Overall this property easily meets and exceeds 5 star expected standards. The room rate (booked through SLH), even on a Saturday night, was very competitive and although a bit (not much) higher was far better value than other hotels in the city. The George claims to be one of the best boutique hotels in New Zealand. I can't disagree with that.

Room Tip: Our room with a Park View was quiet and very pleasant.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairComment888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear FairComment888,

We are delighted that you chose to stay at The George again on your return to Christchurch. We are also thrilled that we met your expectations and that you have compared us favourably to other prestigious properties around the globe.

We note your comments regarding the availability of car parking - we do offer valet car parking for our house guests and will work harder to ensure our guests are made aware of this. Next time just pull up to the front door and our concierge team will park your vehicle.

Thank you for taking the time to write your comprehensive review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The George on your next stay in Christchurch.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Love this hotel, and especially love the teddy bear 'George' you get to take away with you. Fantastic rooms, location, restaurant, atmosphere. Complimentary drink on arrival, plus turn down service and bedtime chocolates. Conference rooms are also amazing (and on site catering can't be faulted). I love this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear KrisBB,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and every aspect of our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Christchurch.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

The room is fully equipped with all sorts of amenities and the service is fantastic. A little on the expensive side but worth all that!! Location wise centrally located and concierge has all the Information you need!!
Had an amazing chive waffle for breakfast

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank EktaTejwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Ekta Tejwani,

Thank you for your positive review. We are very pleased you enjoyed our facilities and service and that our concierge were able to provide the information and assistance you required.

We hope your return trip home was smooth and that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The George in future.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews