We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night only”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #5 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Lovely hotel this. Staff were very welcoming, the hotel looks lovely and is in a good location, close to a really nice park. Room had a balcony overlooking the park area. Very much a boutique hotel, with artwork on the walls and contemporary styling. We ate at the hotel in the evening. I found the food excellent, thou my husband said his steak was slightly tough. However the hotel then went out of their way to make up for this, offering to cook another meal, and didn't charge us for it - and really it was only a slight criticism. Anyway, I would wholly recommend this hotel. Having good wifi acess and free was a real benefit.Parking was easy. There is a courtesy bus running into town and to airport, though we didn't use it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sprogg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Denise M,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are very glad you enjoyed your visit with us along with our facilities and friendly staff.

I hope your onward journey went well and we appreciate your recommendation for other travellers.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,348)
There are newer reviews for The George Christchurch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

898 - 904 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Apart from what has already been described in the other reviews, this place has stable, fast and free wifi. They provide free laundry with detergent too. If you decide to cycle around Christchurch, do note that they provide bicycle for rent at NO charge! Just inform them in advance.

Fantastic place with terrific service!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank terence7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear terence7,

Thank you for posting this positive review. We are very pleased that your enjoyed our service, along with our free internet, laundry and bicycles.

We do hope we may be able to welcome you back to The George if your future travels bring you back to Christchurch.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Great experience overall at the George. Modern, well appointed hotel and rooms. Great staff. Very helpful concierge. Very modern touchtone lighting in rooms. Really appreciated the free access to their laundry room (and free washing powder!) with 2 washers and 4 dryers. Well needed after 16 days of traveling. Walking distance to downtown and other tourist spots. Good breakfast. They advertise massage services but they do not have a spa. Massage therapist comes to room but they can arrange to use an unoccupied guest room. Very accommodating.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Moonray1,

Thank you for posting these positive comments. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and found the staff and facilities, particularly the complimentary laundry, to your liking.

Thank you again for taking the time to review.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We just spent two nights at the George, ending our month in New Zealand. The staff really extends themselves, especially Michael the Concierge, to give great service. They not only cheerfully do what is asked but initiate offers of service. Examples: we didn't finish a cheese tray we ordered and the barman offered to have the remaining cheese sent to our room; we asked about a bookstore and mentioned a specific book -- the young woman at the desk offered to call to se if the store had the book and then offered to ask them to hold it for us. Lovely. Room and bathroom were immaculate and well-appointed. Location is lovely and peaceful, despite the ongoing post-quake turmoil in Christchurch. Was sorry we only had two nights.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie48070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear julie48070,

Thank for your taking the time to post this feedback. We are delighted that our team went the extra mile for you, that is exactly what we ask of them and what they continue to deliver, day in and day out.

Our staff, particularly Michael, will be thrilled to see this review as it is just such feedback that helps maintain their motivation.

Thank you again for your post.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Sadly only a one night stay in the Park suite, but a superb suite, with superb service. Staff were very helpful, The rooms were very clean and well presented., the bathroom and shower areas were sparkling clean and no dirt or dust in any area which reflects the great standard of cleaning by the staff. All the staff we met were very attentive and yet not intrusive.
An excellent stay and looking forward to returning when next in Chch.

Room Tip: Luxury suite with spa bath
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZConsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear NZConsumer,

We are delighted you enjoyed your recent visit with us and found the facilities and staff met your expectations.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The George on your next visit to Christchurch.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here as a family of four. The whole experience was perfect. The staff were helpful, friendly, knowledgable all the way from the front desk, the restaurant, concierge and room cleaning staff. The rooms were well appointed and clean, the food excellent.

Will definitely return.

Highly recommended!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank DJB98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear DJB98,

Thank you for this review. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed vour visit with us and found our staff in all areas to be friendly and helpful.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The George when you next make the long trip back to New Zealand.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Nice place to stay, but my take was everyone thought they were at the Ritz-Carlton in NY. It's all relative since it may have been the best Christchurch had to offer. The staff was excellent, and they upgraded us to a top room without charge. We thought the food and beverage prices we a bit much, but again if most people are thinking it's the best around then they'll pay those type of prices.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeli5559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Jeli5559,

Thank you for providing this feedback. We are very pleased you were well looked after by our team and appreciated the complimentary upgrade to a Park Suite.

We are a little puzzled by the reference to the Ritz-Carlton in NY, whether this means the staff or the guests. In any case it is certainly the first time we have had such a reference. We strive to maintain our own identity and deliver genuine friendly service without putting on any airs and graces, as the vast majority of reviews on this site testify to.

Our pricing is definitely not set by what we think people will pay, but by how much it cost us to provide the quality of food and level of service we do.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
654 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,904 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £155 - £472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing