We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good boutique hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #6 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is a very good hotel with modern facilities and welcoming staff. Location is good. Everything worked as it should. Small details were nice touches, such as the gift of a free teddy bear called George.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donaldswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Donaldswim,

Thank you for posting this review following your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and found everything to be working as it should, in particular our modern facilities and welcoming staff.

We hope your onward journey went smoothly.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    262
    90
    24
    6
See reviews for
136
719
61
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

I was in Christchurch on holiday and had a few sights I wanted to see. It turns out the location of The George was perfect - walking distance to all I wanted to visit.
The staff could not have been more gracious and helpful. For our departure we were given perfect directions to get underway including helpful suggestions for one who had not driven on the left side for 50 years.
The Bistro was great for breakfast and again the servers were fantastic.
I will absolutely stay there when we visit Christchurch again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We had two nights recently in Christchurch at the George as part of a 2 week holiday to NZ's South Island. These two days coincided with Felicity's birthday and we were given a complimentary upgrade to a suite and it was wonderful. The quality of hotel and the attentive nature of the staff was fantastic. We also dined there on the 2nd evening and had a very enjoyable meal. Overall - a great experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear AustravellerinUK,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and that we were able to help make it a special birthday celebration.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to The George if your travels bring you back to Christchurch again.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our first night in New Zealand. Everything about this hotel was spectacular. We had drinks and appetizers in the cozy, modern lobby bar. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was gorgeous and we dined in the restaurant that evening. Great service and vegetarian-friendly, which I always appreciate. We highly recommend this hotel. The attention to detail was outstanding. We stayed at many hotels in New Zealand while traveling and this was by far the best in every aspect.

Room Tip: Corner suite was sunny with view of park
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Susan F,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay in November. We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities, our helpful staff and the vegetarian friendly menu. Hopefully you enjoyed the rest of your travels through NZ and you may get a chance to return in future.

Thank you again for your kind comments.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blauzac, France
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We arrived late (after midnight) and jet lagged. We had a lovely welcome and the staff opened up the bar to get us drinks even though it was 1am. The room was clean, spacious, modern, and comfortable and we loved our teddy George. The waiters at breakfast seemed a bit lost, service was a little confused, but not bad enough to put us off. We would love to come back and have the time to enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear ChristineJane,

Merci beaucoup for your kind review. We are very glad that despite the late arrival, our night staff looked after you well and made you feel welcome.

We do have a couple of new team members in the restaurant which may explain the "confusion" however we are working hard to bring them up to speed as quickly as possible.

Thank you again for your comments, we would be delighted to welcome you back to The George if your travels see you in Christchurch again.

Joyeux Noel,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

large lovely room,but as always its the staff that make it that little bit extra, help full efficient always ready with a smile, plus restaurant was good value for money,location is good only short walk away from Botanic gardens and Museum,plus city centre

Room Tip: the george does have functions and music can go on till mid-night ask for a room away from the funct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianHenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear ianHenham,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are thrilled that you found us the best hotel of your NZ trip and in particular appreciated the service provided by our staff.

I would like to apologise if the noise from a function kept you awake, this is a particularly busy time of year for functions, however we do enforce a strict midnight curfew on all such events and do our best to allocate accommodation guests as far away as possible.

We hope your trip home was pleasant and that your travels may one day bring you back to The George.

Merry Christmas,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

I have stayed here before, but not for some years. The location is excellent, away from much of the devastation left by the earthquakes . We were not disappointed in any aspect of the hotel. If anything it is better than before. The welcome and departure process were exemplary. It was a warm day and the airconditioning cooled the room within just a few minutes. The bed (Premium Executive King) was extremely comfortable, and larger than usual for New Zealand. Our room overlooked Park Tce and Hagley Park - despite a festival in the park it was quiet due to the double glazing. Everything in the room worked perfectly and the standard of housekeeping was exemplary. Breakfast came piping hot (5 stars for that!) and was the best quality hotel breakfast we have had anywhere in the world for a long time - Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons etc take note. The hotel was almost full, and parking on site was at a premium - it was hard to know when taking the car out if a place would be available on return, something that might be addressed for the future. We did not use the wifi or leisure facilities, nor eat in the restaurants. All the staff we met were pleasant, efficient and anxious to help. A post-checkout inquiry to the GM was answered promptly and fully. Overall this property easily meets and exceeds 5 star expected standards. The room rate (booked through SLH), even on a Saturday night, was very competitive and although a bit (not much) higher was far better value than other hotels in the city. The George claims to be one of the best boutique hotels in New Zealand. I can't disagree with that.

Room Tip: Our room with a Park View was quiet and very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FairComment888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear FairComment888,

We are delighted that you chose to stay at The George again on your return to Christchurch. We are also thrilled that we met your expectations and that you have compared us favourably to other prestigious properties around the globe.

We note your comments regarding the availability of car parking - we do offer valet car parking for our house guests and will work harder to ensure our guests are made aware of this. Next time just pull up to the front door and our concierge team will park your vehicle.

Thank you for taking the time to write your comprehensive review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The George on your next stay in Christchurch.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Property: The George Christchurch
Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing